tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/07/2014 : SIMI NAH - Be my guest

SIMI NAH

Be my guest

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectroElectronics

[84/100]   

W2K Music
17/07/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah is the band formed by female singer Simi Nah, the French woman who used to be the bassist player from Pragha Khan and who is of course the daughter from Micky Mike (Snowy Red).

When I saw on Facebook that Simi Nah would make a cover album with some guests, I was immediately wild about this idea. Especially because Simi Nah earlier proved that she has the ability to make covers strong and surprising. A fine example of that is when she ended her gig at Rewind Fest 2013 with a splendid cover from Snowy Red’s Euroshima (Wardance): on stage a real bomb! Do also check out the 2083 mix from Alice (indeed the Sisters Of Mercy-classic) that appeared on her Cherchez La Femme-debut.

The including guests are big names from the Belgian wave and alternative scene: Dirk Ivens, Dirk Da Davo, Luc Van Acker, Danny Mommens from Vive La Fête, Nicky Van Lierop and WimPunk.

The CD starts with Cheree: a track by electro punk pioneers Suicide. Simi Nah is assisted here by Wim Punk: the founder of The Wolf Banes. It’s kind of strange that Dirk Ivens isn’t involved in here, as after all he’s a huge fan of this duo. Then comes the Neue Welle-classic Eisbear (with Danny Mommens): a very strong opener that is! Other wave classics that get a restoration are Euroshima (with Saphyée), Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag (with Dirk Da Davo) and Visage’s Fade To Grey (with KGB): all performed with delicious beats!

A special note is for You Spin Me Round (like a record) that is duet with Dirk Ivens. This cover has a much more dark and threatening feel then the original from Dead Or Alive: the new wave band from singer Pete Burns. Disco Rough (feat. Luc Van Acker) also sounds quite different as the original: the tempo has been slowed down and that graces the result! The strangest track on here is Follow Me. The original has been sung by Amanda Lear. For me she’s unknown, but Wikipedia taught me that she was the White Queen Of Disco. A fantastic electrotrack that features the gorgeous voice from Nicky Van Lierop (original female singer from Lords Of Acid).

So even if the styles differ from the original songs we can say that this collection of covers is a winner.

Benny CALUWE
17/07/2014


NL

Simi Nah is de band rond de zangeres Simi Nah, de Française die voorheen bassiste was van Pragha Khan. Samen met KGB en Safyéé, de dochter van Micky Mike (Snowy Red)

Toen ik op Facebook de aankondiging zag dat Simi Nah een coveralbum ging maken met enkele gasten, was ik meteen enthousiast. Simi Nah bewees eerder al dat ze het in zich heeft sterke en verrassende covers te maken. Ze sloot haar optreden op Rewind Fest 2013 af met een uitstekende cover van Snowy Red’s Euroshima (Wardance). Live echt een bommetje. Check ook Alice – the 2083 mix, een heerlijke bewerking van the Sisters Of Mercy-klassieker dat op haar debuut Cherchez La Femme verscheen. De aangekondigde gasten blijken grote namen uit de Belgische wave en alternatieve muziek: Dirk Ivens, Dirk Da Davo, Luc Van Acker, Danny Mommens van Vive La Fête, Nicky Van Lierop en WimPunk.

De CD vangt aan met Cheree, een track van electropunk-pioniers Suicide. Simi Nah wordt bijgestaan door Wim Punk, de oprichter The Wolf Banes (en niet door Dirk Ivens, nochtans een notoire fan van Suicide). Gevolgd door Neue Welle classic Eisbear (met Danny Mommens): een sterke opening. Andere New Wave klassiekers die onder handen worden genomen zijn Euroshima (met Saphyée), Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag (met Dirk Da Davo) en Visage’s Fade To Grey (met KGB): allen met heerlijk voortstuwende beats.

Een speciale vermelding voor You Spin Me Round (like a record) in duet met Dirk Ivens. Deze track klinkt heel wat donkerder en dreigender dan het origineel van Dead Or Alive: de new wave band rond de androgyne zanger Pete Burns. Ook Disco Rough (feat. Luc Van Acker) klinkt heel anders dan het origineel: het tempo werd naar benden gehaald – met resultaat. Buitenbeentje tussen deze verzameling new wave songs is Follow Me, origineel van de mij onbekende Amanda Lear. Wikipedia leert mij dat ze de white Queen of disco was. Een heerlijke electrotrack werd het met de hese sexy stem van Nicky Van Lierop (originele zangeres van Lords Of Acid)

Hoewel de stijlen van de originele nummers nogal verschilt, vormen de covers ervan een consistent geheel: geslaagd album

Benny CALUWE
17/07/2014


 

Next reviews
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
BLACK LUNG • The Great Golden Goal
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
JÉRÔME CHASSAGNARD • Inner Dialog
• SHAMELESS SEASON 2
A MOUTH FULL OF MATCHES • Smoke SIgnals EP
CARL RINSCH • 47 Ronin
HNN • L'ile nue
PARANOIA INDUCTA • maze of death
DEADWOOD • Sheolic

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
ELASTIK • Instrumental
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo