tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/12/2015 : COTTON BELLY'S - Rainy Road

COTTON BELLY'S

Rainy Road

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[80/100]   

Cabane Productions
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Cotton Belly's is a French band that makes blues with traditional instruments: guitar, harp, lap steel, bass and drums.

Rainy Road contains twelve warm and sensitive songs without studio tricks, but with the necessary quality. At first glance you might think: Blues? So what? No, it is not exactly my favourite genre either, but quality is quality, that is why I want to give Cotton Belly's a shout.

For example, the record contains some beautiful ballads. On Family Chains you almost feel the atmosphere of the American South. Soldier is a seven-minute song that impresses me as well, with vocals that remind me of Mark Lanegan. From This Town is more singer-songwriter oriented, while Given is more up-tempo and catchy.

The album by Cotton Belly's is very traditional, yet varied and well made. Complete it with the warm voice of Yann Malek and you have a nice record for everyone, not just the blues fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Deze in bluesrock gedrenkte en met traditioneel klinkende instrumenten gespeelde muziek is het werk van een handvol Fransen. Met gitaar, harp, lapsteel, drum en bas laten ze de oerdegelijke Amerikaans bluesrock herleven.

Rainy Road bevat twaalf songs zonder veel pretentie, wel warm en gevoelig, zonder veel studiotrucs, maar met de nodige kwaliteit. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken: bluesrock? Ja, en? Het is ook niet meteen mijn favoriete genre, maar kwaliteit blijft kwaliteit, daarom wil ik toch een lans breken voor Cotton Belly’s.

Zo bevat de plaat bijv. een paar mooie ballades. Op Family Chains voel je bijna de sfeer van het Amerikaanse zuiden. Soldier is een zeven minuten durende nummer dat indruk op mij maakt. De vocals doen me wat aan Mark Lanegan denken. From This Town is gehuld in een singersongwritersjasje. Given is uptempo en vrij catchy.

Het album van Cotton Belly’s is heel traditioneel en toch gevarieerd en goed gemaakt. Voeg daarbij de warme stem van Yann Malek en je hebt een lekkere plaat die iedereen kan aanspreken, dus niet alleen de bluesliefhebbers.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WAR ANYWAY • War For Peace
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone
RENÉ JACOBS • Singer & Teacher
JEREMY THOMAS • The Best Of 2015
BENNY CALUWE • The Best Of 2015
DIDIER BECU • The Best Of 2015
RON SCHOONWATER • The Best Of 2015
MARK VAN MULLEM • The Best Of 2015
LUKI PUKI • The Best Of 2015
MANU L DASH • The Best Of 2015

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
BEN OTTEWELL • Rattlebag

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi