tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

SEVERED HEADS

Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)

MusicCD
11/12/2016, Arjen GROOTEMAN

EN

We were pleasantly surprised to see that not only old man like us where visiting Oedipus on October 22nd for a hot concert of Electronic Dance Music with bands that were populair in the eighties like Severed Heads. It was organized by Red Light Radio and presented as a Dark Entries Special in the context of the Dance Event ADE in Amsterdam North at the Gedempt Hamerkanaal 85. The show was opened by Parrish Smith, who warmed us up for Severed Heads.

We had already seen Severed Heads in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan' and we wwere devastated. This Australian electronic band is known for penetrating repetitive tape loops and refashioned synthesizers, completed with weird dialogs. The band has a very small but enthousiastic audience. We heard all the hits: Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day and the newest song Stretcher. Afterwards we were wet with sweat. James Dean Brown led us to the next gig: Crash Course in Science, an intriguing band from Philadelphia, USA, which uses toy instruments, distorded guitars and kitchen tools to which singer Mallory Yago adds her transcendental lyrics, shining bright like a orchid in a colourless world. In no time the listener is captured by the brutal rhythm of synthesized trance beats and as a result it is difficult to stand still when songs like Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb and Cake In The Home are played. Final song Factory Forehead took us into a world of trance. We were a little sad afterwards, but glad to have attended this sultry evening.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


NL

Wij waren plezierig verrast te ontdekken dat niet enkel oude mannen zoals wij Oedipus bezochten in tijden waarin de Electronic Dance Music uiterst populair is. We waren extra blij omdat bands die in de jaren 80 operatief waren in het Electronic Body Music genre nog steeds actief zijn. Deze keer trokken we op 22 oktober naar Oedipus in Amsterdam Noord op het Gedempte Hamerkanaal 85.

Het concert, georganiseerd door Red Light Radio, werd gepresenteerd door de Dark Entries Special ter completering van het Amsterdamse Dance Event ADE. De avond werd geopend door Parrish Smith die ons met snoeiharde machinale beats opwarmde voor de band Severed Heads, die we al eens hadden gezien in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan', waar we toen het prettig gevoel hadden iets bijzonders te hebben beleefd. Deze uit Australië afkomstige electronische band is bekend om zijn indringende repeterende tapeloops, vervormde synthesizers en prikkelende dialogen.

Het is een moeilijk toegankelijke muziekstijl, maar de band beschikt over een groep zeer toegewijde en enthousiaste fans. Severed Heads speelde al zijn meest bekende songs zoals Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day en natuurlijk de nieuwste song Stretcher. Onze ruggen waren achteraf nat van het zweet. James Dean Brown hielp ons met passende muziek naar de volgende kraker van de avond: Crash Course in Science, een zeer intrigerende band uit Philadelphia, USA, met een geheel eigen benadering van muziek en een uniek geluid. Gebruikt worden kinderinstrumenten, keukenapparaten en verwrongen gitaren, waarover zangeres Mallory Yago haar transcendentale zangpartijen gooit. Ze klinkt zoals een orchidee in de jungle die uit zijn saaie omgeving spettert. Het duurt niet lang voordat de luisteraar meegenomen wordt in de keiharde ritmes van synthesized trancebeats en het is dan ook onmogelijk om stil te blijven staan. De muziek van Crash Course in Science sleurde ons met songs als Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb en Cake In The Home de fantastische wereld van trance in. Met Factory Forehead als afsluiter voelden wij ons enigszins droevig op het einde, maar erg blij deze zeer broeierige avond te hebben bijgewoond.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning