tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

27/10/2018 : SIMI NAH - La Terre est Noire

SIMI NAH

La Terre est Noire

MusicCD / Digital
BelpopNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

W2K Music
27/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

To our great surprise, lovely Simi announced several months ago this, La Terre est Noire, would also be her last Simi Nah album. Something we find very sad when listening to this new album because on this 'La Terre est Noire' we can find, besides the two bonus remixes, another eleven beautiful songs. And as we have become accustomed to, these have been worked out to perfection by this duo.

The velvet and fragile French vocals of front-woman Simi herself are again perfectly supported by the clever programming and magisterial production work of her life-partner-in-crime and producer KGB. As the title suggests, this is not a happy record but rather a dark soundtrack of the uncertain times in which we live. With titles such as Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J'en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte and Moi, Simi Nah seems to be literally and figuratively at the end of her strength and patience.

As we mentioned earlier there are also two cool remixes by HIV + and JM Lederman on this album. Musically this album is situated somewhere between the minimal-wave, electro and synth-pop without sounding like a cheap copy of the more famous and popular bands of these genres. Though this is sadly apparently the last Simi Nah album, we still hope Simi and KGB will start a new musical chapter again soon!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


NL

Tot onze grote verbazing kondigde de sympathieke Simi Nah enkele maanden gelden aan dat dit nieuwe album meteen ook haar laatste Simi Nah album zou worden. Iets wat wij bij het beluisteren ervan nog maar eens zeer spijtige zaak vinden. Op deze ‘La Terre est Noire’ staan er immers, naast de twee bonus remixen, elf mooie songs. En die zijn, zoals we ondertussen van dit duo gewoon zijn, tot in de perfectie uitgewerkt.

De fluweelzachte en fragiele Franstalige zang van frontvrouw Simi zelve wordt immers weer perfect ondersteund door het knappe programmeer- en magistrale productiewerk van haar levens-partner-in crime and producer KGB. Zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is het geen vrolijk plaatje geworden maar eerder een donkere soundtrack van de onzekere tijden waarin wij leven. Met titels als bijvoorbeeld Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J’en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte et Moi, lijkt Simi Nah letterlijk en figuurlijk aan het einde van haar geduld en Latijn te zijn.

Zoals we al eerder aanhaalden, prijken er op dit album ook twee knappe remixen door respectievelijk HIV+ en JM Lederman. Muzikaal situeert dit album zich ergens tussen de minimal-wave, electro en synth-pop zonder als een goedkoop doorslagje te klinken van de meer bekende (lees populaire) bands in dit genre. Al is dit ogenschijnlijk het laatste Simi Nah album, toch hopen we dat Simi and KGB weer spoedig aan een nieuw muzikaal hoofdstuk beginnen!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)