tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

21/02/2024 : XTORT - Zwart

XTORT

Zwart

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro WaveMinimal

[84/100]   

DA records
21/02/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Also known as the 'dark Michel Jarre', Xtort has been making his musical mark on the dark scene for years. A true lover of a wide range of electronic music and a worshipper of synths, his repertoire ranges from house and techno to industrial, minimal and Italo disco. He finds inspiration in pioneers such as Cabaret Voltaire, Clock DVA, Fad Gadget, Kraftwerk and Jarre... In his setup he swears by analog and vintage stuff from the 70s, 80s and 90s. When it comes to lyrics, cheerfulness is not the number one theme, quite the contrary: loneliness, propaganda, fake news and human darkness.

Two singles preceded this release: 'Zwart' and 'All In My Head'

Originally a member of the Dutch industrial metal band 'HOER', Xtort is now exploring the wave and post-punk side of industrial music. This 'Zwart' will be released on February 17th on DA records.

Xtort's love of analogue instruments is immediately evident in the first song, When The Night Calls. Minimal synths to lick your fingers off. Not too artificial, not too complicated, but straight on. And that is also the power of this song that warns about the dangers of the night.

One of the singles and the title track of this album, 'Zwart', is cut from the same cloth. The analogue machinery is supported by an acoustic guitar. 'There I stand, everything is gone, no more friends, everyone is gone...Only you, you are still there. But you too know that I am poison to you... and everything turns black (...)' Call it a ballad if you like. It spits black ink like an octopus that feels cornered.

No Way Out has a bit more tempo, but still bathes in the humus of minimal.

Xtort throws a vocoder on top in 'Autres Directions'. It breathes a bit more JM Jarre, but with a stronger rhythm section as back-up.

We just want to make sure we're still listening to the same artist. Is it suddenly fundamentally different? Not really, but we get a blast of industrial-inspired dark electro with 'All in My Head'. Heavy distortion on the vocals, dark beats that carry a bass line on their back.

A hymn or classical aria seems to unfold when 'Alles Kapot' presents itself. The grotesque orchestration that we often hear with JM Jarre shows itself in great style. And a few chords on the guitar. '(...) you have scratched my soul, you have never heard me, and now everything is broken (...)'. Once again, we get a glimpse into what the deeper emotions of a human being tell when an intense contact is lost.

And why not pull out all the stops? Sliders to maximum, an up-tempo stomper that can even provoke a pogo. With a ratatouille of shreds of future-pop, dark electro and EBM. No matter, your servant has gone off the roof on this one. 'This is a trip' and you experience that too.

From the same ground 'Die Stimme Im Kopf' rises again. Sung in German. Which immediately gives an extra rancid edge to this song that hits you hard. Xtort is now really pulling out all the stops. I hear some Das Ich in it, vocally a continuation of the style in which Oswald Henke declaims his epic texts. I bombard this song for myself as the absolute highlight of this already very strong album.

Time to let the vocoder do its thing once again on the ninth and final song on this album. Elektricität is more in the cold style of what Kraftwerk has unleashed on humanity many times.

Xtort's third album, third time a bullseye. Nothing more needs to be said about that.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/02/2024


NL

Xtort. Ook wel de ‘donkere Michel Jarre’ genoemd. Al jarenlang drukt hij zijn muzikale stempel op het donkere wereldje. Als ware liefhebber van een brede waaier aan elektronische muziek en aanbidder van synths, reikt zijn rijk van house en techno, tot industrial, minimal en italo disco. Inspiratie zocht en vindt hij bij pioniers als Cabaret Voltaire, Clock DVA, Fad Gadget, Kraftwerk en Jarre… In zijn setup zweert hij trouw aan analoge en vintage stuff uit de jaren ’70, ’80 en ’90. Qua teksten is vrolijkheid niet het nummer één thema, wel integendeel: eenzaamheid, propaganda, nepnieuws en menselijke duisternis.

Voorafgaand aan deze release kwamen er twee singles: ‘Zwart’ en ‘All In My Head’

Oorspronkelijk een lid van de Nederlandse industrial metalband 'HOER', verkent Xtort nu de

wave- en postpunkkant van industriële muziek. Deze ‘Zwart’ ziet het licht op 17 februari op DA records.

De voorliefde van Xtort voor analoge instrumenten krijgt meteen zijn beslag in de eerste song When The Night Calls. Minimal synths om duimen en vingers bij af te likken. Niet te gekunsteld, niet te ingewikkeld maar straight on. En dat is ook de kracht van deze song die waarschuwt voor de gevaren van de nacht.

Eén van de singles en meteen ook titelsong van dit album, ‘Zwart’, is van hetzelfde laken een broek. De analoge machinerie krijgt de steun van een akoestische gitaar. ‘Daar sta ik dan, alles is weg, geen vrienden meer, iedereen weg…Alleen jij, jij bent er nog. Maar ook jij weet, dat ik vergif voor je ben… en alles wordt zwart (…)’ Noem het een balade als je wil. Het spuwt zwarte inkt als een inktvis die zich in het nauw gedreven weet.

No Way Out heeft ietwat meer tempo, maar blijft baden in de humus van de minimal.
Xtort gooit er een vocoder bovenop in ‘Autres Directions’. Het ademt wat meer JM Jarre uit, maar dan met een steviger ritmesectie als backup.
We vergewissen ons er even van of we nog wel naar dezelfde artiest luisteren. Is het dan plots fundamenteel anders? Niet echt, maar we krijgen een oplawaai van industrial –geïnspireerde dark electro met ‘All in My Head’. Zware distortie op de stem, darkbeats die een basslijn op de rug dragen.
Een hymne of klassieke aria lijkt zicht te ontvouwen wanneer ‘Alles Kapot’ zich aandient. De groteske orchestratie die we alweer bij een JM Jarre vaak horen, toont zich in groots ornaat. En paar akkoorden op de gitaar. ‘(…) je hebt mijn ziel bekrast, je hebt me nooit gehoord, en nu is alles kapot (…)’. Alweer krijgen we inkijk in wat de diepere zieleroerselen van een mens vertellen als een intens contact verloren gaat.

En waarom niet eens alle registers open trekken? Schuivers naar maximum, een uptempo meestamper die zelfs een pogo kan ontlokken. Met een ratatouille van flarden future-pop, dark electro en EBM. Maakt niet uit, uw dienaar is op deze eens stevig uit het dak gegaan. ‘This is a trip’ en dat ervaar je ook.

Uit dezelfde grond herrijst ‘Die Stimme Im Kopf’. Gezongen in het Duits. Wat meteen een extra ranzig randje brandt aan deze song die stevig op je inbeukt. Xtort trekt nu echt alle registers open. Ik hoor er wat Das Ich in, vocaal een doortrekje van de stijl waarin Oswald Henke zijn epische teksten declameert. Ik bombardeer deze song voor mezelf tot absolute kraker van dit overigens heel sterke album.
Terug tijd om de vocoder zijn ding te laten doen bij de negende en laatste song op dit album. Elektricität zit meer in de kille stijl van wat Kraftwerk vele malen op de mensheid losliet.

Derde album van Xtort, derde keer een schot in de roos. Meer hoedt daarover niet gezegd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/02/2024


21/02/2024 : XTORT - Zwart 21/02/2024 : XTORT - Zwart 21/02/2024 : XTORT - Zwart 21/02/2024 : XTORT - Zwart

 

Next reviews
MERCIFUL NUNS • Oneironauts
ANTLER RECORDS • Early Years Vol 1
YELWORC • The Ghosts I Called
KRAMM • Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
LUCIFER'S AID • Destruction
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • BDSM for Satisfaction
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Radio Signals For The Dying
SPARKS • The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte

 

Other reviews from XTORT
XTORT • Nothing is real

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
MOTOR!K • 4
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure