tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/11/2014 : TRUE ZEBRA - Adoremotion

TRUE ZEBRA

Adoremotion

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[90/100]   

Self-released
09/11/2014, Peter HESELMANS

True Zebra was one of my last year’s discoveries. I saw Kevin already a few times on stage, and although I see lots of bands, he still manages to surprise me. His style is a mixture of electro rock and dance, with even some industrial influences.

With his second full album ‘Adoremotion’ he composes eight songs (nine on the limited Bandcamp-edition), all in different styles and genres, but especially creating his own special True Zebra-sound.

Opening with the track ‘Push’, slowly build up synth sounds, nice pounding beats, repetitive loops together with Kevin’s voice. Just a perfect opener. Maybe the most danceable and commercial track of the album, but already a nice example of what can be expected next on this album. More electronics, even some minimal influences on ‘Shame’, darker but still lots of rhythms to make you move.

On ‘Forget’, and ‘Hunt’ Kevin is in a more ‘guitar’ mood, and that brings Nine Inch Nails to mind. Sometimes even his voice reminds me of Trent Reznor, I think they are big influences on True Zebra.

My personal favourite on this album is ‘Transition’, a perfect rhythmic track, dark synths, tight grooves, sparkles of guitar, all perfectly harmonizing with Kevin's voice.

It’s a shame that this guy doesn’t have a big record deal yet, his music is so intense and intelligent. Kevin Strauwens’ alternative view on this electro rock album is unique, and the amazing soundscapes are really worth listening to.

Tracks :

  1. Push
  2. Shame
  3. Forget
  4. Feel
  5. Hunt
  6. Happen
  7. Lose
  8. Transition
  9. Make

truezebra.bandcamp.com
www.truezebra.com

Peter HESELMANS
09/11/2014


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void