tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2016 :  - Black Easter Day 2 : an impression

Black Easter Day 2 : an impression

Article
09/12/2016, Christophe KOWALSKI

EN

After some sleep, I was ready for the second day of Black Easter. I watched the program and when I arrived at the venue, I immediately noticed that there was another public. That is because you can actually choose if you go for two days, or simply one.

Everybody has its own favorite on a festival, so do I. Lebanon Hanover, for example. I wanted to see this band for quite a while, but I never had the chance. I was already familiar with Qual, the side project of the singer. The duo was in good form and played one underground hit after the other. Everything seems so simple for Lebanon Hanover: what a great concert!

The women of the bar staff decided to do a dance, a fine gesture which made the evening just better. Between the bands, you could kill the time by walking around. From the bar to the cloakroom, or just the merchandise stalls where you could buy the latest releases of the performing bands, and that for a cheap price. There were also posters, T-shirts, obscure tapes and even photos of the bands available. In short, plenty of choice!

Time to see another favorite: She Past Away. There was a nervous, tense atmosphere, because the audience was excited to see the headliner. Lots of people came to Antwerp to see this Turkish duo which is very popular at the moment. Actually, you could buy anything from this band at the festival: albums, diaries, notepads, buttons or just some concert photos. Anyway, I was looking for a nice spot so I could make pictures myself. After some resetting, She Past Away started a strong set of pure cold wave and post-punk songs. All the songs I knew were played. Disappointed? Of course not, what a great band to see live!

Black Easter is over, and in a way you realize it when people go their own way. It’s a fantastic event for people who do not like big concerts, but rather seek the intimate atmosphere. And this all in the heart of Antwerp, so you if you do not live in the neighborhood, you can stay at a hotel. I can recommend Black Easter to anyone. Even if it’s over now, I still enjoy it. I surely will visit the next edition!

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


NL

Na een rustige nacht, maakte ik me klaar voor de tweede dag van Black Easter. Ik bekeek het programma en wat me meteen opviel toen ik in de Zappa stond, was hoe gevarieerd het publiek weer was. Dat komt omdat je als bezoeker kan kiezen of je twee dagen gaat of gewoon maar één dag meepikt.

Iedereen heeft op een festival natuurlijk zijn favorieten, dus ook ik. Lebanon Hanover bijv. Deze band wilde ik al een tijdje zien, en ja, dit was de grote dag! De zanger kende ik al van zijn zijproject Qual. Het duo was goed op dreef en vertolkte de ene undergroundhit na de andere. Alles lijkt zo simpel, maar toch: wat een mooi concert!

De meisjes die aan de bar werkten besloten om een dansje op de toog te doen, het was iets wat de avond alleen maar meer gezelligheid bracht. En wat doe je om de tijd te doden tijdens de verschillende bands? Nou, dan wandel je van de bar naar de vestiaire, of je maakt een tussenstop aan de kraampjes waar je de nieuwste releases van de bands kan kopen, en dit vaak voor een prikje. Je vind er tevens posters, T-shirts, allerlei obscure tapes en zelfs foto's van de bands. Kortom, keuze genoeg!

Tijd dan voor mijn andere favoriet, en meteen ook de afsluiter van Black Easter: She Past Away. Er hing een nerveuze, bijna gespannen sfeer in de zaal. Dat was normaal, het publiek was nu eenmaal benieuwd naar de headliner van de avond. Dat merkte je ook aan de opkomst, want op dat moment zat de Zappa aardig vol. Tegenwoordig is dit Turkse duo erg populair. Je kan werkelijk alles kopen van deze band: albums, agenda's, notitieblokjes, buttons of gewoon concertfoto’s. Via de zijkant van de bar bereikte ik het podium en zocht ik een leuk plekje uit om zelf wat foto’s te maken. Na wat aanpassingen hier en daar, begon She Past Away aan een straffe set die vol onvervalste cold wave en postpunk zat. Alle songs die ik kende werden gespeeld. Natuurlijk was ik niet teleurgesteld. Integendeel, wat een geweldige band om live te zien!

Dat Black Easter afgelopen is, besef je eigenlijk pas wanneer je ziet hoe de mensen weer hun eigen weg gaan. Het festival is een fantastisch evenement voor muziekfans die niet van grote concerten houden, maar liever de intieme sfeer opzoeken. Het speelt zich allemaal af in hartje Antwerpen, dus indien je niet onmiddellijk in de buurt woont, kan je gewoon lekker een hotelletje boeken. Bij Black Easter zit je letterlijk op rozen. Ik kan het iedereen aanbevelen, want ik geniet nog steeds na. Bij de volgende editie ben ik er beslist weer bij!

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp