tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLIND EGO - Liquid

BLIND EGO

Liquid

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Gentle Art of Music
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by Blind Ego, the side project of RPWL guitarist Wallner. It took seven years to make and it is a project because he appealed to different musicians. Wallner plays on every track and wrote all the songs. This time he uses three different singers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses and Aaron Brooks) for the vocal parts. Nevertheless, the album sounds as an integrated and relatively homogeneous production.

The level of workmanship is high. The neo-prog/metal style sounds different than RPWL and tends more to the prog of Pink Floyd. Never Escape the Storm is a ballad with beautiful guitar lines. Blackened and Tears and Laughter are prog rock thanks to the choice of the singer and the instruments. What If and Hear My Voice Out are very energetic songs. All tracks contain a certain emotionality without sounding emotional.

Liquid is a pretty strong album with great musicianship, but it takes a few listenings to blossom. So spend some time and discover the beauty of it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het derde album van Blind Ego, het zijproject van RPWL-gitarist Wallner. Zeven jaar zitten er tussen nummer twee en drie. Dit is een project omdat hij met een wisselende bezettingen werkt. Wallner zelf is zowat de enige constante die tevensde tracks componeert. Deze keer maakt hij gebruik van drie verschillende zangers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses en Aaron Brooks)voor de vocals. Desondanks klinkt het album als één geheel en vrij homogeen.

We moeten ook vertellen dat alles in een haarfijne productie is gegoten. Het niveau van het vakmanschap is hoog. De stijl is opnieuw neo-prog/metal maar klinkt anders dan bij RPWL dat eerder naar de prog van Pink Floyd neigt. Never Escape the Storm is een mooi opgebouwde ballade met een mooie gitaarlijn. Blackened en Tears and Laughter gaan richting progrock, mede door de keuze van de zanger en de instrumenten. What If en Hear My Voice Out zijn de meer energieke tracks. Alle songs bevatten een zekere emotionaliteit zonder emotioneel te klinken. Beter dan dat kan ik het niet omschrijven.

Liquid is een vrij sterk album waarop op hoog niveau gemusiceerd wordt, maar dat wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig heeft om helemaal open te bloeien. Geef het dus wat tijd en je ontdekt de schoonheid ervan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected