tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

SEVERED HEADS

Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)

MusicCD
11/12/2016, Arjen GROOTEMAN

EN

We were pleasantly surprised to see that not only old man like us where visiting Oedipus on October 22nd for a hot concert of Electronic Dance Music with bands that were populair in the eighties like Severed Heads. It was organized by Red Light Radio and presented as a Dark Entries Special in the context of the Dance Event ADE in Amsterdam North at the Gedempt Hamerkanaal 85. The show was opened by Parrish Smith, who warmed us up for Severed Heads.

We had already seen Severed Heads in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan' and we wwere devastated. This Australian electronic band is known for penetrating repetitive tape loops and refashioned synthesizers, completed with weird dialogs. The band has a very small but enthousiastic audience. We heard all the hits: Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day and the newest song Stretcher. Afterwards we were wet with sweat. James Dean Brown led us to the next gig: Crash Course in Science, an intriguing band from Philadelphia, USA, which uses toy instruments, distorded guitars and kitchen tools to which singer Mallory Yago adds her transcendental lyrics, shining bright like a orchid in a colourless world. In no time the listener is captured by the brutal rhythm of synthesized trance beats and as a result it is difficult to stand still when songs like Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb and Cake In The Home are played. Final song Factory Forehead took us into a world of trance. We were a little sad afterwards, but glad to have attended this sultry evening.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


NL

Wij waren plezierig verrast te ontdekken dat niet enkel oude mannen zoals wij Oedipus bezochten in tijden waarin de Electronic Dance Music uiterst populair is. We waren extra blij omdat bands die in de jaren 80 operatief waren in het Electronic Body Music genre nog steeds actief zijn. Deze keer trokken we op 22 oktober naar Oedipus in Amsterdam Noord op het Gedempte Hamerkanaal 85.

Het concert, georganiseerd door Red Light Radio, werd gepresenteerd door de Dark Entries Special ter completering van het Amsterdamse Dance Event ADE. De avond werd geopend door Parrish Smith die ons met snoeiharde machinale beats opwarmde voor de band Severed Heads, die we al eens hadden gezien in 1984 in 'de Pelikaan', waar we toen het prettig gevoel hadden iets bijzonders te hebben beleefd. Deze uit Australië afkomstige electronische band is bekend om zijn indringende repeterende tapeloops, vervormde synthesizers en prikkelende dialogen.

Het is een moeilijk toegankelijke muziekstijl, maar de band beschikt over een groep zeer toegewijde en enthousiaste fans. Severed Heads speelde al zijn meest bekende songs zoals Petrol, Dead Eyes Open, Big Car, All Saints Day en natuurlijk de nieuwste song Stretcher. Onze ruggen waren achteraf nat van het zweet. James Dean Brown hielp ons met passende muziek naar de volgende kraker van de avond: Crash Course in Science, een zeer intrigerende band uit Philadelphia, USA, met een geheel eigen benadering van muziek en een uniek geluid. Gebruikt worden kinderinstrumenten, keukenapparaten en verwrongen gitaren, waarover zangeres Mallory Yago haar transcendentale zangpartijen gooit. Ze klinkt zoals een orchidee in de jungle die uit zijn saaie omgeving spettert. Het duurt niet lang voordat de luisteraar meegenomen wordt in de keiharde ritmes van synthesized trancebeats en het is dan ook onmogelijk om stil te blijven staan. De muziek van Crash Course in Science sleurde ons met songs als Flying Turns, Cardboard Lamb en Cake In The Home de fantastische wereld van trance in. Met Factory Forehead als afsluiter voelden wij ons enigszins droevig op het einde, maar erg blij deze zeer broeierige avond te hebben bijgewoond.

Arjen GROOTEMAN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire