tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2017 : SEESAYLE - Stamina

SEESAYLE

Stamina

MusicCD
FolkNu ClassicalNu Folk

[70/100]   

Self-released
04/11/2017, Masha KASHA

EN

Seesayle is a Belgian multi-instrumenalist/ songwriter from Liege, a woman and an orchestra all-in-one. Piano, violin backing vocals, percussion... Everything is there to maintain the great musical experience.

After reviewing a great number of electronic CDs I felt overwhelmed by the acoustic part of the album. Indeed the high level of mastering of the musical instruments and the well mastered record are impressive.

The lyrics vary between postmodern topics and old fairy tales but not in a furious pagan goth witchy way - rather melancholical and deliberative, well underpinned by the touchy and deep vocals, haunting violin and rich piano parts.

Style and influences

Some songs make me think of The Cranberries, others - Kate Bush. Very, very similar to Fleur with the performance and the concept. It has to be mentioned, that each track is unique in its own way and non repetitive, playful, musicaly mature although with a hint of naivety.

Favourite song

"A trap" is a lively rumba-shaped track with original lyrics. "The top of my head" is also top.) The chorus reminds me somehow of Regina Spector.

To sum it up

Folky, very good instrumental parts, good backing vocals. A contemporary fairy-tale cabaret. Too difficult to imagine? Well go and find it out. Very good to accompany you during long walks in the Autumn woods.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


NL

Seesayle is een Belgische multi-instrumentalist/songwriter uit Luik, een vrouw en een orkest tegelijk. Piano, viool, back vocals, percussie... Alles om een schitterende muzikale ervaring neer te zetten.

Nadat ik een groot aantal elektronische CD's besproken had, werd ik overweldigd door het akoestische deel van het album. Het niveau waarmee ze de muziekinstrumenten beheerst en de klank van de plaat zijn indrukwekkend.

De teksten wisselen af tussen postmoderne onderwerpen en oude sprookjes. Niet op een razende heidense goth hekserige manier - eerder melancholisch en doordachte manier, goed ondersteund door de treffende en diepe vocals, de jagende viool en de rijke pianostukken.

Stijl en invloeden

Sommige liedjes doen me denken aan the Cranberries, andere aan Kate Bush. Heel heel erg vergelijkbaar met Fleur door de uitvoering en het concept. Het moet gezegd worden dat elk nummer op zijn eigen manier uniek is, en niet repetities, speels, muziekaal matuur maar toch met een vleugje naïviteit.

Favoriete nummer

"A trap" is een levendige rumba-achtige track met originele lyrics. "the top of my head" is ook top. Het koor doet wat denken aan Regina Spector.

Samengevat

Folky, heel goede instrumentale delen, goede back vocals. Een hedendaags sprookjescabaret. Te moeilijk om je daar iets bij voor te stellen? Luister er dan zelf eens naar. Ideaal als achtergrond voor lange wandelingen in herfstbossen.

Tracklist

  1. Another Day
  2. Eileen
  3. How Far
  4. Useless
  5. By the Way
  6. Young Lady
  7. The Fire
  8. A Trap
  9. Storm
  10. Venisse
  11. Off the Top of My Head
  12. Not the One
  13. A While

Masha KASHA
04/11/2017


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams