tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : TRUE ZEBRA - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TRUE ZEBRA

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was exactly 10 years ago when the first Belgian Independent Music Festival took place at the Hof ter loo venue, with Suicide Commando, Neon Judgement, Vomito Negro, Dive, A Split Second, etc. This year, it is therefore the 11th edition of this really unique festival, aimed at promoting local independent bands from the 'dark scene'. Organized by BodyBeats Production and supported by the media partners Peek-a-Boo Magazine & Dark Entries Magazine, the event attracted several hundreds of fans from Belgium, Germany, Holland, France and even further! A real success!

True Zebra, aka Kevin Strauwen, had the honor of opening the program. Strauwen is a multi-instrumentist, songwriter, engineer and producer from Flanders, who received amazing reviews with his official self-released digital debut album as True Zebra. Alone on the stage, Strauwen switched from keyboards to bass and guitar, all this while doing all the vocals: a real performance. He played mostly songs from his album, plus three new songs, "The Shame", "Happen" and "Push It". Conceived as rock but mistaken with electronic tries and techniques, True Zebra transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock scene with tight-grooves, industrial-esque rhythms and spookish melodies. Watch True Zebra performing "Revelation".

True Zebra's music evokes Nince Inch Nails, especially on "The Silence", but also Iamx. Good references, you will admit! To finish his act, Strauwen played a remix version of his hit "Delirious". A truly promising show! We are looking forward to the next record! The setlist was: 1.sounds easy, 2.everybody needs, 3.revelation, 4.get out, 5.the shame (new), 6.happen (new), 7.the silence, 8.under control, 9.push it (new), 10.delirious

We had a short interview with Kevin Strauwen after the show. Here it is! Enjoy...

www.truezebra.com/

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain