tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/09/2015 : ISBELLS - Billy

ISBELLS

Billy

MusicCD
IndieNu CountryNu Folk

[79/100]   

Zeal Records
17/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Gaëtan Vandewoude is not what you call an easy guy to deal with. He describes himself as shy and insecure. These shortcomings (or is it just the other way around?) caused him lots of personal problems. Collapsing while after two acclaimed records you’re standing at the giant stage of the Belgian festivals Werchter and Pukkelpop, that’s Gaëtan…

The search for his inner self continues on Billy. On the cover we see a picture of Gaëtan Vandewoude as a child, staring at you with an almost devil-like smile. It is the musician’s childhood that is the central point on this album. Vandewoude digs in his own past, and he is trying to figure out how he was as a child and how that period influenced his later personality. He does that in the typical Isbells-way, and is as always accompanied by soul mates Gianni Marzo, Chantal Acda, Gerd Van Mulders and Christophe Vande Woude.

Even if the opener is a sort of sing-a-long, the text remains very dark (Billy was a sad a boy. He had nobody to confide in). Well, what’s a sing-a-long anyway! You can describe it more as tristesse with a minimal beat, because Vandewoude is not really the kind of musician who will invite you to dance a polonaise. Soon after we are invited for a 40 minute musical trip that has an americana atmosphere in which melancholy is always your companion. The lyrics are never optimistic, and if they are, then it’s done with some Johnny Cash sarcasm. You heard the sound of Isbells before, whether it was on a Wilco or an Eagles record, but it is always chilling. Thank you Billy, well we mean, Gaëtan...

Didier BECU
17/09/2015


NL

Gaëtan Vandewoude is geen gemakkelijke jongen. Zelf omschrijft hij zich als mensenschuw en onzeker. Het zijn tekortkomingen (of is het net andersom?) die ervoor hebben gezorgd dat hij bijna zijn hele leven met zichzelf in de knoop lag. Ineenstorten, en dat terwijl het voor de wind gaat met je muzikale project, want jawel, na twee bejubelde platen mocht Isbells zowel op de podia van Werchter als Pukkelpop staan.

De zoektocht naar zijn eigen ik wordt voortgezet op Billy. Op de hoes zien we een foto van Gaëtan Vandewoude die je als kind toekijkt met een bijna duivelsachtige lach. Het is dan ook de kindertijd van de muzikant die centraal staat op dit album. Vandewoude graaft in zijn eigen verleden, en probeert te achterhalen hoe hij als kind was en hoe dat een invloed heeft gehad op zijn latere persoonlijkheid. Hij doet dat op de typische Isbells-manier, en wordt zoals steeds vergezeld door zielsgenoten Gianni Marzo, Chantal Acda, Gerd Van Mulders en Christophe Vandewoude.

Ook al is de opener een leuk meezingertje, blijft de depressieve tekst (Billy was a sad a boy. He had nobody to confide in) lang in je hoofd nazinderen. Nou ja, meezingertje. Noem het maar tristesse met een minimale beat, want Vandewoude is niet meteen een muzikant die je zal aanzetten tot het dansen vande polonaise. Meteen daarna worden we 40 minuten lang ondergedompeld in een americana-sfeer waarin de weemoed altijd wel ergens in de buurt is. Nooit zijn de teksten optimistisch, en als ze dat wel zijn, dan is dat met het nodige Johnny Cash-sarcasme. Je hebt het geluid van Isbells zeker al eens eerder gehoord, of het nu op een Wilco- of een Eaglesplaat was, toch blijft het altijd bloedstollend mooi. Gebroken zielen zorgen er wel voor dat zielenknijpers rijk worden, de mensheid bezorgen ze de nodige dosis schoonheid die noodzakelijk is in dit trieste bestaan. Bedankt Billy, nou ja Gaëtan.

Didier BECU
17/09/2015


Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold