tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/12/2015 : COTTON BELLY'S - Rainy Road

COTTON BELLY'S

Rainy Road

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[80/100]   

Cabane Productions
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Cotton Belly's is a French band that makes blues with traditional instruments: guitar, harp, lap steel, bass and drums.

Rainy Road contains twelve warm and sensitive songs without studio tricks, but with the necessary quality. At first glance you might think: Blues? So what? No, it is not exactly my favourite genre either, but quality is quality, that is why I want to give Cotton Belly's a shout.

For example, the record contains some beautiful ballads. On Family Chains you almost feel the atmosphere of the American South. Soldier is a seven-minute song that impresses me as well, with vocals that remind me of Mark Lanegan. From This Town is more singer-songwriter oriented, while Given is more up-tempo and catchy.

The album by Cotton Belly's is very traditional, yet varied and well made. Complete it with the warm voice of Yann Malek and you have a nice record for everyone, not just the blues fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Deze in bluesrock gedrenkte en met traditioneel klinkende instrumenten gespeelde muziek is het werk van een handvol Fransen. Met gitaar, harp, lapsteel, drum en bas laten ze de oerdegelijke Amerikaans bluesrock herleven.

Rainy Road bevat twaalf songs zonder veel pretentie, wel warm en gevoelig, zonder veel studiotrucs, maar met de nodige kwaliteit. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken: bluesrock? Ja, en? Het is ook niet meteen mijn favoriete genre, maar kwaliteit blijft kwaliteit, daarom wil ik toch een lans breken voor Cotton Belly’s.

Zo bevat de plaat bijv. een paar mooie ballades. Op Family Chains voel je bijna de sfeer van het Amerikaanse zuiden. Soldier is een zeven minuten durende nummer dat indruk op mij maakt. De vocals doen me wat aan Mark Lanegan denken. From This Town is gehuld in een singersongwritersjasje. Given is uptempo en vrij catchy.

Het album van Cotton Belly’s is heel traditioneel en toch gevarieerd en goed gemaakt. Voeg daarbij de warme stem van Yann Malek en je hebt een lekkere plaat die iedereen kan aanspreken, dus niet alleen de bluesliefhebbers.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WAR ANYWAY • War For Peace
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone
RENÉ JACOBS • Singer & Teacher
JEREMY THOMAS • The Best Of 2015
BENNY CALUWE • The Best Of 2015
DIDIER BECU • The Best Of 2015
RON SCHOONWATER • The Best Of 2015
MARK VAN MULLEM • The Best Of 2015
LUKI PUKI • The Best Of 2015
MANU L DASH • The Best Of 2015

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
BEN OTTEWELL • Rattlebag

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Same genre: FOLK
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)