tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : TRUE ZEBRA - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TRUE ZEBRA

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was exactly 10 years ago when the first Belgian Independent Music Festival took place at the Hof ter loo venue, with Suicide Commando, Neon Judgement, Vomito Negro, Dive, A Split Second, etc. This year, it is therefore the 11th edition of this really unique festival, aimed at promoting local independent bands from the 'dark scene'. Organized by BodyBeats Production and supported by the media partners Peek-a-Boo Magazine & Dark Entries Magazine, the event attracted several hundreds of fans from Belgium, Germany, Holland, France and even further! A real success!

True Zebra, aka Kevin Strauwen, had the honor of opening the program. Strauwen is a multi-instrumentist, songwriter, engineer and producer from Flanders, who received amazing reviews with his official self-released digital debut album as True Zebra. Alone on the stage, Strauwen switched from keyboards to bass and guitar, all this while doing all the vocals: a real performance. He played mostly songs from his album, plus three new songs, "The Shame", "Happen" and "Push It". Conceived as rock but mistaken with electronic tries and techniques, True Zebra transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock scene with tight-grooves, industrial-esque rhythms and spookish melodies. Watch True Zebra performing "Revelation".

True Zebra's music evokes Nince Inch Nails, especially on "The Silence", but also Iamx. Good references, you will admit! To finish his act, Strauwen played a remix version of his hit "Delirious". A truly promising show! We are looking forward to the next record! The setlist was: 1.sounds easy, 2.everybody needs, 3.revelation, 4.get out, 5.the shame (new), 6.happen (new), 7.the silence, 8.under control, 9.push it (new), 10.delirious

We had a short interview with Kevin Strauwen after the show. Here it is! Enjoy...

www.truezebra.com/

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection