tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

05/03/2019 : I AM A ROCKETSHIP - Mind Grafitti

I AM A ROCKETSHIP

Mind Grafitti

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockElectro RockExperimental

[90/100]   
05/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

In 2019, it is harder than ever to make a dent into the electronic and experimental music market. Artists have to be willing to work harder than ever for their art, and to have that extra ingredient that makes them stand out from their competitors.

Enter duo L.E Kippner and Eric Weissinger as I Am A Rocketship who have just released “Mind Graffiti”. The follow-up to their highly acclaimed debut “Mission Control” from 2016. This latest work stretches further into the stratosphere, with a stylish precision it contains an epic-scope of melodies built upon sublime-landscapes.

The cross pollination of Kippner and Weissinger, that Swedish-American brings a fruit of different influences to proceedings. All twelve tracks roll along as if a runaway locomotive is struggling to stay on the tracks. Opening with the fuzzed-out “Face Off”, a Lou Reed styled, simple but with deep construction which picks up tempo as it shifts gears. The striking voice of Kippner is raw, real and delivered with a hypnotic intensity.

The sounds of oceans herald the arrival of “Vertigo”, electronic drones which break into beats and dreamy vocal lines. “Intermittent” is a more straightforward rocker, whereas “Castaway” is a simple acoustic-instrumental upon crashing waves. It introduces the electro-attack of “Kick”, one of the definite standouts. Phased vocal-lines surge through the intense wilderness of music which Weissinger provides.

There is a hint of The Cranberries in “Take Your Time”, a track which swoops and soars between the relaxed and the intense. Slightly Brit-Pop in nature, those nostalgic notes are not a wholly a bad thing. The title-track is a different perspective, taking a to and fro between Kippner and Weissinger, an earthly drama, enjoyable and ethereal. Following this with a faithful cover of the Rammstein stunner-“Du Hast” which erupts in the playful madness of the original but in the style of I Am A Rocketship.

The winning ingredient on “Mind Graffiti” is variety. An effortless changing of styles between tracks, a dramatic subterfuge of music, the audience is unaware of what sound is coming next, in 2019 that in itself is an achievement. Lovers of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Gossip and at times The White Stripes will relish “Mind Graffiti”, it’s addictive charm and scope of sound is masterful and executed with perfection.


Track List;
01 Face Off
02 Vertigo
03 Intermittent
04 Hot in Here
05 Castaway
06 Kick
07 Take Your Time
08 Regret
09 Mind Grafitti
10 Du Hast
11 High Above it All
12 Closing Credits
My Long Weekend , LLC
Order;
https://iamarocketship.bandcamp.com/album/mind-grafitti

Kevin BURKE
05/03/2019


 

Next reviews
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)