tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

SEVERED HEADS

Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)

MusicCD
11/12/2016, Arjen GROOTEMAN

EN

We were pleasantly surprised to see that not only old man like us where visiting Oedipus on October 22nd for a hot concert of Electronic Dance Music with bands that were populair in the eighties like Severed Heads. It was organized by Red Light Radio and presented as a Dark Entries Special in the context of the Dance Event ADE in Amsterdam North at the Gedempt Hamerkanaal 85. The show was opened by Parrish Smith, who warmed us up for Severed Heads.

We had already seen Severed Heads in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan' and we wwere devastated. This Australian electronic band is known for penetrating repetitive tape loops and refashioned synthesizers, completed with weird dialogs. The band has a very small but enthousiastic audience. We heard all the hits: Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day and the newest song Stretcher. Afterwards we were wet with sweat. James Dean Brown led us to the next gig: Crash Course in Science, an intriguing band from Philadelphia, USA, which uses toy instruments, distorded guitars and kitchen tools to which singer Mallory Yago adds her transcendental lyrics, shining bright like a orchid in a colourless world. In no time the listener is captured by the brutal rhythm of synthesized trance beats and as a result it is difficult to stand still when songs like Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb and Cake In The Home are played. Final song Factory Forehead took us into a world of trance. We were a little sad afterwards, but glad to have attended this sultry evening.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


NL

Wij waren plezierig verrast te ontdekken dat niet enkel oude mannen zoals wij Oedipus bezochten in tijden waarin de Electronic Dance Music uiterst populair is. We waren extra blij omdat bands die in de jaren 80 operatief waren in het Electronic Body Music genre nog steeds actief zijn. Deze keer trokken we op 22 oktober naar Oedipus in Amsterdam Noord op het Gedempte Hamerkanaal 85.

Het concert, georganiseerd door Red Light Radio, werd gepresenteerd door de Dark Entries Special ter completering van het Amsterdamse Dance Event ADE. De avond werd geopend door Parrish Smith die ons met snoeiharde machinale beats opwarmde voor de band Severed Heads, die we al eens hadden gezien in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan', waar we toen het prettig gevoel hadden iets bijzonders te hebben beleefd. Deze uit Australië afkomstige electronische band is bekend om zijn indringende repeterende tapeloops, vervormde synthesizers en prikkelende dialogen.

Het is een moeilijk toegankelijke muziekstijl, maar de band beschikt over een groep zeer toegewijde en enthousiaste fans. Severed Heads speelde al zijn meest bekende songs zoals Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day en natuurlijk de nieuwste song Stretcher. Onze ruggen waren achteraf nat van het zweet. James Dean Brown hielp ons met passende muziek naar de volgende kraker van de avond: Crash Course in Science, een zeer intrigerende band uit Philadelphia, USA, met een geheel eigen benadering van muziek en een uniek geluid. Gebruikt worden kinderinstrumenten, keukenapparaten en verwrongen gitaren, waarover zangeres Mallory Yago haar transcendentale zangpartijen gooit. Ze klinkt zoals een orchidee in de jungle die uit zijn saaie omgeving spettert. Het duurt niet lang voordat de luisteraar meegenomen wordt in de keiharde ritmes van synthesized trancebeats en het is dan ook onmogelijk om stil te blijven staan. De muziek van Crash Course in Science sleurde ons met songs als Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb en Cake In The Home de fantastische wereld van trance in. Met Factory Forehead als afsluiter voelden wij ons enigszins droevig op het einde, maar erg blij deze zeer broeierige avond te hebben bijgewoond.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus