tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : TRUE ZEBRA - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TRUE ZEBRA

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was exactly 10 years ago when the first Belgian Independent Music Festival took place at the Hof ter loo venue, with Suicide Commando, Neon Judgement, Vomito Negro, Dive, A Split Second, etc. This year, it is therefore the 11th edition of this really unique festival, aimed at promoting local independent bands from the 'dark scene'. Organized by BodyBeats Production and supported by the media partners Peek-a-Boo Magazine & Dark Entries Magazine, the event attracted several hundreds of fans from Belgium, Germany, Holland, France and even further! A real success!

True Zebra, aka Kevin Strauwen, had the honor of opening the program. Strauwen is a multi-instrumentist, songwriter, engineer and producer from Flanders, who received amazing reviews with his official self-released digital debut album as True Zebra. Alone on the stage, Strauwen switched from keyboards to bass and guitar, all this while doing all the vocals: a real performance. He played mostly songs from his album, plus three new songs, "The Shame", "Happen" and "Push It". Conceived as rock but mistaken with electronic tries and techniques, True Zebra transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock scene with tight-grooves, industrial-esque rhythms and spookish melodies. Watch True Zebra performing "Revelation".

True Zebra's music evokes Nince Inch Nails, especially on "The Silence", but also Iamx. Good references, you will admit! To finish his act, Strauwen played a remix version of his hit "Delirious". A truly promising show! We are looking forward to the next record! The setlist was: 1.sounds easy, 2.everybody needs, 3.revelation, 4.get out, 5.the shame (new), 6.happen (new), 7.the silence, 8.under control, 9.push it (new), 10.delirious

We had a short interview with Kevin Strauwen after the show. Here it is! Enjoy...

www.truezebra.com/

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16
11
09
TETROLUGOSI
All The Monsters