tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2016 :  - Black Easter Day 2 : an impression

Black Easter Day 2 : an impression

Article
09/12/2016, Christophe KOWALSKI

EN

After some sleep, I was ready for the second day of Black Easter. I watched the program and when I arrived at the venue, I immediately noticed that there was another public. That is because you can actually choose if you go for two days, or simply one.

Everybody has its own favorite on a festival, so do I. Lebanon Hanover, for example. I wanted to see this band for quite a while, but I never had the chance. I was already familiar with Qual, the side project of the singer. The duo was in good form and played one underground hit after the other. Everything seems so simple for Lebanon Hanover: what a great concert!

The women of the bar staff decided to do a dance, a fine gesture which made the evening just better. Between the bands, you could kill the time by walking around. From the bar to the cloakroom, or just the merchandise stalls where you could buy the latest releases of the performing bands, and that for a cheap price. There were also posters, T-shirts, obscure tapes and even photos of the bands available. In short, plenty of choice!

Time to see another favorite: She Past Away. There was a nervous, tense atmosphere, because the audience was excited to see the headliner. Lots of people came to Antwerp to see this Turkish duo which is very popular at the moment. Actually, you could buy anything from this band at the festival: albums, diaries, notepads, buttons or just some concert photos. Anyway, I was looking for a nice spot so I could make pictures myself. After some resetting, She Past Away started a strong set of pure cold wave and post-punk songs. All the songs I knew were played. Disappointed? Of course not, what a great band to see live!

Black Easter is over, and in a way you realize it when people go their own way. It’s a fantastic event for people who do not like big concerts, but rather seek the intimate atmosphere. And this all in the heart of Antwerp, so you if you do not live in the neighborhood, you can stay at a hotel. I can recommend Black Easter to anyone. Even if it’s over now, I still enjoy it. I surely will visit the next edition!

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


NL

Na een rustige nacht, maakte ik me klaar voor de tweede dag van Black Easter. Ik bekeek het programma en wat me meteen opviel toen ik in de Zappa stond, was hoe gevarieerd het publiek weer was. Dat komt omdat je als bezoeker kan kiezen of je twee dagen gaat of gewoon maar één dag meepikt.

Iedereen heeft op een festival natuurlijk zijn favorieten, dus ook ik. Lebanon Hanover bijv. Deze band wilde ik al een tijdje zien, en ja, dit was de grote dag! De zanger kende ik al van zijn zijproject Qual. Het duo was goed op dreef en vertolkte de ene undergroundhit na de andere. Alles lijkt zo simpel, maar toch: wat een mooi concert!

De meisjes die aan de bar werkten besloten om een dansje op de toog te doen, het was iets wat de avond alleen maar meer gezelligheid bracht. En wat doe je om de tijd te doden tijdens de verschillende bands? Nou, dan wandel je van de bar naar de vestiaire, of je maakt een tussenstop aan de kraampjes waar je de nieuwste releases van de bands kan kopen, en dit vaak voor een prikje. Je vind er tevens posters, T-shirts, allerlei obscure tapes en zelfs foto's van de bands. Kortom, keuze genoeg!

Tijd dan voor mijn andere favoriet, en meteen ook de afsluiter van Black Easter: She Past Away. Er hing een nerveuze, bijna gespannen sfeer in de zaal. Dat was normaal, het publiek was nu eenmaal benieuwd naar de headliner van de avond. Dat merkte je ook aan de opkomst, want op dat moment zat de Zappa aardig vol. Tegenwoordig is dit Turkse duo erg populair. Je kan werkelijk alles kopen van deze band: albums, agenda's, notitieblokjes, buttons of gewoon concertfoto’s. Via de zijkant van de bar bereikte ik het podium en zocht ik een leuk plekje uit om zelf wat foto’s te maken. Na wat aanpassingen hier en daar, begon She Past Away aan een straffe set die vol onvervalste cold wave en postpunk zat. Alle songs die ik kende werden gespeeld. Natuurlijk was ik niet teleurgesteld. Integendeel, wat een geweldige band om live te zien!

Dat Black Easter afgelopen is, besef je eigenlijk pas wanneer je ziet hoe de mensen weer hun eigen weg gaan. Het festival is een fantastisch evenement voor muziekfans die niet van grote concerten houden, maar liever de intieme sfeer opzoeken. Het speelt zich allemaal af in hartje Antwerpen, dus indien je niet onmiddellijk in de buurt woont, kan je gewoon lekker een hotelletje boeken. Bij Black Easter zit je letterlijk op rozen. Ik kan het iedereen aanbevelen, want ik geniet nog steeds na. Bij de volgende editie ben ik er beslist weer bij!

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real