tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

27/10/2018 : SIMI NAH - La Terre est Noire

SIMI NAH

La Terre est Noire

MusicCD / Digital
BelpopNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

W2K Music
27/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

To our great surprise, lovely Simi announced several months ago this, La Terre est Noire, would also be her last Simi Nah album. Something we find very sad when listening to this new album because on this 'La Terre est Noire' we can find, besides the two bonus remixes, another eleven beautiful songs. And as we have become accustomed to, these have been worked out to perfection by this duo.

The velvet and fragile French vocals of front-woman Simi herself are again perfectly supported by the clever programming and magisterial production work of her life-partner-in-crime and producer KGB. As the title suggests, this is not a happy record but rather a dark soundtrack of the uncertain times in which we live. With titles such as Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J'en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte and Moi, Simi Nah seems to be literally and figuratively at the end of her strength and patience.

As we mentioned earlier there are also two cool remixes by HIV + and JM Lederman on this album. Musically this album is situated somewhere between the minimal-wave, electro and synth-pop without sounding like a cheap copy of the more famous and popular bands of these genres. Though this is sadly apparently the last Simi Nah album, we still hope Simi and KGB will start a new musical chapter again soon!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


NL

Tot onze grote verbazing kondigde de sympathieke Simi Nah enkele maanden gelden aan dat dit nieuwe album meteen ook haar laatste Simi Nah album zou worden. Iets wat wij bij het beluisteren ervan nog maar eens zeer spijtige zaak vinden. Op deze ‘La Terre est Noire’ staan er immers, naast de twee bonus remixen, elf mooie songs. En die zijn, zoals we ondertussen van dit duo gewoon zijn, tot in de perfectie uitgewerkt.

De fluweelzachte en fragiele Franstalige zang van frontvrouw Simi zelve wordt immers weer perfect ondersteund door het knappe programmeer- en magistrale productiewerk van haar levens-partner-in crime and producer KGB. Zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is het geen vrolijk plaatje geworden maar eerder een donkere soundtrack van de onzekere tijden waarin wij leven. Met titels als bijvoorbeeld Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J’en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte et Moi, lijkt Simi Nah letterlijk en figuurlijk aan het einde van haar geduld en Latijn te zijn.

Zoals we al eerder aanhaalden, prijken er op dit album ook twee knappe remixen door respectievelijk HIV+ en JM Lederman. Muzikaal situeert dit album zich ergens tussen de minimal-wave, electro en synth-pop zonder als een goedkoop doorslagje te klinken van de meer bekende (lees populaire) bands in dit genre. Al is dit ogenschijnlijk het laatste Simi Nah album, toch hopen we dat Simi and KGB weer spoedig aan een nieuw muzikaal hoofdstuk beginnen!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover