tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

25/02/2019 : BLUTENGEL - UN:GOTT

BLUTENGEL

UN:GOTT

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark WaveDarkwaveElectro WaveElectropunk

[85/100]   

Out Of Line
25/02/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sound of the dark-wave masters Bluetengel rears its colossal head once more. Chris Pohl and Ulrike Goldman bring forth a release of gothic-delight, UN:Gott is a no-holds-barred reflection from the abyss.


Following on, and an almost extension of the 2013 release-Monument, the duo bring about an album crammed with an industrial driven album, crammed with apocalyptic visions and vampiric tales. At its most accessible points, the listener gets a blast of nostalgia, the Sisters Of Mercy-style of ‘Into The Void’ makes for fantastic listening, themes within the lyrics and delightfully dark
-“When will you kill me,
I wanna die for you tonight”.

The waves of electronic-density are not too far from the mix, ‘König’ drags the listener into the almost hypnotic delivery of Pohl’s vocals. With touches of drama infused within the music the album rolls away with ambition, and of course that lustful-Nosferatu edge, ‘Praise The Lord’ lifts and stutters along with a dreamy synth always present. As repeated in the break-beats of ‘Alles’, an infectious groove stalks the song, the further you venture into UN:Gott the more surprises such as this you discover, in a word dance-floor goth, without straying from the overall sound of the release.

‘Morning Star’ is a symphonic-standout, that chuggs and blasts with an operatic quality, the clever way in which Bluetengel build sonic-soundscapes is best presented here, wonderful eerie while addictive. The closing track is also a beast with grace, aptly titled ‘The Last Song’, it glides through tempos, transcendent and reflective, the perfect finale. Though on the deluxe double-cd and download releases a further treat of remixes is presented, nine of the tracks get a extra-jolt of dark-lightning.

The only downside, and perhaps the only reason for audience to struggle is the mix of languages, some tracks are sung in German-‘Am Ende der Zeit’ and some in English-‘Resurrection of the Light’ perhaps a better move would be two different versions for both markets. However, that said this is a hell of an album and a change in language does not affect the overall sound and impact. For Blutengel this is an excellent release to mark their twenty-one years of activity, and be well aware that the box-set editions carry an extra release to mark this event titled-Demons Of The Past and that is something that is well worth sinking your teeth into.

Tracklist:
CD1
1. Together as One (3:54)
2. Into the Void (4:05)
3. König (4:46)
4. Praise the Lord (5:29)
5. Not My Home (5:14)
6. Alles (4:11)
7. Seductive Dreams (5:25)
8. Vampire (4:14)
9. Surrender to the Darkness (3:28)
10. I'm Alive (4:24)
11. Am Ende der Zeit (4:53)
12. Teufelswerk (4:49)
13. Resurrection of the Light (4:49)
14. Morningstar (4:01)
15. The Last Song (6:16)

CD2 - The Remixes
1. Into the Void (Rave the Reqviem Remix) (3:43)
2. König (Any Second Remix) (4:25)
3. Am Ende der Zeit (Wort-Ton Remix) (5:11)
4. Teufelswerk (Attack Mix by Angriffspakt) (3:27)
5. Praise the Lord (x -Rx Remix) (4:45)
6. Resurrection of the Light (Black Summer Version by Rabia Sorda) (4:16)
7. Surrender to the Darkness (Harmjoy Remix) (3:41)
8. Teufelswerk (Battle Scream RMX feat. Alex Pest) (4:34)
9. Auf deinen Wegen (A Light in the Dark Remix by Blutengel) (4:02)

Kevin BURKE
25/02/2019


 

Next reviews
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care
0KONTROL • 3RDEYE2NDHAND
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Other reviews from BLUTENGEL
BLUTENGEL • Black
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
BLUTENGEL • Omen
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
BLUTENGEL • Uber den Horizont EP
BLUTENGEL • Tränenherz

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL