tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/12/2015 : COTTON BELLY'S - Rainy Road

COTTON BELLY'S

Rainy Road

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[80/100]   

Cabane Productions
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Cotton Belly's is a French band that makes blues with traditional instruments: guitar, harp, lap steel, bass and drums.

Rainy Road contains twelve warm and sensitive songs without studio tricks, but with the necessary quality. At first glance you might think: Blues? So what? No, it is not exactly my favourite genre either, but quality is quality, that is why I want to give Cotton Belly's a shout.

For example, the record contains some beautiful ballads. On Family Chains you almost feel the atmosphere of the American South. Soldier is a seven-minute song that impresses me as well, with vocals that remind me of Mark Lanegan. From This Town is more singer-songwriter oriented, while Given is more up-tempo and catchy.

The album by Cotton Belly's is very traditional, yet varied and well made. Complete it with the warm voice of Yann Malek and you have a nice record for everyone, not just the blues fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Deze in bluesrock gedrenkte en met traditioneel klinkende instrumenten gespeelde muziek is het werk van een handvol Fransen. Met gitaar, harp, lapsteel, drum en bas laten ze de oerdegelijke Amerikaans bluesrock herleven.

Rainy Road bevat twaalf songs zonder veel pretentie, wel warm en gevoelig, zonder veel studiotrucs, maar met de nodige kwaliteit. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken: bluesrock? Ja, en? Het is ook niet meteen mijn favoriete genre, maar kwaliteit blijft kwaliteit, daarom wil ik toch een lans breken voor Cotton Belly’s.

Zo bevat de plaat bijv. een paar mooie ballades. Op Family Chains voel je bijna de sfeer van het Amerikaanse zuiden. Soldier is een zeven minuten durende nummer dat indruk op mij maakt. De vocals doen me wat aan Mark Lanegan denken. From This Town is gehuld in een singersongwritersjasje. Given is uptempo en vrij catchy.

Het album van Cotton Belly’s is heel traditioneel en toch gevarieerd en goed gemaakt. Voeg daarbij de warme stem van Yann Malek en je hebt een lekkere plaat die iedereen kan aanspreken, dus niet alleen de bluesliefhebbers.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WAR ANYWAY • War For Peace
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone
RENÉ JACOBS • Singer & Teacher
JEREMY THOMAS • The Best Of 2015
BENNY CALUWE • The Best Of 2015
DIDIER BECU • The Best Of 2015
RON SCHOONWATER • The Best Of 2015
MARK VAN MULLEM • The Best Of 2015
LUKI PUKI • The Best Of 2015
MANU L DASH • The Best Of 2015

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
BEN OTTEWELL • Rattlebag

 

Same genre: BLUES
THE HEAT INC. • EP
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover