tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : STRUGG - Flood

STRUGG

Flood

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[78/100]   

DarkSun Prod
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months after the EP Disorders in Progress, the industrial rock duo Strugg has released the full album Flood. In fact, this album is a combination of two EPs, because apart from five new tracks, the album contains four songs from the EP Disorders in Progress and it sounds perfect.

The opener Pull Me Out was a ligitimate single. It's one of the most accessible and catchy songs on the album. For the rest we hear a mix of rock guitars, grunge influences, electr industrial synths and beats, together with strained and distorted-sounding vocals. This blend has an industrial/electronic basis. There are no outstanding songs on this album, nor weak tracks. Everything sounds pretty energetic and if Strugg is able to do this live, the performances will be real partiesy.

Flood is a decent album with some quite nice and quirky music. The chance to see Strugg on stage is not entirely non-existent, because the band plays in the Lowlands now and then (Dour, Liège...).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Enkele maanden na de ep Disorders in Progress, brengt het industrial rockduo Strugg z'n full album Flood uit. In feite kan je dit album de samenvoegen van twee ep’s noemen, want naast 5 nieuwe tracks staan er vier van de ep Disorders in Progress op deze release. Doch het album klinkt wel als één geheel.

De opener Pull Me Out is terecht als single uitgebracht. Het is één van de meest toegankelijke en catchy songs op het album. Voor de rest horen we een mengeling van rockgitaren, grunge-invloeden, electro/industrial synths en beats, samen met de gespannen en vervormd klinkende vocals. Deze mix heeft een industrial/electronic basis. Er springen niet echt tracks uit, maar er staan ook niet echt zwakke songs tussen. Alles klinkt best energiek en als Strugg daartoe ook live in staat is, dan wordt een optreden beslist een feestje.

Flood is een degelijk album met prettige en eigenzinnige muziek. De kans om de band aan het werk te zien is niet geheel onbestaande, want Strugg doet nu en dan ook de lage landen aan (Dour, Luik…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone