tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLIND EGO - Liquid

BLIND EGO

Liquid

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Gentle Art of Music
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by Blind Ego, the side project of RPWL guitarist Wallner. It took seven years to make and it is a project because he appealed to different musicians. Wallner plays on every track and wrote all the songs. This time he uses three different singers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses and Aaron Brooks) for the vocal parts. Nevertheless, the album sounds as an integrated and relatively homogeneous production.

The level of workmanship is high. The neo-prog/metal style sounds different than RPWL and tends more to the prog of Pink Floyd. Never Escape the Storm is a ballad with beautiful guitar lines. Blackened and Tears and Laughter are prog rock thanks to the choice of the singer and the instruments. What If and Hear My Voice Out are very energetic songs. All tracks contain a certain emotionality without sounding emotional.

Liquid is a pretty strong album with great musicianship, but it takes a few listenings to blossom. So spend some time and discover the beauty of it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het derde album van Blind Ego, het zijproject van RPWL-gitarist Wallner. Zeven jaar zitten er tussen nummer twee en drie. Dit is een project omdat hij met een wisselende bezettingen werkt. Wallner zelf is zowat de enige constante die tevensde tracks componeert. Deze keer maakt hij gebruik van drie verschillende zangers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses en Aaron Brooks)voor de vocals. Desondanks klinkt het album als één geheel en vrij homogeen.

We moeten ook vertellen dat alles in een haarfijne productie is gegoten. Het niveau van het vakmanschap is hoog. De stijl is opnieuw neo-prog/metal maar klinkt anders dan bij RPWL dat eerder naar de prog van Pink Floyd neigt. Never Escape the Storm is een mooi opgebouwde ballade met een mooie gitaarlijn. Blackened en Tears and Laughter gaan richting progrock, mede door de keuze van de zanger en de instrumenten. What If en Hear My Voice Out zijn de meer energieke tracks. Alle songs bevatten een zekere emotionaliteit zonder emotioneel te klinken. Beter dan dat kan ik het niet omschrijven.

Liquid is een vrij sterk album waarop op hoog niveau gemusiceerd wordt, maar dat wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig heeft om helemaal open te bloeien. Geef het dus wat tijd en je ontdekt de schoonheid ervan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl