tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

SEVERED HEADS

Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)

MusicCD
11/12/2016, Arjen GROOTEMAN

EN

We were pleasantly surprised to see that not only old man like us where visiting Oedipus on October 22nd for a hot concert of Electronic Dance Music with bands that were populair in the eighties like Severed Heads. It was organized by Red Light Radio and presented as a Dark Entries Special in the context of the Dance Event ADE in Amsterdam North at the Gedempt Hamerkanaal 85. The show was opened by Parrish Smith, who warmed us up for Severed Heads.

We had already seen Severed Heads in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan' and we wwere devastated. This Australian electronic band is known for penetrating repetitive tape loops and refashioned synthesizers, completed with weird dialogs. The band has a very small but enthousiastic audience. We heard all the hits: Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day and the newest song Stretcher. Afterwards we were wet with sweat. James Dean Brown led us to the next gig: Crash Course in Science, an intriguing band from Philadelphia, USA, which uses toy instruments, distorded guitars and kitchen tools to which singer Mallory Yago adds her transcendental lyrics, shining bright like a orchid in a colourless world. In no time the listener is captured by the brutal rhythm of synthesized trance beats and as a result it is difficult to stand still when songs like Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb and Cake In The Home are played. Final song Factory Forehead took us into a world of trance. We were a little sad afterwards, but glad to have attended this sultry evening.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


NL

Wij waren plezierig verrast te ontdekken dat niet enkel oude mannen zoals wij Oedipus bezochten in tijden waarin de Electronic Dance Music uiterst populair is. We waren extra blij omdat bands die in de jaren 80 operatief waren in het Electronic Body Music genre nog steeds actief zijn. Deze keer trokken we op 22 oktober naar Oedipus in Amsterdam Noord op het Gedempte Hamerkanaal 85.

Het concert, georganiseerd door Red Light Radio, werd gepresenteerd door de Dark Entries Special ter completering van het Amsterdamse Dance Event ADE. De avond werd geopend door Parrish Smith die ons met snoeiharde machinale beats opwarmde voor de band Severed Heads, die we al eens hadden gezien in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan', waar we toen het prettig gevoel hadden iets bijzonders te hebben beleefd. Deze uit Australië afkomstige electronische band is bekend om zijn indringende repeterende tapeloops, vervormde synthesizers en prikkelende dialogen.

Het is een moeilijk toegankelijke muziekstijl, maar de band beschikt over een groep zeer toegewijde en enthousiaste fans. Severed Heads speelde al zijn meest bekende songs zoals Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day en natuurlijk de nieuwste song Stretcher. Onze ruggen waren achteraf nat van het zweet. James Dean Brown hielp ons met passende muziek naar de volgende kraker van de avond: Crash Course in Science, een zeer intrigerende band uit Philadelphia, USA, met een geheel eigen benadering van muziek en een uniek geluid. Gebruikt worden kinderinstrumenten, keukenapparaten en verwrongen gitaren, waarover zangeres Mallory Yago haar transcendentale zangpartijen gooit. Ze klinkt zoals een orchidee in de jungle die uit zijn saaie omgeving spettert. Het duurt niet lang voordat de luisteraar meegenomen wordt in de keiharde ritmes van synthesized trancebeats en het is dan ook onmogelijk om stil te blijven staan. De muziek van Crash Course in Science sleurde ons met songs als Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb en Cake In The Home de fantastische wereld van trance in. Met Factory Forehead als afsluiter voelden wij ons enigszins droevig op het einde, maar erg blij deze zeer broeierige avond te hebben bijgewoond.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death