tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2017 : SEESAYLE - Stamina

SEESAYLE

Stamina

MusicCD
FolkNu ClassicalNu Folk

[70/100]   

Self-released
04/11/2017, Masha KASHA

EN

Seesayle is a Belgian multi-instrumenalist/ songwriter from Liege, a woman and an orchestra all-in-one. Piano, violin backing vocals, percussion... Everything is there to maintain the great musical experience.

After reviewing a great number of electronic CDs I felt overwhelmed by the acoustic part of the album. Indeed the high level of mastering of the musical instruments and the well mastered record are impressive.

The lyrics vary between postmodern topics and old fairy tales but not in a furious pagan goth witchy way - rather melancholical and deliberative, well underpinned by the touchy and deep vocals, haunting violin and rich piano parts.

Style and influences

Some songs make me think of The Cranberries, others - Kate Bush. Very, very similar to Fleur with the performance and the concept. It has to be mentioned, that each track is unique in its own way and non repetitive, playful, musicaly mature although with a hint of naivety.

Favourite song

"A trap" is a lively rumba-shaped track with original lyrics. "The top of my head" is also top.) The chorus reminds me somehow of Regina Spector.

To sum it up

Folky, very good instrumental parts, good backing vocals. A contemporary fairy-tale cabaret. Too difficult to imagine? Well go and find it out. Very good to accompany you during long walks in the Autumn woods.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


NL

Seesayle is een Belgische multi-instrumentalist/songwriter uit Luik, een vrouw en een orkest tegelijk. Piano, viool, back vocals, percussie... Alles om een schitterende muzikale ervaring neer te zetten.

Nadat ik een groot aantal elektronische CD's besproken had, werd ik overweldigd door het akoestische deel van het album. Het niveau waarmee ze de muziekinstrumenten beheerst en de klank van de plaat zijn indrukwekkend.

De teksten wisselen af tussen postmoderne onderwerpen en oude sprookjes. Niet op een razende heidense goth hekserige manier - eerder melancholisch en doordachte manier, goed ondersteund door de treffende en diepe vocals, de jagende viool en de rijke pianostukken.

Stijl en invloeden

Sommige liedjes doen me denken aan the Cranberries, andere aan Kate Bush. Heel heel erg vergelijkbaar met Fleur door de uitvoering en het concept. Het moet gezegd worden dat elk nummer op zijn eigen manier uniek is, en niet repetities, speels, muziekaal matuur maar toch met een vleugje naïviteit.

Favoriete nummer

"A trap" is een levendige rumba-achtige track met originele lyrics. "the top of my head" is ook top. Het koor doet wat denken aan Regina Spector.

Samengevat

Folky, heel goede instrumentale delen, goede back vocals. Een hedendaags sprookjescabaret. Te moeilijk om je daar iets bij voor te stellen? Luister er dan zelf eens naar. Ideaal als achtergrond voor lange wandelingen in herfstbossen.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands