tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/03/2015 : BEN OTTEWELL - Rattlebag

BEN OTTEWELL

Rattlebag

MusicCD
BluesFolkRock

[75/100]   

Sunday Best Recordings
15/03/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

After seven albums with the band Gomez and his solo project Shapes & Shadows (2011), English singer and guitarist Ben Ottewell is back with new work. On Rattlebag (2014) he brings 11 new compositions for which he dabbles in Americana, folk and blues, and which he performs carefully with his typical raspy voice and sparkling guitar playing.

Title song Rattlebag is a solid opener that sets the tone with a country-like guitar intro, abrasive vocals and then electric guitars, drums and Hammond organ. A promising kick-off. The hectic Red Dress starts with an acoustic intro and develops gradually into an excellent song we immediately recognize as a 'favourite'. Patience & Rosaries flirts with blues: beautiful and heavy guitars, intense drums, strong vocals, sublime voice. You should obviously love the genre and especially the voice to appreciate this kind of music, for just like Bob Dylan and Tom Waits, Ben Ottewell produces a very distinct sound. You love it or not quite, there is hardly a middle ground.

In Starlings, No Place and So Slow, Ottewell literally slows down the pace. The compositions wander peacefully through the living room as mellifluous listening songs. Accoustic and slide guitar dominate the sound palette, with the drums as quiet companions.

In Edge the tempo goes crescendo again, with furious guitars, solid drums and a screeching voice, but the vocal fireworks hides in Dad Cuckoo, while Shoreline wallows in an attractive melody. The same calm and country-like jig in Stone, propelled by beautiful electric guitars and a solid drum part. The final track Distant Shores is pure country, a beautiful ballad for cowboys at a dying campfire. As a bonus, three live versions of the material on this album (Edge, Red Dress, Patience & Rosaries) are added, plus an excellent live version of All Brand New (from his first solo album Shapes & Shadows).

This second solo album by Ben Ottewell lives up to the expectations. The material is not very diverse, but it is of excellent quality and perfectly executed. Fans of the genre need not doubt.

William LIÉNARD
15/03/2015


NL

Na zeven albums met de band Gomez en z’n soloproject Shapes & Shadows uit 2011, is de Engelse zanger en gitarist Ben Ottewell terug met nieuw werk. Op Rattlebag (2014) brengt hij 11 nieuwe composities waarvoor hij grasduint in Americana, folk en blues, en die hij inkleurt met z’n typische rasperige stem en fonkelend gitaarspel.

Titelnummer Rattlebag is een stevige opener, waarin Ottewell meteen de toon zet met een countryachtig gitaarintro, schurende vocalen en vervolgens elektrische gitaren, drums en hammondorgel. Een veelbelovende aftrap, zonder meer. Het jachtige Red Dress begint met een akoestisch intro en groeit geleidelijk uit tot een voortreffelijke song, die we meteen in de afdeling ‘favorieten’ onderbrengen. Patience & Rosaries flirt met blues: prachtig en heftige gitaren, intense drums, een sterke zanglijn, sublieme stem. Je moet uiteraard van het genre houden en vooral van de stem, want net zoals bijv. Bob Dylan en Tom Waits, produceert Ben Ottewell een zeer aparte geluid. Je houdt ervan of helemaal niet, er is nauwelijks een tussenweg.

In Starlings, No Place en So Slow neemt Ottewell gas terug. De composities struinen rustig en gemoedelijk door de huiskamer als oorstrelende luisterliedjes. Akoestische en slidegitaar domineren het geluidspalet met de drums als rustige begeleider.

In Edge gaat het tempo opnieuw crescendo met grimmige gitaren, stevig drumwerk en een gierende stem, maar het vocaal vuurwerk heeft Ottewell bewaard voor Papa Cuckoo, terwijl Shoreline z’n voordeel doet met een aantrekkelijke melodie. Van hetzelfde rustige en countryachtige kaliber is Stone, dat wordt voortgestuwd door prachtige elektrische gitaren en een stevige drumpartij. Afsluiter Distant Shores is pure country, een wondermooie ballade voor cowboys bij een dovend kampvuur. Als bonus zijn drie live versies toegevoegd van materiaal op dit album (Edge, Red Dress, Patience & Rosaries), plus een uitstekende live versie van All Brand New (uit z’n eerste soloalbum Shapes & Shadows).

Dit tweede soloalbum van Ben Ottewell lost de verwachtingen in. Het materiaal is niet zo zeer gevarieerd, dan wel uitstekend van kwaliteit en perfect uitgevoerd. Liefhebbers van het genre hoeven m.a.w. niet te twijfelen.

William LIÉNARD
15/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL MANN • Miami Vice
EVERYTHING EVERYTHING • Distant Past
MEL BROOKS • Spaceballs
DIRK SERRIES • Unseen Descending and Lamentations
FIND HOPE IN DARKNESS • Locked So Tightly In Our Dreams
FREEBASS • You Don't Know This About Me (Outernationale Remix)
PATRICK MCDONAGH • In Bruges
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Burn Rubber City Burn: Extermination Nights In The Sixth City:
FRANCIS LAWRENCE • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Romanticism

 

Same combination of genres: BLUES + FOLK + ROCK
COTTON BELLY'S • Rainy Road

 

Same genre: BLUES
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly

 

Same genre: FOLK
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)