tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : 7WEEKS - A Farewell To Dawn

7WEEKS

A Farewell To Dawn

MusicCD
GrungeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since 2006, this band from Limoges (France) honed its songs to come to a mature and cohesive sound with stoner rock influences. Since Carnivora (2013) the band performed more than 100 times (Hellfest Open Air in France, The Stone Festival in Spain) and played with Placebo, Triggerfinger, The Damned and Suicidal Tendencies... A sign that the band does have potential. And when you listen to the latest album, you will agree. The stoner contains heavy riffs, bluesy and grunge influences, but we also hear delicate nuances making this band better than the average stoner party. Indeed, the material is better than average and more complex. The band explores the subtle boundaries of the genre. Take for example The Ghost Beside Me that contains fine harmonies with subdued piano synths. The complex and extended instrumental intro of the title track contains synths, samples and organic sounding guitars. A Farewell to Dawn constantly explores the boundaries between energy, power, melody and subtlety. Other good songs are: January (very fine single), King In The Mud (nice vocals) and A Well Kept Secret ( which refers to Queens of the Stone Age). And we don't forget the firm and warm vocals.

With its 35 minutes, A Farewell To Dawn is a short album that begs for more. It is highly recommended for fans of Pearl Jam, Audioslave, Kyuss, Fu Manchu, Tracer...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds 2006 schaafde deze band aan zijn songs, vanuit het Franse Limoges, om tot een volwassen en samenhangende sound met stonerrockinvloeden te komen. Sedert Carnivora uit 2013 trad de band meer dan 100 keer op, o.a. op Hellfest Open Air (Frankrijk), The Stone Festival (Spanje) en nam hij de opening voor z'n rekening van bands zoals Placebo, Triggerfinger, The Damned en Suicidal Tendencies… Een teken dat het gezelschap potentie heeft. En als je naar het recente album luister, dan kan jek dat alleen maar beamen. De stonerrock bevat zware riffs en bluesy en grunge-invloeden. Het schreeuwt rock 'n roll uit. Maar je hoort ook subtiele nuances en invloeden waardoor deze band beter is dan de doorsnee stonerrelease. Inderdaad, het materiaal is beter dan gemiddeld en complexer. Men probeert op een subtiele manier de grenzen van het genre te verkennen. Neem bijv. The Ghost Beside Me dat fijne harmonieën bevat met onderhuidse pianosynths op het einde. in de complex uitgebouwde intro van het instrumentale titelnummer horen we synths, samples en organisch klinkend gitaarwer. A Farewell to Dawn is het voortdurend aftasten van de grenzen tussen energie, kracht, melodie en subtiliteit. Ook heel geslaagd zijn January (puike single), King In The Mud (nice vocals) en A Well Kept Secret (dat wat refereert aan Queens of the Stone Age). Ook een pluim voor de stevige en warme vocals die het geheel mooi afkruiden.

A Farewell To Dawn is met zijn negen songs en 35 minuten wat aan de korte kant, maar smaakt mede daardoor naar meer. Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van Pearl Jam, Audioslave, Kyuss, Fu Manchu, Tracer…

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles