tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : TRUE ZEBRA - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TRUE ZEBRA

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was exactly 10 years ago when the first Belgian Independent Music Festival took place at the Hof ter loo venue, with Suicide Commando, Neon Judgement, Vomito Negro, Dive, A Split Second, etc. This year, it is therefore the 11th edition of this really unique festival, aimed at promoting local independent bands from the 'dark scene'. Organized by BodyBeats Production and supported by the media partners Peek-a-Boo Magazine & Dark Entries Magazine, the event attracted several hundreds of fans from Belgium, Germany, Holland, France and even further! A real success!

True Zebra, aka Kevin Strauwen, had the honor of opening the program. Strauwen is a multi-instrumentist, songwriter, engineer and producer from Flanders, who received amazing reviews with his official self-released digital debut album as True Zebra. Alone on the stage, Strauwen switched from keyboards to bass and guitar, all this while doing all the vocals: a real performance. He played mostly songs from his album, plus three new songs, "The Shame", "Happen" and "Push It". Conceived as rock but mistaken with electronic tries and techniques, True Zebra transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock scene with tight-grooves, industrial-esque rhythms and spookish melodies. Watch True Zebra performing "Revelation".

True Zebra's music evokes Nince Inch Nails, especially on "The Silence", but also Iamx. Good references, you will admit! To finish his act, Strauwen played a remix version of his hit "Delirious". A truly promising show! We are looking forward to the next record! The setlist was: 1.sounds easy, 2.everybody needs, 3.revelation, 4.get out, 5.the shame (new), 6.happen (new), 7.the silence, 8.under control, 9.push it (new), 10.delirious

We had a short interview with Kevin Strauwen after the show. Here it is! Enjoy...

www.truezebra.com/

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)