tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : STERNLUMEN - Sternlumen

STERNLUMEN

Sternlumen

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Sternlumen is the moniker of the German composer and pianist Thomas Kudela. His debut album Sternlumen was made in Copenhagen, Denmark, and contains six tracks, which he describes as soundtracks for short movies that only exist in his own mind and that hopefully will inspire the listener to evoke his own images and moods.

Sternlumen's instrument is the piano, and we must admit that he writes beautiful compositions. Grossstadtkosmonaut begins as a dark and emphatic track, and then evolves into a smooth, great-sounding and flawlessly played instrumental, suggesting images of streetlights and billboards, a hesitant traffic light and then coloured flashes of neon and LED, a roller coaster through a modern metropolis. In Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory, Sternlumen combines repetitive sounds with beautiful effects, soft and hard, light and dark; it is a wide-ranging and at times melodic composition with countless variations in which all the possibilities of the piano are used.

Initially, Metronomsdiskussion floats on a fast pace of piano sounds like falling raindrops on which a descending series of notes is spread. Later, the pace decreases, quiet and dark tones come to the fore, while maintaining the repetitive nature of the composition. Yellow Red Skies (And Tomorrow på Christiania) is reminiscent of Wim Mertens. It is a beautiful and melodic composition for a quiet Sunday morning stroll through the alternative district of Christiania or through any artistic neighbourhood, when the tourists have not yet arrived and the locals are still in bed. Even the most bizarre place can be beautiful and poetic if there is peace and tranquility.

Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals suggests chaos and violence, and that's how the song sounds occasionally, although Sternlumen again provides a beautiful melody: wide in terms of design, playful and at the same time dark and threatening, with a series of explicit and jet-black accents halfway, followed by an eloquent passage, drowned in a sea of drone-like piano sounds for the final. The final track My Mind is not Where I am but Should Be is a melody for a baroque fairy tale with broad and swirling dresses, golden carriages and a lost shoe. Slightly bombastic but stunning and impressive.

Six very beautiful compositions of a perfect pianist. His name (and the name of the album) is Sternlumen. Listen to this man and his music!

Tracklisting:
1 Grossstadtkosmonaut
2 Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory
3 Metronomsdiskussion
4 Yellow Red Skies (En Morgen på Christiania)
5 Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals
6 My Mind is not Where I am but Should be

www.sternlumen.com

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Uit Kopenhagen bereikt ons het debuutalbum van Sternlumen, het alter ego van de Duitse componist en pianist Thomas Kudela. Hij omschrijft de tracks op Sternlumen als soundtracks bij korte films die alleen in z’n hoofd bestaan en waarvan hij hoopt dat de luisteraar ze op zijn manier zal voorzien van beelden en stemmingen.

Sternlumens werktuig is de piano en we moeten toegeven dat hij prachtige composities tevoorschijn tovert. Grossstadtkosmonaut begint donker en nadrukkelijk, en evolueert nadien tot een vlotte, goed klinkende en loepzuiver gespeelde instrumental waarop we ons beelden van straatverlichting en reclameborden voorstellen, een aarzelend verkeerslicht en dan veelkleurige flitsen van neon en led, een achtbaan door de moderne wereldstad. In Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory combineert Sternlumen repetitieve klanken met prachtige effecten, zacht en hard, licht en donker, een breed opgezette en bij momenten melodieuze compositie met oneindig veel variaties waarin alle mogelijkheden van de piano worden benut.

Metronomsdiskussion drijft aanvankelijk op een snel tempo met pianoklanken als vallende regendruppels waarover een dalende notenreeks is gelegd. Later neemt het tempo af en treden de rustigere donkere tonen nadrukkelijker op de voorgrond, waarbij het repetitieve karakter behouden blijft in het hoge register. Opnieuw een heel erg mooie track. Yellow Red Skies (En Morgen på Christiania) roept herinneringen op aan Wim Mertens. Het is een bloedmooie en melodieuze compositie voor een rustige zondagochtendwandeling door de alternatieve wijk Christiania of door om het even welke artiestenbuurt als de toeristen nog niet zijn gearriveerd en de bewoners nog onder de wol liggen. Zelfs de meeste bizarre plek kan mooi en poëtisch zijn als ze aan rust en stilte is prijsgegeven.

Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals voorspelt chaos en geweld, en zo klinkt de track ook bij momenten, alhoewel Sternlumen het niet kan laten om opnieuw een prachtige melodie uit de piano tevoorschijn te toveren: breed qua opzet, speels en tegelijk donker en dreigend met halverwege een reeks nadrukkelijke gitzwarte accenten, gevolgd door een welluidende passage die wordt verdronken in een zee van droneachtig pianogeluid voor de finale. In de eindsong My Mind is not Where I am but Should Be klaart de hemel weer op: een melodie voor een barok sprookje met brede en wervelende jurken, gouden koetsen en een verloren schoentje. Lichtjes bombastisch maar bloedmooi en indrukwekkend.

Zes heel erg mooie composities van een perfecte pianist. Hij heet Sternlumen, net zoals het album.

Tracklisting:
1 Grossstadtkosmonaut
2 Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory
3 Metronomsdiskussion
4 Yellow Red Skies (En Morgen på Christiania)
5 Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals
6 My Mind is not Where I am but Should be

www.sternlumen.com

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever