tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2017 : SEESAYLE - Stamina

SEESAYLE

Stamina

MusicCD
FolkNu ClassicalNu Folk

[70/100]   

Self-released
04/11/2017, Masha KASHA

EN

Seesayle is a Belgian multi-instrumenalist/ songwriter from Liege, a woman and an orchestra all-in-one. Piano, violin backing vocals, percussion... Everything is there to maintain the great musical experience.

After reviewing a great number of electronic CDs I felt overwhelmed by the acoustic part of the album. Indeed the high level of mastering of the musical instruments and the well mastered record are impressive.

The lyrics vary between postmodern topics and old fairy tales but not in a furious pagan goth witchy way - rather melancholical and deliberative, well underpinned by the touchy and deep vocals, haunting violin and rich piano parts.

Style and influences

Some songs make me think of The Cranberries, others - Kate Bush. Very, very similar to Fleur with the performance and the concept. It has to be mentioned, that each track is unique in its own way and non repetitive, playful, musicaly mature although with a hint of naivety.

Favourite song

"A trap" is a lively rumba-shaped track with original lyrics. "The top of my head" is also top.) The chorus reminds me somehow of Regina Spector.

To sum it up

Folky, very good instrumental parts, good backing vocals. A contemporary fairy-tale cabaret. Too difficult to imagine? Well go and find it out. Very good to accompany you during long walks in the Autumn woods.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


NL

Seesayle is een Belgische multi-instrumentalist/songwriter uit Luik, een vrouw en een orkest tegelijk. Piano, viool, back vocals, percussie... Alles om een schitterende muzikale ervaring neer te zetten.

Nadat ik een groot aantal elektronische CD's besproken had, werd ik overweldigd door het akoestische deel van het album. Het niveau waarmee ze de muziekinstrumenten beheerst en de klank van de plaat zijn indrukwekkend.

De teksten wisselen af tussen postmoderne onderwerpen en oude sprookjes. Niet op een razende heidense goth hekserige manier - eerder melancholisch en doordachte manier, goed ondersteund door de treffende en diepe vocals, de jagende viool en de rijke pianostukken.

Stijl en invloeden

Sommige liedjes doen me denken aan the Cranberries, andere aan Kate Bush. Heel heel erg vergelijkbaar met Fleur door de uitvoering en het concept. Het moet gezegd worden dat elk nummer op zijn eigen manier uniek is, en niet repetities, speels, muziekaal matuur maar toch met een vleugje naïviteit.

Favoriete nummer

"A trap" is een levendige rumba-achtige track met originele lyrics. "the top of my head" is ook top. Het koor doet wat denken aan Regina Spector.

Samengevat

Folky, heel goede instrumentale delen, goede back vocals. Een hedendaags sprookjescabaret. Te moeilijk om je daar iets bij voor te stellen? Luister er dan zelf eens naar. Ideaal als achtergrond voor lange wandelingen in herfstbossen.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes