tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/09/2015 : QUAL - Sable

QUAL

Sable

MusicCD
EBMGothicMinimalSynth Wave

[70/100]   

Avant! Records
06/09/2015, Luki PUKI

So at this stage everyone knows Lebanon Hanover, who I have to admit are one of my favourite Goth/Minimal/Cold Wave bands. William Maybeline, one half of Lebanon Hanover, has a new side project and this is his first solo release as Qual.

The 10 tracks are full of gloomy synths and William’s desolate brooding lyrics. However for me Sable as an album is arranged just plain oddly.

The most moving track is kept for last, Rip Doth Thy Scarlet Claws, which has a super synth line pulling along Williams trademark deep mournful vocals. I can’t understand why this isn’t the first track setting the tone for the whole album on a high.

If you’re like me and listen to music while doing your cleaning, a la Freddie Mercury “I want to break Free,”then you will be well and truly finished your dishes, mopping, vacuuming and out of drag by the time Rip Doth Thy Scarlet Claws turns around on your turntable.

Sable only starts to get interesting three tracks in with the minimal wave number Flay followed by Benevolent Technologies which has some EBM sounds that remind me of good times on the downstairs floor of the Slimelight back in the late 90’s.

There are strong tracks on here and I’m usually fond of Avant releases, but this just goes to show how important getting those tracks in the right order is. If you’re going to give this release a try download it from Bandcamp and pay yourself the difference for reordering the best tracks to the front. Otherwise you’ll spend half the party getting up to skip a track on the LP.

Luki PUKI
06/09/2015


 

Next reviews
FOALS • What Went Down
SLEEPER • Smart
JON RUSSELL (JONTEKNIK) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SHIT PRESENT • Shit Present
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
DESTROYER • Poison Season
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
AMI CANAAN MANN • Jackie & Ryan
PAPERFACE • Out Of Time
YONE DUDAS (DECODED FEEDBACK) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from QUAL
QUAL • Cyber Care
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein