tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/12/2015 : COTTON BELLY'S - Rainy Road

COTTON BELLY'S

Rainy Road

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[80/100]   

Cabane Productions
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Cotton Belly's is a French band that makes blues with traditional instruments: guitar, harp, lap steel, bass and drums.

Rainy Road contains twelve warm and sensitive songs without studio tricks, but with the necessary quality. At first glance you might think: Blues? So what? No, it is not exactly my favourite genre either, but quality is quality, that is why I want to give Cotton Belly's a shout.

For example, the record contains some beautiful ballads. On Family Chains you almost feel the atmosphere of the American South. Soldier is a seven-minute song that impresses me as well, with vocals that remind me of Mark Lanegan. From This Town is more singer-songwriter oriented, while Given is more up-tempo and catchy.

The album by Cotton Belly's is very traditional, yet varied and well made. Complete it with the warm voice of Yann Malek and you have a nice record for everyone, not just the blues fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Deze in bluesrock gedrenkte en met traditioneel klinkende instrumenten gespeelde muziek is het werk van een handvol Fransen. Met gitaar, harp, lapsteel, drum en bas laten ze de oerdegelijke Amerikaans bluesrock herleven.

Rainy Road bevat twaalf songs zonder veel pretentie, wel warm en gevoelig, zonder veel studiotrucs, maar met de nodige kwaliteit. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken: bluesrock? Ja, en? Het is ook niet meteen mijn favoriete genre, maar kwaliteit blijft kwaliteit, daarom wil ik toch een lans breken voor Cotton Belly’s.

Zo bevat de plaat bijv. een paar mooie ballades. Op Family Chains voel je bijna de sfeer van het Amerikaanse zuiden. Soldier is een zeven minuten durende nummer dat indruk op mij maakt. De vocals doen me wat aan Mark Lanegan denken. From This Town is gehuld in een singersongwritersjasje. Given is uptempo en vrij catchy.

Het album van Cotton Belly’s is heel traditioneel en toch gevarieerd en goed gemaakt. Voeg daarbij de warme stem van Yann Malek en je hebt een lekkere plaat die iedereen kan aanspreken, dus niet alleen de bluesliefhebbers.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WAR ANYWAY • War For Peace
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone
RENÉ JACOBS • Singer & Teacher
JEREMY THOMAS • The Best Of 2015
BENNY CALUWE • The Best Of 2015
DIDIER BECU • The Best Of 2015
RON SCHOONWATER • The Best Of 2015
MARK VAN MULLEM • The Best Of 2015
LUKI PUKI • The Best Of 2015
MANU L DASH • The Best Of 2015

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
BEN OTTEWELL • Rattlebag

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life