tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/02/2019 : QUAL - Cyber Care

QUAL

Cyber Care

MusicCD (EP)


[86/100]   

Avant! Records
15/02/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The phenomenon Qual, embodied by the male half of Lebanon Hanover, aka William Maybelline, has released a new EP entitled ‘Cyber ​​Care’ and this on Avant! Records. Where his first full-length debut album Sable was bathed in very dark matter, the next one, ‘The Ultimate Climax’, had clearly some more EBM influences added. So I wonder what this 4-track gem will bring...

And that is very clear from the start: EBM clearly got the upper hand here. And how! ‘Cyber ​​Care’ immediately starts pounding mercilessly at you with angular sounds and strong beats. We also do hear another Qual in terms of vocals.

‘Braindamage’ may well become a side-effect after one listens to this track. The same counts for ’Inject Your Mind’ which is made with the ingredients. Very solid, balanced and very straightforward EBM, which can throw one ten years back in time. ‘Maybelline’ manages to stick to really basic with not too many extras but halfway through this song we can recognize some of the characteristic synth sounds that we could also discern on his first-ever release ‘Sable’.

Apparently the man had also forgotten something because ‘I Have To Return Some Videos’ is also reminiscent to early days in terms of sound. Bone-dry rhythms and dark and mysterious sounding synth melodies while the voice goes down a few octaves more.

‘Motherblood’ on the other hand seems to have been struck by a twist in time, EBM with a Si-Fi influence!

With this release Qual shows he can go in every direction with his electronics. Qualitative, entertaining and despite the more EBM-ish approach, you can still see the wonderful quirkiness that this man represents, also on stage. A wonderfully beautiful, slightly edgy gem, this Cyber ​​Care!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/02/2019


NL

Het fenomeen Qual, belichaamd door de mannelijke helft van Lebanon Hanove (aka William Maybelline), brengt op Avant! Records een nieuwe EP getiteld Cyber Care. Waar zijn eerste full length debuutalbum Sable baadde in een heel donkere substantie werden in The Ultimate Climax meer EBM-invloeden ontwaard. Benieuwd wat dit 4 nummers tellende kleinood brengt…

En dat is heel snel duidelijk: EBM heeft de bovenhand. En hoe! Cyber Care beukt meteen genadeloos op je in met hoekige klanken en stevige beats. Ook qua stemgeluid horen we een andere Qual.
Braindamage zou wel eens een nevenverschijnsel kunnen worden na een aantal luisterbeurten. Inject your mind is een uit hetzelfde stuk steen gehouwen kunstwerk. Heel stevige, gebalanceerde en héél rechtlijnige EBM, die gerust tien jaar terug in de tijd mag worden ervaren. Maybelline slaagt erin om echt bij de basis te blijven met niet teveel franjes. Goed halfweg ontwaren we wat karakteristieke synthgeluiden die we ook op zijn eersteling Sable mochten beluisteren.
Blijkbaar was de man ook iets vergeten: I Have To Return Some Videos keert qua sound terug naar de early days. Met een kurkdroge ritmesectie en donkere, mysterieus klinkende synthmelodieën. Ook de stem gaat een paar octaafjes omlaag.
Motherblood lijkt helemaal door een twist in time te zijn geslagen. EBM met een spacy invloed.

Qual toont met deze EP aan dat hij met electronica alle richtingen uit kan; vol kwaliteit, onderhoudend en ondanks meer EBM ontwaar je toch de eigenzinigheid die de man ook ten tonele zo geweldig neerzet. Een wonderbaarlijk mooi, ietwat edgy kleinood, dit Cyber Care.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/02/2019


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem