tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : STRUGG - Flood

STRUGG

Flood

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[78/100]   

DarkSun Prod
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months after the EP Disorders in Progress, the industrial rock duo Strugg has released the full album Flood. In fact, this album is a combination of two EPs, because apart from five new tracks, the album contains four songs from the EP Disorders in Progress and it sounds perfect.

The opener Pull Me Out was a ligitimate single. It's one of the most accessible and catchy songs on the album. For the rest we hear a mix of rock guitars, grunge influences, electr industrial synths and beats, together with strained and distorted-sounding vocals. This blend has an industrial/electronic basis. There are no outstanding songs on this album, nor weak tracks. Everything sounds pretty energetic and if Strugg is able to do this live, the performances will be real partiesy.

Flood is a decent album with some quite nice and quirky music. The chance to see Strugg on stage is not entirely non-existent, because the band plays in the Lowlands now and then (Dour, Liège...).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Enkele maanden na de ep Disorders in Progress, brengt het industrial rockduo Strugg z'n full album Flood uit. In feite kan je dit album de samenvoegen van twee ep’s noemen, want naast 5 nieuwe tracks staan er vier van de ep Disorders in Progress op deze release. Doch het album klinkt wel als één geheel.

De opener Pull Me Out is terecht als single uitgebracht. Het is één van de meest toegankelijke en catchy songs op het album. Voor de rest horen we een mengeling van rockgitaren, grunge-invloeden, electro/industrial synths en beats, samen met de gespannen en vervormd klinkende vocals. Deze mix heeft een industrial/electronic basis. Er springen niet echt tracks uit, maar er staan ook niet echt zwakke songs tussen. Alles klinkt best energiek en als Strugg daartoe ook live in staat is, dan wordt een optreden beslist een feestje.

Flood is een degelijk album met prettige en eigenzinnige muziek. De kans om de band aan het werk te zien is niet geheel onbestaande, want Strugg doet nu en dan ook de lage landen aan (Dour, Luik…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion