tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/03/2015 : BEN OTTEWELL - Rattlebag

BEN OTTEWELL

Rattlebag

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[75/100]   

Sunday Best Recordings
15/03/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

After seven albums with the band Gomez and his solo project Shapes & Shadows (2011), English singer and guitarist Ben Ottewell is back with new work. On Rattlebag (2014) he brings 11 new compositions for which he dabbles in Americana, folk and blues, and which he performs carefully with his typical raspy voice and sparkling guitar playing.

Title song Rattlebag is a solid opener that sets the tone with a country-like guitar intro, abrasive vocals and then electric guitars, drums and Hammond organ. A promising kick-off. The hectic Red Dress starts with an acoustic intro and develops gradually into an excellent song we immediately recognize as a 'favourite'. Patience & Rosaries flirts with blues: beautiful and heavy guitars, intense drums, strong vocals, sublime voice. You should obviously love the genre and especially the voice to appreciate this kind of music, for just like Bob Dylan and Tom Waits, Ben Ottewell produces a very distinct sound. You love it or not quite, there is hardly a middle ground.

In Starlings, No Place and So Slow, Ottewell literally slows down the pace. The compositions wander peacefully through the living room as mellifluous listening songs. Accoustic and slide guitar dominate the sound palette, with the drums as quiet companions.

In Edge the tempo goes crescendo again, with furious guitars, solid drums and a screeching voice, but the vocal fireworks hides in Dad Cuckoo, while Shoreline wallows in an attractive melody. The same calm and country-like jig in Stone, propelled by beautiful electric guitars and a solid drum part. The final track Distant Shores is pure country, a beautiful ballad for cowboys at a dying campfire. As a bonus, three live versions of the material on this album (Edge, Red Dress, Patience & Rosaries) are added, plus an excellent live version of All Brand New (from his first solo album Shapes & Shadows).

This second solo album by Ben Ottewell lives up to the expectations. The material is not very diverse, but it is of excellent quality and perfectly executed. Fans of the genre need not doubt.

William LIÉNARD
15/03/2015


NL

Na zeven albums met de band Gomez en z’n soloproject Shapes & Shadows uit 2011, is de Engelse zanger en gitarist Ben Ottewell terug met nieuw werk. Op Rattlebag (2014) brengt hij 11 nieuwe composities waarvoor hij grasduint in Americana, folk en blues, en die hij inkleurt met z’n typische rasperige stem en fonkelend gitaarspel.

Titelnummer Rattlebag is een stevige opener, waarin Ottewell meteen de toon zet met een countryachtig gitaarintro, schurende vocalen en vervolgens elektrische gitaren, drums en hammondorgel. Een veelbelovende aftrap, zonder meer. Het jachtige Red Dress begint met een akoestisch intro en groeit geleidelijk uit tot een voortreffelijke song, die we meteen in de afdeling ‘favorieten’ onderbrengen. Patience & Rosaries flirt met blues: prachtig en heftige gitaren, intense drums, een sterke zanglijn, sublieme stem. Je moet uiteraard van het genre houden en vooral van de stem, want net zoals bijv. Bob Dylan en Tom Waits, produceert Ben Ottewell een zeer aparte geluid. Je houdt ervan of helemaal niet, er is nauwelijks een tussenweg.

In Starlings, No Place en So Slow neemt Ottewell gas terug. De composities struinen rustig en gemoedelijk door de huiskamer als oorstrelende luisterliedjes. Akoestische en slidegitaar domineren het geluidspalet met de drums als rustige begeleider.

In Edge gaat het tempo opnieuw crescendo met grimmige gitaren, stevig drumwerk en een gierende stem, maar het vocaal vuurwerk heeft Ottewell bewaard voor Papa Cuckoo, terwijl Shoreline z’n voordeel doet met een aantrekkelijke melodie. Van hetzelfde rustige en countryachtige kaliber is Stone, dat wordt voortgestuwd door prachtige elektrische gitaren en een stevige drumpartij. Afsluiter Distant Shores is pure country, een wondermooie ballade voor cowboys bij een dovend kampvuur. Als bonus zijn drie live versies toegevoegd van materiaal op dit album (Edge, Red Dress, Patience & Rosaries), plus een uitstekende live versie van All Brand New (uit z’n eerste soloalbum Shapes & Shadows).

Dit tweede soloalbum van Ben Ottewell lost de verwachtingen in. Het materiaal is niet zo zeer gevarieerd, dan wel uitstekend van kwaliteit en perfect uitgevoerd. Liefhebbers van het genre hoeven m.a.w. niet te twijfelen.

William LIÉNARD
15/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL MANN • Miami Vice
EVERYTHING EVERYTHING • Distant Past
MEL BROOKS • Spaceballs
DIRK SERRIES • Unseen Descending and Lamentations
FIND HOPE IN DARKNESS • Locked So Tightly In Our Dreams
FREEBASS • You Don't Know This About Me (Outernationale Remix)
PATRICK MCDONAGH • In Bruges
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Burn Rubber City Burn: Extermination Nights In The Sixth City:
FRANCIS LAWRENCE • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Romanticism

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
COTTON BELLY'S • Rainy Road

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On