tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/09/2015 : ISBELLS - Billy

ISBELLS

Billy

MusicCD
IndieNu CountryNu Folk

[79/100]   

Zeal Records
17/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Gaëtan Vandewoude is not what you call an easy guy to deal with. He describes himself as shy and insecure. These shortcomings (or is it just the other way around?) caused him lots of personal problems. Collapsing while after two acclaimed records you’re standing at the giant stage of the Belgian festivals Werchter and Pukkelpop, that’s Gaëtan…

The search for his inner self continues on Billy. On the cover we see a picture of Gaëtan Vandewoude as a child, staring at you with an almost devil-like smile. It is the musician’s childhood that is the central point on this album. Vandewoude digs in his own past, and he is trying to figure out how he was as a child and how that period influenced his later personality. He does that in the typical Isbells-way, and is as always accompanied by soul mates Gianni Marzo, Chantal Acda, Gerd Van Mulders and Christophe Vande Woude.

Even if the opener is a sort of sing-a-long, the text remains very dark (Billy was a sad a boy. He had nobody to confide in). Well, what’s a sing-a-long anyway! You can describe it more as tristesse with a minimal beat, because Vandewoude is not really the kind of musician who will invite you to dance a polonaise. Soon after we are invited for a 40 minute musical trip that has an americana atmosphere in which melancholy is always your companion. The lyrics are never optimistic, and if they are, then it’s done with some Johnny Cash sarcasm. You heard the sound of Isbells before, whether it was on a Wilco or an Eagles record, but it is always chilling. Thank you Billy, well we mean, Gaëtan...

Didier BECU
17/09/2015


NL

Gaëtan Vandewoude is geen gemakkelijke jongen. Zelf omschrijft hij zich als mensenschuw en onzeker. Het zijn tekortkomingen (of is het net andersom?) die ervoor hebben gezorgd dat hij bijna zijn hele leven met zichzelf in de knoop lag. Ineenstorten, en dat terwijl het voor de wind gaat met je muzikale project, want jawel, na twee bejubelde platen mocht Isbells zowel op de podia van Werchter als Pukkelpop staan.

De zoektocht naar zijn eigen ik wordt voortgezet op Billy. Op de hoes zien we een foto van Gaëtan Vandewoude die je als kind toekijkt met een bijna duivelsachtige lach. Het is dan ook de kindertijd van de muzikant die centraal staat op dit album. Vandewoude graaft in zijn eigen verleden, en probeert te achterhalen hoe hij als kind was en hoe dat een invloed heeft gehad op zijn latere persoonlijkheid. Hij doet dat op de typische Isbells-manier, en wordt zoals steeds vergezeld door zielsgenoten Gianni Marzo, Chantal Acda, Gerd Van Mulders en Christophe Vandewoude.

Ook al is de opener een leuk meezingertje, blijft de depressieve tekst (Billy was a sad a boy. He had nobody to confide in) lang in je hoofd nazinderen. Nou ja, meezingertje. Noem het maar tristesse met een minimale beat, want Vandewoude is niet meteen een muzikant die je zal aanzetten tot het dansen vande polonaise. Meteen daarna worden we 40 minuten lang ondergedompeld in een americana-sfeer waarin de weemoed altijd wel ergens in de buurt is. Nooit zijn de teksten optimistisch, en als ze dat wel zijn, dan is dat met het nodige Johnny Cash-sarcasme. Je hebt het geluid van Isbells zeker al eens eerder gehoord, of het nu op een Wilco- of een Eaglesplaat was, toch blijft het altijd bloedstollend mooi. Gebroken zielen zorgen er wel voor dat zielenknijpers rijk worden, de mensheid bezorgen ze de nodige dosis schoonheid die noodzakelijk is in dit trieste bestaan. Bedankt Billy, nou ja Gaëtan.

Didier BECU
17/09/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty