tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLIND EGO - Liquid

BLIND EGO

Liquid

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Gentle Art of Music
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by Blind Ego, the side project of RPWL guitarist Wallner. It took seven years to make and it is a project because he appealed to different musicians. Wallner plays on every track and wrote all the songs. This time he uses three different singers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses and Aaron Brooks) for the vocal parts. Nevertheless, the album sounds as an integrated and relatively homogeneous production.

The level of workmanship is high. The neo-prog/metal style sounds different than RPWL and tends more to the prog of Pink Floyd. Never Escape the Storm is a ballad with beautiful guitar lines. Blackened and Tears and Laughter are prog rock thanks to the choice of the singer and the instruments. What If and Hear My Voice Out are very energetic songs. All tracks contain a certain emotionality without sounding emotional.

Liquid is a pretty strong album with great musicianship, but it takes a few listenings to blossom. So spend some time and discover the beauty of it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het derde album van Blind Ego, het zijproject van RPWL-gitarist Wallner. Zeven jaar zitten er tussen nummer twee en drie. Dit is een project omdat hij met een wisselende bezettingen werkt. Wallner zelf is zowat de enige constante die tevensde tracks componeert. Deze keer maakt hij gebruik van drie verschillende zangers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses en Aaron Brooks)voor de vocals. Desondanks klinkt het album als één geheel en vrij homogeen.

We moeten ook vertellen dat alles in een haarfijne productie is gegoten. Het niveau van het vakmanschap is hoog. De stijl is opnieuw neo-prog/metal maar klinkt anders dan bij RPWL dat eerder naar de prog van Pink Floyd neigt. Never Escape the Storm is een mooi opgebouwde ballade met een mooie gitaarlijn. Blackened en Tears and Laughter gaan richting progrock, mede door de keuze van de zanger en de instrumenten. What If en Hear My Voice Out zijn de meer energieke tracks. Alle songs bevatten een zekere emotionaliteit zonder emotioneel te klinken. Beter dan dat kan ik het niet omschrijven.

Liquid is een vrij sterk album waarop op hoog niveau gemusiceerd wordt, maar dat wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig heeft om helemaal open te bloeien. Geef het dus wat tijd en je ontdekt de schoonheid ervan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes