tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : 7WEEKS - A Farewell To Dawn

7WEEKS

A Farewell To Dawn

MusicCD
GrungeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since 2006, this band from Limoges (France) honed its songs to come to a mature and cohesive sound with stoner rock influences. Since Carnivora (2013) the band performed more than 100 times (Hellfest Open Air in France, The Stone Festival in Spain) and played with Placebo, Triggerfinger, The Damned and Suicidal Tendencies... A sign that the band does have potential. And when you listen to the latest album, you will agree. The stoner contains heavy riffs, bluesy and grunge influences, but we also hear delicate nuances making this band better than the average stoner party. Indeed, the material is better than average and more complex. The band explores the subtle boundaries of the genre. Take for example The Ghost Beside Me that contains fine harmonies with subdued piano synths. The complex and extended instrumental intro of the title track contains synths, samples and organic sounding guitars. A Farewell to Dawn constantly explores the boundaries between energy, power, melody and subtlety. Other good songs are: January (very fine single), King In The Mud (nice vocals) and A Well Kept Secret ( which refers to Queens of the Stone Age). And we don't forget the firm and warm vocals.

With its 35 minutes, A Farewell To Dawn is a short album that begs for more. It is highly recommended for fans of Pearl Jam, Audioslave, Kyuss, Fu Manchu, Tracer...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds 2006 schaafde deze band aan zijn songs, vanuit het Franse Limoges, om tot een volwassen en samenhangende sound met stonerrockinvloeden te komen. Sedert Carnivora uit 2013 trad de band meer dan 100 keer op, o.a. op Hellfest Open Air (Frankrijk), The Stone Festival (Spanje) en nam hij de opening voor z'n rekening van bands zoals Placebo, Triggerfinger, The Damned en Suicidal Tendencies… Een teken dat het gezelschap potentie heeft. En als je naar het recente album luister, dan kan jek dat alleen maar beamen. De stonerrock bevat zware riffs en bluesy en grunge-invloeden. Het schreeuwt rock 'n roll uit. Maar je hoort ook subtiele nuances en invloeden waardoor deze band beter is dan de doorsnee stonerrelease. Inderdaad, het materiaal is beter dan gemiddeld en complexer. Men probeert op een subtiele manier de grenzen van het genre te verkennen. Neem bijv. The Ghost Beside Me dat fijne harmonieën bevat met onderhuidse pianosynths op het einde. in de complex uitgebouwde intro van het instrumentale titelnummer horen we synths, samples en organisch klinkend gitaarwer. A Farewell to Dawn is het voortdurend aftasten van de grenzen tussen energie, kracht, melodie en subtiliteit. Ook heel geslaagd zijn January (puike single), King In The Mud (nice vocals) en A Well Kept Secret (dat wat refereert aan Queens of the Stone Age). Ook een pluim voor de stevige en warme vocals die het geheel mooi afkruiden.

A Farewell To Dawn is met zijn negen songs en 35 minuten wat aan de korte kant, maar smaakt mede daardoor naar meer. Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van Pearl Jam, Audioslave, Kyuss, Fu Manchu, Tracer…

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots