tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : TRUE ZEBRA - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TRUE ZEBRA

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was exactly 10 years ago when the first Belgian Independent Music Festival took place at the Hof ter loo venue, with Suicide Commando, Neon Judgement, Vomito Negro, Dive, A Split Second, etc. This year, it is therefore the 11th edition of this really unique festival, aimed at promoting local independent bands from the 'dark scene'. Organized by BodyBeats Production and supported by the media partners Peek-a-Boo Magazine & Dark Entries Magazine, the event attracted several hundreds of fans from Belgium, Germany, Holland, France and even further! A real success!

True Zebra, aka Kevin Strauwen, had the honor of opening the program. Strauwen is a multi-instrumentist, songwriter, engineer and producer from Flanders, who received amazing reviews with his official self-released digital debut album as True Zebra. Alone on the stage, Strauwen switched from keyboards to bass and guitar, all this while doing all the vocals: a real performance. He played mostly songs from his album, plus three new songs, "The Shame", "Happen" and "Push It". Conceived as rock but mistaken with electronic tries and techniques, True Zebra transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock scene with tight-grooves, industrial-esque rhythms and spookish melodies. Watch True Zebra performing "Revelation".

True Zebra's music evokes Nince Inch Nails, especially on "The Silence", but also Iamx. Good references, you will admit! To finish his act, Strauwen played a remix version of his hit "Delirious". A truly promising show! We are looking forward to the next record! The setlist was: 1.sounds easy, 2.everybody needs, 3.revelation, 4.get out, 5.the shame (new), 6.happen (new), 7.the silence, 8.under control, 9.push it (new), 10.delirious

We had a short interview with Kevin Strauwen after the show. Here it is! Enjoy...

www.truezebra.com/

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee