tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLIND EGO - Liquid

BLIND EGO

Liquid

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Gentle Art of Music
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by Blind Ego, the side project of RPWL guitarist Wallner. It took seven years to make and it is a project because he appealed to different musicians. Wallner plays on every track and wrote all the songs. This time he uses three different singers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses and Aaron Brooks) for the vocal parts. Nevertheless, the album sounds as an integrated and relatively homogeneous production.

The level of workmanship is high. The neo-prog/metal style sounds different than RPWL and tends more to the prog of Pink Floyd. Never Escape the Storm is a ballad with beautiful guitar lines. Blackened and Tears and Laughter are prog rock thanks to the choice of the singer and the instruments. What If and Hear My Voice Out are very energetic songs. All tracks contain a certain emotionality without sounding emotional.

Liquid is a pretty strong album with great musicianship, but it takes a few listenings to blossom. So spend some time and discover the beauty of it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het derde album van Blind Ego, het zijproject van RPWL-gitarist Wallner. Zeven jaar zitten er tussen nummer twee en drie. Dit is een project omdat hij met een wisselende bezettingen werkt. Wallner zelf is zowat de enige constante die tevensde tracks componeert. Deze keer maakt hij gebruik van drie verschillende zangers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses en Aaron Brooks)voor de vocals. Desondanks klinkt het album als één geheel en vrij homogeen.

We moeten ook vertellen dat alles in een haarfijne productie is gegoten. Het niveau van het vakmanschap is hoog. De stijl is opnieuw neo-prog/metal maar klinkt anders dan bij RPWL dat eerder naar de prog van Pink Floyd neigt. Never Escape the Storm is een mooi opgebouwde ballade met een mooie gitaarlijn. Blackened en Tears and Laughter gaan richting progrock, mede door de keuze van de zanger en de instrumenten. What If en Hear My Voice Out zijn de meer energieke tracks. Alle songs bevatten een zekere emotionaliteit zonder emotioneel te klinken. Beter dan dat kan ik het niet omschrijven.

Liquid is een vrij sterk album waarop op hoog niveau gemusiceerd wordt, maar dat wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig heeft om helemaal open te bloeien. Geef het dus wat tijd en je ontdekt de schoonheid ervan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes