tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/12/2015 : COTTON BELLY'S - Rainy Road

COTTON BELLY'S

Rainy Road

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[80/100]   

Cabane Productions
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Cotton Belly's is a French band that makes blues with traditional instruments: guitar, harp, lap steel, bass and drums.

Rainy Road contains twelve warm and sensitive songs without studio tricks, but with the necessary quality. At first glance you might think: Blues? So what? No, it is not exactly my favourite genre either, but quality is quality, that is why I want to give Cotton Belly's a shout.

For example, the record contains some beautiful ballads. On Family Chains you almost feel the atmosphere of the American South. Soldier is a seven-minute song that impresses me as well, with vocals that remind me of Mark Lanegan. From This Town is more singer-songwriter oriented, while Given is more up-tempo and catchy.

The album by Cotton Belly's is very traditional, yet varied and well made. Complete it with the warm voice of Yann Malek and you have a nice record for everyone, not just the blues fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Deze in bluesrock gedrenkte en met traditioneel klinkende instrumenten gespeelde muziek is het werk van een handvol Fransen. Met gitaar, harp, lapsteel, drum en bas laten ze de oerdegelijke Amerikaans bluesrock herleven.

Rainy Road bevat twaalf songs zonder veel pretentie, wel warm en gevoelig, zonder veel studiotrucs, maar met de nodige kwaliteit. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken: bluesrock? Ja, en? Het is ook niet meteen mijn favoriete genre, maar kwaliteit blijft kwaliteit, daarom wil ik toch een lans breken voor Cotton Belly’s.

Zo bevat de plaat bijv. een paar mooie ballades. Op Family Chains voel je bijna de sfeer van het Amerikaanse zuiden. Soldier is een zeven minuten durende nummer dat indruk op mij maakt. De vocals doen me wat aan Mark Lanegan denken. From This Town is gehuld in een singersongwritersjasje. Given is uptempo en vrij catchy.

Het album van Cotton Belly’s is heel traditioneel en toch gevarieerd en goed gemaakt. Voeg daarbij de warme stem van Yann Malek en je hebt een lekkere plaat die iedereen kan aanspreken, dus niet alleen de bluesliefhebbers.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WAR ANYWAY • War For Peace
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone
RENÉ JACOBS • Singer & Teacher
JEREMY THOMAS • The Best Of 2015
BENNY CALUWE • The Best Of 2015
DIDIER BECU • The Best Of 2015
RON SCHOONWATER • The Best Of 2015
MARK VAN MULLEM • The Best Of 2015
LUKI PUKI • The Best Of 2015
MANU L DASH • The Best Of 2015

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
BEN OTTEWELL • Rattlebag

 

Same genre: BLUES
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Same genre: FOLK
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic