tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/02/2019 : QUAL - Cyber Care

QUAL

Cyber Care

MusicCD (EP)


[86/100]   

Avant! Records
15/02/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The phenomenon Qual, embodied by the male half of Lebanon Hanover, aka William Maybelline, has released a new EP entitled ‘Cyber ​​Care’ and this on Avant! Records. Where his first full-length debut album Sable was bathed in very dark matter, the next one, ‘The Ultimate Climax’, had clearly some more EBM influences added. So I wonder what this 4-track gem will bring...

And that is very clear from the start: EBM clearly got the upper hand here. And how! ‘Cyber ​​Care’ immediately starts pounding mercilessly at you with angular sounds and strong beats. We also do hear another Qual in terms of vocals.

‘Braindamage’ may well become a side-effect after one listens to this track. The same counts for ’Inject Your Mind’ which is made with the ingredients. Very solid, balanced and very straightforward EBM, which can throw one ten years back in time. ‘Maybelline’ manages to stick to really basic with not too many extras but halfway through this song we can recognize some of the characteristic synth sounds that we could also discern on his first-ever release ‘Sable’.

Apparently the man had also forgotten something because ‘I Have To Return Some Videos’ is also reminiscent to early days in terms of sound. Bone-dry rhythms and dark and mysterious sounding synth melodies while the voice goes down a few octaves more.

‘Motherblood’ on the other hand seems to have been struck by a twist in time, EBM with a Si-Fi influence!

With this release Qual shows he can go in every direction with his electronics. Qualitative, entertaining and despite the more EBM-ish approach, you can still see the wonderful quirkiness that this man represents, also on stage. A wonderfully beautiful, slightly edgy gem, this Cyber ​​Care!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/02/2019


NL

Het fenomeen Qual, belichaamd door de mannelijke helft van Lebanon Hanove (aka William Maybelline), brengt op Avant! Records een nieuwe EP getiteld Cyber Care. Waar zijn eerste full length debuutalbum Sable baadde in een heel donkere substantie werden in The Ultimate Climax meer EBM-invloeden ontwaard. Benieuwd wat dit 4 nummers tellende kleinood brengt…

En dat is heel snel duidelijk: EBM heeft de bovenhand. En hoe! Cyber Care beukt meteen genadeloos op je in met hoekige klanken en stevige beats. Ook qua stemgeluid horen we een andere Qual.
Braindamage zou wel eens een nevenverschijnsel kunnen worden na een aantal luisterbeurten. Inject your mind is een uit hetzelfde stuk steen gehouwen kunstwerk. Heel stevige, gebalanceerde en héél rechtlijnige EBM, die gerust tien jaar terug in de tijd mag worden ervaren. Maybelline slaagt erin om echt bij de basis te blijven met niet teveel franjes. Goed halfweg ontwaren we wat karakteristieke synthgeluiden die we ook op zijn eersteling Sable mochten beluisteren.
Blijkbaar was de man ook iets vergeten: I Have To Return Some Videos keert qua sound terug naar de early days. Met een kurkdroge ritmesectie en donkere, mysterieus klinkende synthmelodieën. Ook de stem gaat een paar octaafjes omlaag.
Motherblood lijkt helemaal door een twist in time te zijn geslagen. EBM met een spacy invloed.

Qual toont met deze EP aan dat hij met electronica alle richtingen uit kan; vol kwaliteit, onderhoudend en ondanks meer EBM ontwaar je toch de eigenzinigheid die de man ook ten tonele zo geweldig neerzet. Een wonderbaarlijk mooi, ietwat edgy kleinood, dit Cyber Care.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/02/2019


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing