tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLIND EGO - Liquid

BLIND EGO

Liquid

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Gentle Art of Music
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by Blind Ego, the side project of RPWL guitarist Wallner. It took seven years to make and it is a project because he appealed to different musicians. Wallner plays on every track and wrote all the songs. This time he uses three different singers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses and Aaron Brooks) for the vocal parts. Nevertheless, the album sounds as an integrated and relatively homogeneous production.

The level of workmanship is high. The neo-prog/metal style sounds different than RPWL and tends more to the prog of Pink Floyd. Never Escape the Storm is a ballad with beautiful guitar lines. Blackened and Tears and Laughter are prog rock thanks to the choice of the singer and the instruments. What If and Hear My Voice Out are very energetic songs. All tracks contain a certain emotionality without sounding emotional.

Liquid is a pretty strong album with great musicianship, but it takes a few listenings to blossom. So spend some time and discover the beauty of it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het derde album van Blind Ego, het zijproject van RPWL-gitarist Wallner. Zeven jaar zitten er tussen nummer twee en drie. Dit is een project omdat hij met een wisselende bezettingen werkt. Wallner zelf is zowat de enige constante die tevensde tracks componeert. Deze keer maakt hij gebruik van drie verschillende zangers (Erik Blomvist, Arno Menses en Aaron Brooks)voor de vocals. Desondanks klinkt het album als één geheel en vrij homogeen.

We moeten ook vertellen dat alles in een haarfijne productie is gegoten. Het niveau van het vakmanschap is hoog. De stijl is opnieuw neo-prog/metal maar klinkt anders dan bij RPWL dat eerder naar de prog van Pink Floyd neigt. Never Escape the Storm is een mooi opgebouwde ballade met een mooie gitaarlijn. Blackened en Tears and Laughter gaan richting progrock, mede door de keuze van de zanger en de instrumenten. What If en Hear My Voice Out zijn de meer energieke tracks. Alle songs bevatten een zekere emotionaliteit zonder emotioneel te klinken. Beter dan dat kan ik het niet omschrijven.

Liquid is een vrij sterk album waarop op hoog niveau gemusiceerd wordt, maar dat wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig heeft om helemaal open te bloeien. Geef het dus wat tijd en je ontdekt de schoonheid ervan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco