tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)

SIMI NAH

B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Manu L DASH

EN

I was kind of familiar with the name of this band, but I have to admit that I never saw Simi Nah on stage before. Not very smart, because at the B52 (venue in Belgium, Eernegem-ed.), I saw for the first (and probably not the last) time this great act.

This electro band consists of Simi and KGB, and although not many people showed up, this very sympathetic Française (vocals) and her partner in crime KGB (synths, guitar and programming) played the gig in the most intense way possible.

For those who want to know everything about it: KGB worked as a sound engineer with greats names such as The Mission , Erasure and Boy George. In Simi Nah this musical centipede also does the vocal support.

My attention was caught by the compelling analog beats of La Machine. And the next song, Coco Chanel & Fashion, could tempt me as well: a thumping electro dance with a link to haute couture and French designers. Simi Nah, who was born and raised in Nice, initially wanted a career in the fashion world, but it eventually was music. She played with The Chicks and she was the bassist of Praga Khan and Coma for a while. The set continued with Flashback, in which the song title is repeated as a conjuring mantra, and then Batcave, plus a really strong version of No Pain No Game.

During this gig, Simi Nah had a guest: Chesko, the front man of Der Klinke. Earlier that day, Chesko played at the Black Easter Festival with his side project Story Off. They played You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) by Dead Or Alive, Nag Nag Nag by Cabaret Voltaire. and Coitus Interruptus by Fad Gadget, all in an excellent way. In between, Simi Nah performed some songs of her own, like Cabaret and Dressing Room, which deals with the oppression of women, a song that quickly became one of my favorites. It was great to see Simi Nah’s attractive and very expressive face, and of course the passion and the mesmerizing tempo and that rhythm!

Grauzone's Eisbär was the last song, again presented in the special Simi Nah way. This track was sung by KGB, and he is did it very well.

After the concert, I bought the album Be My Guest. The title is very well chosen, because the whole concept is to invite renowned guests like Luc Van Acker and Dirk Ivens to play a duet with Simi Nah to create new versions of new wave classics. I listened to this CD several times by now and it really is great.

Manu L DASH
09/12/2016


NL

De naam van deze band liet een belletje rinkelen, maar ik moet eerlijk zijn, zelf had ik nog niet de eer en het genoegen gehad om hem live aan het werk te zien. Zeer erg onterecht, want de verrassing was bijzonder groot toen ik in de B52 voor de eerste (en ongetwijfeld niet de laatste keer) getuige was van een puik optreden van Simi Nah.

Deze elektroband bestaat uit Simi en KGB. En hoewel het publiek eerder beperkt vertegenwoordigd was, gaf deze zeer sympathieke Française en haar partner in crime KGB een optreden alsof hun leven er van afhing.

Voor de liefhebbers van muzikale trivia: KGB werkte als geluidsingenieur met enkele groten der aarde zoals The Mission, Erasure of Boy George. Bij Simi Nah is hij een muzikale duizendpoot die ook niet vies is van wat vocale ondersteuning.

Mijn aandacht werd getrokken door de meeslepende analoge beats van de geweldige starter La Machine. Ook Coco Chanel & Mannequin kon me heel erg bekoren: dreunende dansbare elektro met een knipoog naar de haute couture en Franse designers. Simi Nah, geboren en getogen in Nice, ambieerde aanvankelijk een carrière in de modewereld, maar belandde na enkele omzwervingen in diverse muziekgroepen zoals The Chicks. Ze was ook een tijdje de bassiste van Praga Khan en Coma. De set vervolgde met Flashback, waarin de songtitel als een bezwerend mantra werd herhaald, aansluitend volgden Batcave en het ijzersterke No Pain No Game.

Simi Nah had voor deze set tevens een gastoptreden voorzien van Chesko, de frontman van Der Klinke. Die trad een paar uurtjes eerder op het Black Easter Festival op met Story Off , maar stond dus nu voor een paar songs aan de zijde van Simi Nah. Ze speelden klassiekers als You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) van Dead Or Alive, een sterke versie van Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag, alsook een geweldige cover van Fad Gadgets Coïtus Interruptus.

Tussendoor bracht Simi Nah nog eigen tracks als Cabaret en Dressing Room, een lied over de onderdrukking van vrouwen en eentje dat ik voortaan tot één van mijn favorieten reken. Wat mij steeds opviel was het ongelooflijke plezier dat deze zangeres uitstraalt, alsook haar aantrekkelijke en bijzonder expressieve gezicht. En natuurlijk ook de gedrevenheid en het bezwerende tempo en ritme dat beide bandleden aan de dag legden.

Eisbär van Grauzone was het laatste nummer dat ze brachten en het werd alweer door die speciale Simi Nah-mixer gedraaid zodat stilstaan heel erg moeilijk werd. Deze track werd door KGB gezongen, en ook hij deed dat erg goed.

Na afloop van het concert heb ik me het album Be My Guest aangeschaft. De titel is erg goed gekozen, want het hele concept bestaat erin dat gerenommeerde gasten zoals Luc Van Acker of Dirk Ivens in duo met Simi Nah een nieuwe versie van newwaveklassiekers maken. Ik beluisterde deze cd intussen meermaals en die is echt zijn geld waard. Je kan Simi Nah nog gratis live aan het werk zien op 4 juni in Geraardsbergen. Ik zou gaan als ik jou was…

Manu L DASH
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : SIMI NAH - B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway