tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/11/2014 : TRUE ZEBRA - Adoremotion

TRUE ZEBRA

Adoremotion

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[90/100]   

Self-released
09/11/2014, Peter HESELMANS

True Zebra was one of my last year’s discoveries. I saw Kevin already a few times on stage, and although I see lots of bands, he still manages to surprise me. His style is a mixture of electro rock and dance, with even some industrial influences.

With his second full album ‘Adoremotion’ he composes eight songs (nine on the limited Bandcamp-edition), all in different styles and genres, but especially creating his own special True Zebra-sound.

Opening with the track ‘Push’, slowly build up synth sounds, nice pounding beats, repetitive loops together with Kevin’s voice. Just a perfect opener. Maybe the most danceable and commercial track of the album, but already a nice example of what can be expected next on this album. More electronics, even some minimal influences on ‘Shame’, darker but still lots of rhythms to make you move.

On ‘Forget’, and ‘Hunt’ Kevin is in a more ‘guitar’ mood, and that brings Nine Inch Nails to mind. Sometimes even his voice reminds me of Trent Reznor, I think they are big influences on True Zebra.

My personal favourite on this album is ‘Transition’, a perfect rhythmic track, dark synths, tight grooves, sparkles of guitar, all perfectly harmonizing with Kevin's voice.

It’s a shame that this guy doesn’t have a big record deal yet, his music is so intense and intelligent. Kevin Strauwens’ alternative view on this electro rock album is unique, and the amazing soundscapes are really worth listening to.

Tracks :

  1. Push
  2. Shame
  3. Forget
  4. Feel
  5. Hunt
  6. Happen
  7. Lose
  8. Transition
  9. Make

truezebra.bandcamp.com
www.truezebra.com

Peter HESELMANS
09/11/2014


Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr