tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

27/10/2018 : SIMI NAH - La Terre est Noire

SIMI NAH

La Terre est Noire

MusicCD / Digital
BelpopNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

W2K Music
27/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

To our great surprise, lovely Simi announced several months ago this, La Terre est Noire, would also be her last Simi Nah album. Something we find very sad when listening to this new album because on this 'La Terre est Noire' we can find, besides the two bonus remixes, another eleven beautiful songs. And as we have become accustomed to, these have been worked out to perfection by this duo.

The velvet and fragile French vocals of front-woman Simi herself are again perfectly supported by the clever programming and magisterial production work of her life-partner-in-crime and producer KGB. As the title suggests, this is not a happy record but rather a dark soundtrack of the uncertain times in which we live. With titles such as Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J'en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte and Moi, Simi Nah seems to be literally and figuratively at the end of her strength and patience.

As we mentioned earlier there are also two cool remixes by HIV + and JM Lederman on this album. Musically this album is situated somewhere between the minimal-wave, electro and synth-pop without sounding like a cheap copy of the more famous and popular bands of these genres. Though this is sadly apparently the last Simi Nah album, we still hope Simi and KGB will start a new musical chapter again soon!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


NL

Tot onze grote verbazing kondigde de sympathieke Simi Nah enkele maanden gelden aan dat dit nieuwe album meteen ook haar laatste Simi Nah album zou worden. Iets wat wij bij het beluisteren ervan nog maar eens zeer spijtige zaak vinden. Op deze ‘La Terre est Noire’ staan er immers, naast de twee bonus remixen, elf mooie songs. En die zijn, zoals we ondertussen van dit duo gewoon zijn, tot in de perfectie uitgewerkt.

De fluweelzachte en fragiele Franstalige zang van frontvrouw Simi zelve wordt immers weer perfect ondersteund door het knappe programmeer- en magistrale productiewerk van haar levens-partner-in crime and producer KGB. Zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is het geen vrolijk plaatje geworden maar eerder een donkere soundtrack van de onzekere tijden waarin wij leven. Met titels als bijvoorbeeld Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J’en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte et Moi, lijkt Simi Nah letterlijk en figuurlijk aan het einde van haar geduld en Latijn te zijn.

Zoals we al eerder aanhaalden, prijken er op dit album ook twee knappe remixen door respectievelijk HIV+ en JM Lederman. Muzikaal situeert dit album zich ergens tussen de minimal-wave, electro en synth-pop zonder als een goedkoop doorslagje te klinken van de meer bekende (lees populaire) bands in dit genre. Al is dit ogenschijnlijk het laatste Simi Nah album, toch hopen we dat Simi and KGB weer spoedig aan een nieuw muzikaal hoofdstuk beginnen!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever