tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

27/10/2018 : SIMI NAH - La Terre est Noire

SIMI NAH

La Terre est Noire

MusicCD / Digital
BelpopNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

W2K Music
27/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

To our great surprise, lovely Simi announced several months ago this, La Terre est Noire, would also be her last Simi Nah album. Something we find very sad when listening to this new album because on this 'La Terre est Noire' we can find, besides the two bonus remixes, another eleven beautiful songs. And as we have become accustomed to, these have been worked out to perfection by this duo.

The velvet and fragile French vocals of front-woman Simi herself are again perfectly supported by the clever programming and magisterial production work of her life-partner-in-crime and producer KGB. As the title suggests, this is not a happy record but rather a dark soundtrack of the uncertain times in which we live. With titles such as Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J'en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte and Moi, Simi Nah seems to be literally and figuratively at the end of her strength and patience.

As we mentioned earlier there are also two cool remixes by HIV + and JM Lederman on this album. Musically this album is situated somewhere between the minimal-wave, electro and synth-pop without sounding like a cheap copy of the more famous and popular bands of these genres. Though this is sadly apparently the last Simi Nah album, we still hope Simi and KGB will start a new musical chapter again soon!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


NL

Tot onze grote verbazing kondigde de sympathieke Simi Nah enkele maanden gelden aan dat dit nieuwe album meteen ook haar laatste Simi Nah album zou worden. Iets wat wij bij het beluisteren ervan nog maar eens zeer spijtige zaak vinden. Op deze ‘La Terre est Noire’ staan er immers, naast de twee bonus remixen, elf mooie songs. En die zijn, zoals we ondertussen van dit duo gewoon zijn, tot in de perfectie uitgewerkt.

De fluweelzachte en fragiele Franstalige zang van frontvrouw Simi zelve wordt immers weer perfect ondersteund door het knappe programmeer- en magistrale productiewerk van haar levens-partner-in crime and producer KGB. Zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is het geen vrolijk plaatje geworden maar eerder een donkere soundtrack van de onzekere tijden waarin wij leven. Met titels als bijvoorbeeld Chacun Pour Soi, La Terre Est Noire, J’en Ai Marre, Amnésie, Morte et Moi, lijkt Simi Nah letterlijk en figuurlijk aan het einde van haar geduld en Latijn te zijn.

Zoals we al eerder aanhaalden, prijken er op dit album ook twee knappe remixen door respectievelijk HIV+ en JM Lederman. Muzikaal situeert dit album zich ergens tussen de minimal-wave, electro en synth-pop zonder als een goedkoop doorslagje te klinken van de meer bekende (lees populaire) bands in dit genre. Al is dit ogenschijnlijk het laatste Simi Nah album, toch hopen we dat Simi and KGB weer spoedig aan een nieuw muzikaal hoofdstuk beginnen!

Hamis HIREK
27/10/2018


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses