tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : STRUGG - Flood

STRUGG

Flood

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[78/100]   

DarkSun Prod
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months after the EP Disorders in Progress, the industrial rock duo Strugg has released the full album Flood. In fact, this album is a combination of two EPs, because apart from five new tracks, the album contains four songs from the EP Disorders in Progress and it sounds perfect.

The opener Pull Me Out was a ligitimate single. It's one of the most accessible and catchy songs on the album. For the rest we hear a mix of rock guitars, grunge influences, electr industrial synths and beats, together with strained and distorted-sounding vocals. This blend has an industrial/electronic basis. There are no outstanding songs on this album, nor weak tracks. Everything sounds pretty energetic and if Strugg is able to do this live, the performances will be real partiesy.

Flood is a decent album with some quite nice and quirky music. The chance to see Strugg on stage is not entirely non-existent, because the band plays in the Lowlands now and then (Dour, Liège...).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Enkele maanden na de ep Disorders in Progress, brengt het industrial rockduo Strugg z'n full album Flood uit. In feite kan je dit album de samenvoegen van twee ep’s noemen, want naast 5 nieuwe tracks staan er vier van de ep Disorders in Progress op deze release. Doch het album klinkt wel als één geheel.

De opener Pull Me Out is terecht als single uitgebracht. Het is één van de meest toegankelijke en catchy songs op het album. Voor de rest horen we een mengeling van rockgitaren, grunge-invloeden, electro/industrial synths en beats, samen met de gespannen en vervormd klinkende vocals. Deze mix heeft een industrial/electronic basis. Er springen niet echt tracks uit, maar er staan ook niet echt zwakke songs tussen. Alles klinkt best energiek en als Strugg daartoe ook live in staat is, dan wordt een optreden beslist een feestje.

Flood is een degelijk album met prettige en eigenzinnige muziek. De kans om de band aan het werk te zien is niet geheel onbestaande, want Strugg doet nu en dan ook de lage landen aan (Dour, Luik…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On