tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

29/12/2015 : MASSA - MASSA (EP)

MASSA

MASSA (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalsludgeStoner Rock

[76/100]   

Self-released
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Massa is a Rotterdam trio that makes sludge metal rock. This EP contains instrumental tracks, unless you call the voice samples vocals.

Opener The Interview starts with a sample in which you hear (well) an interview. It is followed by a nice intro. The selected samples are well chosen and make the song quite interesting.

The Deep End has a groove with roots in Black Sabbath and others, although this instrumental track is in fact a stoner rock song. Anyway, beautifully constructed. In Dr. Frank you notice that Jimi Hendrix is ​​an inspiration.

The EP ends with the six-minute Thank You Carl. Distorted guitar riffs, and halfway the track you notice an upcoming climax.

The songs have a strong rhythm section. The guitars sound dirty and sludgy. It takes a while before you get used to it, but Massa is special, so you keep on playing this EP. In the future this band surely will come up with even more interesting things!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

Massa is een Rotterdams trio dat sludge metalrock maakt. Deze ep bevat hoofdzakelijk instrumentale tracks, tenzij je de gesproken samples in drie van de vier nummers vocals noemt.

Opener The Interview begint met een sample waarin je een interview hoort. Het wordt gevolgd door een mooi intro. De gekozen samples zijn geslaagd en zorgen voor meerwaarde. The Deep End heeft een groove met roots in Black Sabbath en aanverwanten, alhoewel deze instrumentale track uiteindelijk een stonerrocknummer is. Een mooi opgebouwde song trouwens. In Dr. Frank hoor je dat Jimi Hendrix een inspiratie is.

De ep wordt afgesloten met het zes minuten durende Thank You Carl. De van distortion voorziene riffs leggen een dikke brij over het nummer. Halverwege wordt naar een climax opgebouwd.

De songs zijn voorzien van een stevige ritmesectie die staat als een huis. De gitaar klinkt smerig en sludgy. Het is best even wennen, maar Massa heeft iets waardoor je teruggrijpt naar deze ep. Wellicht een band met toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots