tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/07/2014 : SIMI NAH - Be my guest

SIMI NAH

Be my guest

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectroElectronics

[84/100]   

W2K Music
17/07/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah is the band formed by female singer Simi Nah, the French woman who used to be the bassist player from Pragha Khan and who is of course the daughter from Micky Mike (Snowy Red).

When I saw on Facebook that Simi Nah would make a cover album with some guests, I was immediately wild about this idea. Especially because Simi Nah earlier proved that she has the ability to make covers strong and surprising. A fine example of that is when she ended her gig at Rewind Fest 2013 with a splendid cover from Snowy Red’s Euroshima (Wardance): on stage a real bomb! Do also check out the 2083 mix from Alice (indeed the Sisters Of Mercy-classic) that appeared on her Cherchez La Femme-debut.

The including guests are big names from the Belgian wave and alternative scene: Dirk Ivens, Dirk Da Davo, Luc Van Acker, Danny Mommens from Vive La Fête, Nicky Van Lierop and WimPunk.

The CD starts with Cheree: a track by electro punk pioneers Suicide. Simi Nah is assisted here by Wim Punk: the founder of The Wolf Banes. It’s kind of strange that Dirk Ivens isn’t involved in here, as after all he’s a huge fan of this duo. Then comes the Neue Welle-classic Eisbear (with Danny Mommens): a very strong opener that is! Other wave classics that get a restoration are Euroshima (with Saphyée), Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag (with Dirk Da Davo) and Visage’s Fade To Grey (with KGB): all performed with delicious beats!

A special note is for You Spin Me Round (like a record) that is duet with Dirk Ivens. This cover has a much more dark and threatening feel then the original from Dead Or Alive: the new wave band from singer Pete Burns. Disco Rough (feat. Luc Van Acker) also sounds quite different as the original: the tempo has been slowed down and that graces the result! The strangest track on here is Follow Me. The original has been sung by Amanda Lear. For me she’s unknown, but Wikipedia taught me that she was the White Queen Of Disco. A fantastic electrotrack that features the gorgeous voice from Nicky Van Lierop (original female singer from Lords Of Acid).

So even if the styles differ from the original songs we can say that this collection of covers is a winner.

Benny CALUWE
17/07/2014


NL

Simi Nah is de band rond de zangeres Simi Nah, de Française die voorheen bassiste was van Pragha Khan. Samen met KGB en Safyéé, de dochter van Micky Mike (Snowy Red)

Toen ik op Facebook de aankondiging zag dat Simi Nah een coveralbum ging maken met enkele gasten, was ik meteen enthousiast. Simi Nah bewees eerder al dat ze het in zich heeft sterke en verrassende covers te maken. Ze sloot haar optreden op Rewind Fest 2013 af met een uitstekende cover van Snowy Red’s Euroshima (Wardance). Live echt een bommetje. Check ook Alice – the 2083 mix, een heerlijke bewerking van the Sisters Of Mercy-klassieker dat op haar debuut Cherchez La Femme verscheen. De aangekondigde gasten blijken grote namen uit de Belgische wave en alternatieve muziek: Dirk Ivens, Dirk Da Davo, Luc Van Acker, Danny Mommens van Vive La Fête, Nicky Van Lierop en WimPunk.

De CD vangt aan met Cheree, een track van electropunk-pioniers Suicide. Simi Nah wordt bijgestaan door Wim Punk, de oprichter The Wolf Banes (en niet door Dirk Ivens, nochtans een notoire fan van Suicide). Gevolgd door Neue Welle classic Eisbear (met Danny Mommens): een sterke opening. Andere New Wave klassiekers die onder handen worden genomen zijn Euroshima (met Saphyée), Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag (met Dirk Da Davo) en Visage’s Fade To Grey (met KGB): allen met heerlijk voortstuwende beats.

Een speciale vermelding voor You Spin Me Round (like a record) in duet met Dirk Ivens. Deze track klinkt heel wat donkerder en dreigender dan het origineel van Dead Or Alive: de new wave band rond de androgyne zanger Pete Burns. Ook Disco Rough (feat. Luc Van Acker) klinkt heel anders dan het origineel: het tempo werd naar benden gehaald – met resultaat. Buitenbeentje tussen deze verzameling new wave songs is Follow Me, origineel van de mij onbekende Amanda Lear. Wikipedia leert mij dat ze de white Queen of disco was. Een heerlijke electrotrack werd het met de hese sexy stem van Nicky Van Lierop (originele zangeres van Lords Of Acid)

Hoewel de stijlen van de originele nummers nogal verschilt, vormen de covers ervan een consistent geheel: geslaagd album

Benny CALUWE
17/07/2014


 

Next reviews
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
BLACK LUNG • The Great Golden Goal
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
JÉRÔME CHASSAGNARD • Inner Dialog
• SHAMELESS SEASON 2
A MOUTH FULL OF MATCHES • Smoke SIgnals EP
CARL RINSCH • 47 Ronin
HNN • L'ile nue
PARANOIA INDUCTA • maze of death
DEADWOOD • Sheolic

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
ELASTIK • Instrumental
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever