tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017

ILLUMININE
WOUTER DEWIT

Cultuurcentrum Mechelen

27.10.2017

Concert
ClassicalNeoclassicalPost Classical

[90/100]   
02/11/2017, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Last Friday, Illuminine performed at the Cultuurcentrum Mechelen, preceded by a concert by Wouter Dewit.

Wouter is the pianist of Illuminine and he just released his own second album Still. And in Mechelen the presentation of that album took place with 4 musicians. Wouter himself on piano, accompanied by cello, violin & double bass. The spherical compositions allowed me to dream away while being submerged in Wouter's wonderful musical world, in which semi-repetitive post-class melodies create a beautiful melancholic atmosphere, similar to compositions of Nils Frahm or Illuminine, but with a strong entity of its own. The intensity & beauty of the compositions grabbed me and kept me entranced during the entire gig, overwhelming me intensely. And since it was a CD release concert, afterwards I could buy the album, which is now playing continously on repeat.

But my main reason for coming to this Autumn Falls event was of course Illuminine, for some years, one of my favourite Belgian groups. As in previous concerts, Kevin Imbrechts and his loyal musicians brought a total spectacle, intensely engaging. With the proper (scarce but sublime) lighting and projections, the compositions of both albums were supported & with the exception of one intermediate applause from the audience, this was pure enjoyment being immersed in a minimalist world in which it is allowed and even encouraged to enjoy slowness and pure beauty. And despite the fact that I’ve seen Illuminine performing a couple of times already now, they gave me (once again) some real goosebumps moments, and that's basically due to the beautiful compositions, but certainly also for a big part as a result of the empathy of the musicians who created a sublime soundtrack with piano, trumpet, violin cello, guitar and electronics.

As this was the last concert of 2017 for Illuminine, we will have to wait until 2018 for another chance to see & hear the magic music by Kevin and his companions. Luckily, it’s almost 2018 !

Ward DE PRINS
02/11/2017


NL

Afgelopen vrijdag trad Illuminine op in het Cultuurcentrum Mechelen, voorafgegaan door een concert van Wouter Dewit.

Wouter is pianist bij Illuminine en bracht net zijn tweede eigen album Still uit. In Mechelen gebeurde de presentatie van dat album met 4 muzikanten. Wouter zelf op piano, met begeleiding van cello, viool & contrabas. De sferische composities lieten me wegdromen en ingetogen mijmeren in Wouter’s wonderlijke muzikale wereld, waarin semi-repetitieve post-klassieke melodieën een prachtig melancholische sfeer oproepen, gelijkaardig aan deze van Nils Frahm of Illuminine doch met een sterke eigen entiteit. Het hoeft dan ook geen betoog dat dit optreden me vastgreep en pas na een klein uurtje terug losliet om verweesd en verdwaasd achter te blijven na zoveel moois. (Al goed dat het een CD release was en ik nadien het album kon kopen, dat intussen al de hele tijd op repeat staat.)

Maar ik was in eerste instantie gekomen voor Illuminine, sinds enkele jaren toch wel één van mijn favoriete Belgische groepen. Net zoals op vorige concerten brachten Kevin Imbrechts en de schare trouwe muzikanten die hij steeds meebrengt een intens bekijvend totaalspektakel. Met de juiste (schaarse doch sublieme) verlichting en projecties worden de composities van beide albums ondersteund & op één tussentijds applaus van het publiek na was dit puur genieten en (een tweede keer) ondergedompeld worden in een minimalistische wereld waarin nog eens genoten mag worden van traagheid en pure schoonheid. En ondanks het feit dat ik Illuminine nu al een aantal keren live aan het werk heb gezien, slagen ze er steeds in om me een aantal ware kippenvelmomenten te bezorgen en dat ligt in eerste instantie aan de prachtige composities, maar toch ook zeker voor een groot deel aan het inlevingsvermogen van de muzikanten die met piano, trompet, viool, cello, gitaar en elektronica een subliem klanktapijt creëerden.

Aangezien dit het laatste concert voor 2017 was van Illuminine zal het even wachten zijn voor een volgend optreden, maar het is weldra 2018, dus hopelijk snel opnieuw een kans om Kevin en kompanen nog een keer live te mogen meemaken !

Ward DE PRINS
02/11/2017


02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017 02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017 02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017 02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017 02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017 02/11/2017 : ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT - Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back