tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

29/12/2015 : MASSA - MASSA (EP)

MASSA

MASSA (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalsludgeStoner Rock

[76/100]   

Self-released
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Massa is a Rotterdam trio that makes sludge metal rock. This EP contains instrumental tracks, unless you call the voice samples vocals.

Opener The Interview starts with a sample in which you hear (well) an interview. It is followed by a nice intro. The selected samples are well chosen and make the song quite interesting.

The Deep End has a groove with roots in Black Sabbath and others, although this instrumental track is in fact a stoner rock song. Anyway, beautifully constructed. In Dr. Frank you notice that Jimi Hendrix is ​​an inspiration.

The EP ends with the six-minute Thank You Carl. Distorted guitar riffs, and halfway the track you notice an upcoming climax.

The songs have a strong rhythm section. The guitars sound dirty and sludgy. It takes a while before you get used to it, but Massa is special, so you keep on playing this EP. In the future this band surely will come up with even more interesting things!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

Massa is een Rotterdams trio dat sludge metalrock maakt. Deze ep bevat hoofdzakelijk instrumentale tracks, tenzij je de gesproken samples in drie van de vier nummers vocals noemt.

Opener The Interview begint met een sample waarin je een interview hoort. Het wordt gevolgd door een mooi intro. De gekozen samples zijn geslaagd en zorgen voor meerwaarde. The Deep End heeft een groove met roots in Black Sabbath en aanverwanten, alhoewel deze instrumentale track uiteindelijk een stonerrocknummer is. Een mooi opgebouwde song trouwens. In Dr. Frank hoor je dat Jimi Hendrix een inspiratie is.

De ep wordt afgesloten met het zes minuten durende Thank You Carl. De van distortion voorziene riffs leggen een dikke brij over het nummer. Halverwege wordt naar een climax opgebouwd.

De songs zijn voorzien van een stevige ritmesectie die staat als een huis. De gitaar klinkt smerig en sludgy. Het is best even wennen, maar Massa heeft iets waardoor je teruggrijpt naar deze ep. Wellicht een band met toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation