tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/02/2019 : QUAL - Cyber Care

QUAL

Cyber Care

MusicCD (EP)


[86/100]   

Avant! Records
15/02/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The phenomenon Qual, embodied by the male half of Lebanon Hanover, aka William Maybelline, has released a new EP entitled ‘Cyber ​​Care’ and this on Avant! Records. Where his first full-length debut album Sable was bathed in very dark matter, the next one, ‘The Ultimate Climax’, had clearly some more EBM influences added. So I wonder what this 4-track gem will bring...

And that is very clear from the start: EBM clearly got the upper hand here. And how! ‘Cyber ​​Care’ immediately starts pounding mercilessly at you with angular sounds and strong beats. We also do hear another Qual in terms of vocals.

‘Braindamage’ may well become a side-effect after one listens to this track. The same counts for ’Inject Your Mind’ which is made with the ingredients. Very solid, balanced and very straightforward EBM, which can throw one ten years back in time. ‘Maybelline’ manages to stick to really basic with not too many extras but halfway through this song we can recognize some of the characteristic synth sounds that we could also discern on his first-ever release ‘Sable’.

Apparently the man had also forgotten something because ‘I Have To Return Some Videos’ is also reminiscent to early days in terms of sound. Bone-dry rhythms and dark and mysterious sounding synth melodies while the voice goes down a few octaves more.

‘Motherblood’ on the other hand seems to have been struck by a twist in time, EBM with a Si-Fi influence!

With this release Qual shows he can go in every direction with his electronics. Qualitative, entertaining and despite the more EBM-ish approach, you can still see the wonderful quirkiness that this man represents, also on stage. A wonderfully beautiful, slightly edgy gem, this Cyber ​​Care!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/02/2019


NL

Het fenomeen Qual, belichaamd door de mannelijke helft van Lebanon Hanove (aka William Maybelline), brengt op Avant! Records een nieuwe EP getiteld Cyber Care. Waar zijn eerste full length debuutalbum Sable baadde in een heel donkere substantie werden in The Ultimate Climax meer EBM-invloeden ontwaard. Benieuwd wat dit 4 nummers tellende kleinood brengt…

En dat is heel snel duidelijk: EBM heeft de bovenhand. En hoe! Cyber Care beukt meteen genadeloos op je in met hoekige klanken en stevige beats. Ook qua stemgeluid horen we een andere Qual.
Braindamage zou wel eens een nevenverschijnsel kunnen worden na een aantal luisterbeurten. Inject your mind is een uit hetzelfde stuk steen gehouwen kunstwerk. Heel stevige, gebalanceerde en héél rechtlijnige EBM, die gerust tien jaar terug in de tijd mag worden ervaren. Maybelline slaagt erin om echt bij de basis te blijven met niet teveel franjes. Goed halfweg ontwaren we wat karakteristieke synthgeluiden die we ook op zijn eersteling Sable mochten beluisteren.
Blijkbaar was de man ook iets vergeten: I Have To Return Some Videos keert qua sound terug naar de early days. Met een kurkdroge ritmesectie en donkere, mysterieus klinkende synthmelodieën. Ook de stem gaat een paar octaafjes omlaag.
Motherblood lijkt helemaal door een twist in time te zijn geslagen. EBM met een spacy invloed.

Qual toont met deze EP aan dat hij met electronica alle richtingen uit kan; vol kwaliteit, onderhoudend en ondanks meer EBM ontwaar je toch de eigenzinigheid die de man ook ten tonele zo geweldig neerzet. Een wonderbaarlijk mooi, ietwat edgy kleinood, dit Cyber Care.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/02/2019


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl