tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2017 : SEESAYLE - Stamina

SEESAYLE

Stamina

MusicCD
FolkNu ClassicalNu Folk

[70/100]   

Self-released
04/11/2017, Masha KASHA

EN

Seesayle is a Belgian multi-instrumenalist/ songwriter from Liege, a woman and an orchestra all-in-one. Piano, violin backing vocals, percussion... Everything is there to maintain the great musical experience.

After reviewing a great number of electronic CDs I felt overwhelmed by the acoustic part of the album. Indeed the high level of mastering of the musical instruments and the well mastered record are impressive.

The lyrics vary between postmodern topics and old fairy tales but not in a furious pagan goth witchy way - rather melancholical and deliberative, well underpinned by the touchy and deep vocals, haunting violin and rich piano parts.

Style and influences

Some songs make me think of The Cranberries, others - Kate Bush. Very, very similar to Fleur with the performance and the concept. It has to be mentioned, that each track is unique in its own way and non repetitive, playful, musicaly mature although with a hint of naivety.

Favourite song

"A trap" is a lively rumba-shaped track with original lyrics. "The top of my head" is also top.) The chorus reminds me somehow of Regina Spector.

To sum it up

Folky, very good instrumental parts, good backing vocals. A contemporary fairy-tale cabaret. Too difficult to imagine? Well go and find it out. Very good to accompany you during long walks in the Autumn woods.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


NL

Seesayle is een Belgische multi-instrumentalist/songwriter uit Luik, een vrouw en een orkest tegelijk. Piano, viool, back vocals, percussie... Alles om een schitterende muzikale ervaring neer te zetten.

Nadat ik een groot aantal elektronische CD's besproken had, werd ik overweldigd door het akoestische deel van het album. Het niveau waarmee ze de muziekinstrumenten beheerst en de klank van de plaat zijn indrukwekkend.

De teksten wisselen af tussen postmoderne onderwerpen en oude sprookjes. Niet op een razende heidense goth hekserige manier - eerder melancholisch en doordachte manier, goed ondersteund door de treffende en diepe vocals, de jagende viool en de rijke pianostukken.

Stijl en invloeden

Sommige liedjes doen me denken aan the Cranberries, andere aan Kate Bush. Heel heel erg vergelijkbaar met Fleur door de uitvoering en het concept. Het moet gezegd worden dat elk nummer op zijn eigen manier uniek is, en niet repetities, speels, muziekaal matuur maar toch met een vleugje naïviteit.

Favoriete nummer

"A trap" is een levendige rumba-achtige track met originele lyrics. "the top of my head" is ook top. Het koor doet wat denken aan Regina Spector.

Samengevat

Folky, heel goede instrumentale delen, goede back vocals. Een hedendaags sprookjescabaret. Te moeilijk om je daar iets bij voor te stellen? Luister er dan zelf eens naar. Ideaal als achtergrond voor lange wandelingen in herfstbossen.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless