tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

26/09/2020 : TRUE ZEBRA - Idiorhythmic

TRUE ZEBRA

Idiorhythmic

MusicCD / Digital
BelpopEBMElectroElectro PopElectro Wave

[85/100]   

Self-released
26/09/2020, Hamis HIREK

Belgium’s notorious Einzelgänger True Zebra strikes again! After his 123 compilation, a sort of ‘best of’ selected from his first 3 DYI albums released through Wool-e Records (2018), Kevin Strauwen is back with his fourth DIY 7-track album Idiorhythmic. Again True Zebra delivers a well produced and enjoyable gem of electronic music. Stylewise sometimes hard to categorize. It’s not pop, it’s not minimal, It’s not EBM … it’s simply True Zebra. The album opens with the song ‘Connection Is Addiction’, a composition in the spirit of the ‘familiar’ True Zebra sound as we're starting to know it. Distorted synth-melodies interact with percussive passages while Kevin’s almost whispering voice floats though, a nice dark opener. ‘Wait Wait Wait’ has a firm pounding 4/4 beat and a deep bass synth while Mr True Zebra seems chanting, amongst others things, “You’re filling my head with your princess complains - I need to focus my mind”. One of the darker tracks on this album. But also in ‘Logistica And Thelemia’ it gets pretty doom when True Zebra opens up his soul (again) and sings about isolation and his fear of too many people surrounding his mind. And when the snares come crashing in, about half-way the song, I can already see those stomping boots on the dance floor. More personal confessions on dark gloomy soundscapes follow in ‘Weird’ … “I feel Weird” and ‘Sex’ … “I want sex”. Songs and lyrics most of us can rely to I guess. The one before the last track is called ‘Move’, a more uptempo song that somehow and musical wise seems to breath a bit more joy and pleasure than the previous tracks. The title track ‘Idiorhythmic’ closes this fourth album in style. Smart breakdowns, great (s)weeping melodies and percussive synths accompany Kevin’s dark whisphering voice to the very end! Check-it out!

Hamis HIREK
26/09/2020


 

Next reviews
KMFDM • In Dub
RED ZEBRA • 29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
TUKT • Tukt
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Other reviews from TRUE ZEBRA
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
TRUE ZEBRA • Adoremotion
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra

 

Same genre: BELPOP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
SCHMUTZ • Lipservice

 

Same genre: EBM
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
ELM • Penetrator
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face