tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : STRUGG - Flood

STRUGG

Flood

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[78/100]   

DarkSun Prod
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months after the EP Disorders in Progress, the industrial rock duo Strugg has released the full album Flood. In fact, this album is a combination of two EPs, because apart from five new tracks, the album contains four songs from the EP Disorders in Progress and it sounds perfect.

The opener Pull Me Out was a ligitimate single. It's one of the most accessible and catchy songs on the album. For the rest we hear a mix of rock guitars, grunge influences, electr industrial synths and beats, together with strained and distorted-sounding vocals. This blend has an industrial/electronic basis. There are no outstanding songs on this album, nor weak tracks. Everything sounds pretty energetic and if Strugg is able to do this live, the performances will be real partiesy.

Flood is a decent album with some quite nice and quirky music. The chance to see Strugg on stage is not entirely non-existent, because the band plays in the Lowlands now and then (Dour, Liège...).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Enkele maanden na de ep Disorders in Progress, brengt het industrial rockduo Strugg z'n full album Flood uit. In feite kan je dit album de samenvoegen van twee ep’s noemen, want naast 5 nieuwe tracks staan er vier van de ep Disorders in Progress op deze release. Doch het album klinkt wel als één geheel.

De opener Pull Me Out is terecht als single uitgebracht. Het is één van de meest toegankelijke en catchy songs op het album. Voor de rest horen we een mengeling van rockgitaren, grunge-invloeden, electro/industrial synths en beats, samen met de gespannen en vervormd klinkende vocals. Deze mix heeft een industrial/electronic basis. Er springen niet echt tracks uit, maar er staan ook niet echt zwakke songs tussen. Alles klinkt best energiek en als Strugg daartoe ook live in staat is, dan wordt een optreden beslist een feestje.

Flood is een degelijk album met prettige en eigenzinnige muziek. De kans om de band aan het werk te zien is niet geheel onbestaande, want Strugg doet nu en dan ook de lage landen aan (Dour, Luik…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover