tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

25/02/2019 : BLUTENGEL - UN:GOTT

BLUTENGEL

UN:GOTT

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark WaveDarkwaveElectro WaveElectropunk

[85/100]   

Out Of Line
25/02/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sound of the dark-wave masters Bluetengel rears its colossal head once more. Chris Pohl and Ulrike Goldman bring forth a release of gothic-delight, UN:Gott is a no-holds-barred reflection from the abyss.


Following on, and an almost extension of the 2013 release-Monument, the duo bring about an album crammed with an industrial driven album, crammed with apocalyptic visions and vampiric tales. At its most accessible points, the listener gets a blast of nostalgia, the Sisters Of Mercy-style of ‘Into The Void’ makes for fantastic listening, themes within the lyrics and delightfully dark
-“When will you kill me,
I wanna die for you tonight”.

The waves of electronic-density are not too far from the mix, ‘König’ drags the listener into the almost hypnotic delivery of Pohl’s vocals. With touches of drama infused within the music the album rolls away with ambition, and of course that lustful-Nosferatu edge, ‘Praise The Lord’ lifts and stutters along with a dreamy synth always present. As repeated in the break-beats of ‘Alles’, an infectious groove stalks the song, the further you venture into UN:Gott the more surprises such as this you discover, in a word dance-floor goth, without straying from the overall sound of the release.

‘Morning Star’ is a symphonic-standout, that chuggs and blasts with an operatic quality, the clever way in which Bluetengel build sonic-soundscapes is best presented here, wonderful eerie while addictive. The closing track is also a beast with grace, aptly titled ‘The Last Song’, it glides through tempos, transcendent and reflective, the perfect finale. Though on the deluxe double-cd and download releases a further treat of remixes is presented, nine of the tracks get a extra-jolt of dark-lightning.

The only downside, and perhaps the only reason for audience to struggle is the mix of languages, some tracks are sung in German-‘Am Ende der Zeit’ and some in English-‘Resurrection of the Light’ perhaps a better move would be two different versions for both markets. However, that said this is a hell of an album and a change in language does not affect the overall sound and impact. For Blutengel this is an excellent release to mark their twenty-one years of activity, and be well aware that the box-set editions carry an extra release to mark this event titled-Demons Of The Past and that is something that is well worth sinking your teeth into.

Tracklist:
CD1
1. Together as One (3:54)
2. Into the Void (4:05)
3. König (4:46)
4. Praise the Lord (5:29)
5. Not My Home (5:14)
6. Alles (4:11)
7. Seductive Dreams (5:25)
8. Vampire (4:14)
9. Surrender to the Darkness (3:28)
10. I'm Alive (4:24)
11. Am Ende der Zeit (4:53)
12. Teufelswerk (4:49)
13. Resurrection of the Light (4:49)
14. Morningstar (4:01)
15. The Last Song (6:16)

CD2 - The Remixes
1. Into the Void (Rave the Reqviem Remix) (3:43)
2. König (Any Second Remix) (4:25)
3. Am Ende der Zeit (Wort-Ton Remix) (5:11)
4. Teufelswerk (Attack Mix by Angriffspakt) (3:27)
5. Praise the Lord (x -Rx Remix) (4:45)
6. Resurrection of the Light (Black Summer Version by Rabia Sorda) (4:16)
7. Surrender to the Darkness (Harmjoy Remix) (3:41)
8. Teufelswerk (Battle Scream RMX feat. Alex Pest) (4:34)
9. Auf deinen Wegen (A Light in the Dark Remix by Blutengel) (4:02)

Kevin BURKE
25/02/2019


 

Next reviews
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care
0KONTROL • 3RDEYE2NDHAND
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Other reviews from BLUTENGEL
BLUTENGEL • Black
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
BLUTENGEL • Omen
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
BLUTENGEL • Uber den Horizont EP
BLUTENGEL • Tränenherz

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen
HATCHLING • Alpha
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem