tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

SEVERED HEADS

Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)

MusicCD
11/12/2016, Arjen GROOTEMAN

EN

We were pleasantly surprised to see that not only old man like us where visiting Oedipus on October 22nd for a hot concert of Electronic Dance Music with bands that were populair in the eighties like Severed Heads. It was organized by Red Light Radio and presented as a Dark Entries Special in the context of the Dance Event ADE in Amsterdam North at the Gedempt Hamerkanaal 85. The show was opened by Parrish Smith, who warmed us up for Severed Heads.

We had already seen Severed Heads in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan' and we wwere devastated. This Australian electronic band is known for penetrating repetitive tape loops and refashioned synthesizers, completed with weird dialogs. The band has a very small but enthousiastic audience. We heard all the hits: Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day and the newest song Stretcher. Afterwards we were wet with sweat. James Dean Brown led us to the next gig: Crash Course in Science, an intriguing band from Philadelphia, USA, which uses toy instruments, distorded guitars and kitchen tools to which singer Mallory Yago adds her transcendental lyrics, shining bright like a orchid in a colourless world. In no time the listener is captured by the brutal rhythm of synthesized trance beats and as a result it is difficult to stand still when songs like Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb and Cake In The Home are played. Final song Factory Forehead took us into a world of trance. We were a little sad afterwards, but glad to have attended this sultry evening.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


NL

Wij waren plezierig verrast te ontdekken dat niet enkel oude mannen zoals wij Oedipus bezochten in tijden waarin de Electronic Dance Music uiterst populair is. We waren extra blij omdat bands die in de jaren 80 operatief waren in het Electronic Body Music genre nog steeds actief zijn. Deze keer trokken we op 22 oktober naar Oedipus in Amsterdam Noord op het Gedempte Hamerkanaal 85.

Het concert, georganiseerd door Red Light Radio, werd gepresenteerd door de Dark Entries Special ter completering van het Amsterdamse Dance Event ADE. De avond werd geopend door Parrish Smith die ons met snoeiharde machinale beats opwarmde voor de band Severed Heads, die we al eens hadden gezien in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan', waar we toen het prettig gevoel hadden iets bijzonders te hebben beleefd. Deze uit Australië afkomstige electronische band is bekend om zijn indringende repeterende tapeloops, vervormde synthesizers en prikkelende dialogen.

Het is een moeilijk toegankelijke muziekstijl, maar de band beschikt over een groep zeer toegewijde en enthousiaste fans. Severed Heads speelde al zijn meest bekende songs zoals Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day en natuurlijk de nieuwste song Stretcher. Onze ruggen waren achteraf nat van het zweet. James Dean Brown hielp ons met passende muziek naar de volgende kraker van de avond: Crash Course in Science, een zeer intrigerende band uit Philadelphia, USA, met een geheel eigen benadering van muziek en een uniek geluid. Gebruikt worden kinderinstrumenten, keukenapparaten en verwrongen gitaren, waarover zangeres Mallory Yago haar transcendentale zangpartijen gooit. Ze klinkt zoals een orchidee in de jungle die uit zijn saaie omgeving spettert. Het duurt niet lang voordat de luisteraar meegenomen wordt in de keiharde ritmes van synthesized trancebeats en het is dan ook onmogelijk om stil te blijven staan. De muziek van Crash Course in Science sleurde ons met songs als Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb en Cake In The Home de fantastische wereld van trance in. Met Factory Forehead als afsluiter voelden wij ons enigszins droevig op het einde, maar erg blij deze zeer broeierige avond te hebben bijgewoond.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked