tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

29/12/2015 : MASSA - MASSA (EP)

MASSA

MASSA (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalsludgeStoner Rock

[76/100]   

Self-released
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Massa is a Rotterdam trio that makes sludge metal rock. This EP contains instrumental tracks, unless you call the voice samples vocals.

Opener The Interview starts with a sample in which you hear (well) an interview. It is followed by a nice intro. The selected samples are well chosen and make the song quite interesting.

The Deep End has a groove with roots in Black Sabbath and others, although this instrumental track is in fact a stoner rock song. Anyway, beautifully constructed. In Dr. Frank you notice that Jimi Hendrix is ​​an inspiration.

The EP ends with the six-minute Thank You Carl. Distorted guitar riffs, and halfway the track you notice an upcoming climax.

The songs have a strong rhythm section. The guitars sound dirty and sludgy. It takes a while before you get used to it, but Massa is special, so you keep on playing this EP. In the future this band surely will come up with even more interesting things!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

Massa is een Rotterdams trio dat sludge metalrock maakt. Deze ep bevat hoofdzakelijk instrumentale tracks, tenzij je de gesproken samples in drie van de vier nummers vocals noemt.

Opener The Interview begint met een sample waarin je een interview hoort. Het wordt gevolgd door een mooi intro. De gekozen samples zijn geslaagd en zorgen voor meerwaarde. The Deep End heeft een groove met roots in Black Sabbath en aanverwanten, alhoewel deze instrumentale track uiteindelijk een stonerrocknummer is. Een mooi opgebouwde song trouwens. In Dr. Frank hoor je dat Jimi Hendrix een inspiratie is.

De ep wordt afgesloten met het zes minuten durende Thank You Carl. De van distortion voorziene riffs leggen een dikke brij over het nummer. Halverwege wordt naar een climax opgebouwd.

De songs zijn voorzien van een stevige ritmesectie die staat als een huis. De gitaar klinkt smerig en sludgy. Het is best even wennen, maar Massa heeft iets waardoor je teruggrijpt naar deze ep. Wellicht een band met toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis