tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : STERNLUMEN - Sternlumen

STERNLUMEN

Sternlumen

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Sternlumen is the moniker of the German composer and pianist Thomas Kudela. His debut album Sternlumen was made in Copenhagen, Denmark, and contains six tracks, which he describes as soundtracks for short movies that only exist in his own mind and that hopefully will inspire the listener to evoke his own images and moods.

Sternlumen's instrument is the piano, and we must admit that he writes beautiful compositions. Grossstadtkosmonaut begins as a dark and emphatic track, and then evolves into a smooth, great-sounding and flawlessly played instrumental, suggesting images of streetlights and billboards, a hesitant traffic light and then coloured flashes of neon and LED, a roller coaster through a modern metropolis. In Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory, Sternlumen combines repetitive sounds with beautiful effects, soft and hard, light and dark; it is a wide-ranging and at times melodic composition with countless variations in which all the possibilities of the piano are used.

Initially, Metronomsdiskussion floats on a fast pace of piano sounds like falling raindrops on which a descending series of notes is spread. Later, the pace decreases, quiet and dark tones come to the fore, while maintaining the repetitive nature of the composition. Yellow Red Skies (And Tomorrow på Christiania) is reminiscent of Wim Mertens. It is a beautiful and melodic composition for a quiet Sunday morning stroll through the alternative district of Christiania or through any artistic neighbourhood, when the tourists have not yet arrived and the locals are still in bed. Even the most bizarre place can be beautiful and poetic if there is peace and tranquility.

Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals suggests chaos and violence, and that's how the song sounds occasionally, although Sternlumen again provides a beautiful melody: wide in terms of design, playful and at the same time dark and threatening, with a series of explicit and jet-black accents halfway, followed by an eloquent passage, drowned in a sea of drone-like piano sounds for the final. The final track My Mind is not Where I am but Should Be is a melody for a baroque fairy tale with broad and swirling dresses, golden carriages and a lost shoe. Slightly bombastic but stunning and impressive.

Six very beautiful compositions of a perfect pianist. His name (and the name of the album) is Sternlumen. Listen to this man and his music!

Tracklisting:
1 Grossstadtkosmonaut
2 Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory
3 Metronomsdiskussion
4 Yellow Red Skies (En Morgen på Christiania)
5 Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals
6 My Mind is not Where I am but Should be

www.sternlumen.com

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Uit Kopenhagen bereikt ons het debuutalbum van Sternlumen, het alter ego van de Duitse componist en pianist Thomas Kudela. Hij omschrijft de tracks op Sternlumen als soundtracks bij korte films die alleen in z’n hoofd bestaan en waarvan hij hoopt dat de luisteraar ze op zijn manier zal voorzien van beelden en stemmingen.

Sternlumens werktuig is de piano en we moeten toegeven dat hij prachtige composities tevoorschijn tovert. Grossstadtkosmonaut begint donker en nadrukkelijk, en evolueert nadien tot een vlotte, goed klinkende en loepzuiver gespeelde instrumental waarop we ons beelden van straatverlichting en reclameborden voorstellen, een aarzelend verkeerslicht en dan veelkleurige flitsen van neon en led, een achtbaan door de moderne wereldstad. In Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory combineert Sternlumen repetitieve klanken met prachtige effecten, zacht en hard, licht en donker, een breed opgezette en bij momenten melodieuze compositie met oneindig veel variaties waarin alle mogelijkheden van de piano worden benut.

Metronomsdiskussion drijft aanvankelijk op een snel tempo met pianoklanken als vallende regendruppels waarover een dalende notenreeks is gelegd. Later neemt het tempo af en treden de rustigere donkere tonen nadrukkelijker op de voorgrond, waarbij het repetitieve karakter behouden blijft in het hoge register. Opnieuw een heel erg mooie track. Yellow Red Skies (En Morgen på Christiania) roept herinneringen op aan Wim Mertens. Het is een bloedmooie en melodieuze compositie voor een rustige zondagochtendwandeling door de alternatieve wijk Christiania of door om het even welke artiestenbuurt als de toeristen nog niet zijn gearriveerd en de bewoners nog onder de wol liggen. Zelfs de meeste bizarre plek kan mooi en poëtisch zijn als ze aan rust en stilte is prijsgegeven.

Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals voorspelt chaos en geweld, en zo klinkt de track ook bij momenten, alhoewel Sternlumen het niet kan laten om opnieuw een prachtige melodie uit de piano tevoorschijn te toveren: breed qua opzet, speels en tegelijk donker en dreigend met halverwege een reeks nadrukkelijke gitzwarte accenten, gevolgd door een welluidende passage die wordt verdronken in een zee van droneachtig pianogeluid voor de finale. In de eindsong My Mind is not Where I am but Should Be klaart de hemel weer op: een melodie voor een barok sprookje met brede en wervelende jurken, gouden koetsen en een verloren schoentje. Lichtjes bombastisch maar bloedmooi en indrukwekkend.

Zes heel erg mooie composities van een perfecte pianist. Hij heet Sternlumen, net zoals het album.

Tracklisting:
1 Grossstadtkosmonaut
2 Thomas is Deconstructing a Dream from his Memory
3 Metronomsdiskussion
4 Yellow Red Skies (En Morgen på Christiania)
5 Die letzte Nacht des Kapitals
6 My Mind is not Where I am but Should be

www.sternlumen.com

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)