tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2016 :  - Black Easter Day 2 : an impression

Black Easter Day 2 : an impression

Article
09/12/2016, Christophe KOWALSKI

EN

After some sleep, I was ready for the second day of Black Easter. I watched the program and when I arrived at the venue, I immediately noticed that there was another public. That is because you can actually choose if you go for two days, or simply one.

Everybody has its own favorite on a festival, so do I. Lebanon Hanover, for example. I wanted to see this band for quite a while, but I never had the chance. I was already familiar with Qual, the side project of the singer. The duo was in good form and played one underground hit after the other. Everything seems so simple for Lebanon Hanover: what a great concert!

The women of the bar staff decided to do a dance, a fine gesture which made the evening just better. Between the bands, you could kill the time by walking around. From the bar to the cloakroom, or just the merchandise stalls where you could buy the latest releases of the performing bands, and that for a cheap price. There were also posters, T-shirts, obscure tapes and even photos of the bands available. In short, plenty of choice!

Time to see another favorite: She Past Away. There was a nervous, tense atmosphere, because the audience was excited to see the headliner. Lots of people came to Antwerp to see this Turkish duo which is very popular at the moment. Actually, you could buy anything from this band at the festival: albums, diaries, notepads, buttons or just some concert photos. Anyway, I was looking for a nice spot so I could make pictures myself. After some resetting, She Past Away started a strong set of pure cold wave and post-punk songs. All the songs I knew were played. Disappointed? Of course not, what a great band to see live!

Black Easter is over, and in a way you realize it when people go their own way. It’s a fantastic event for people who do not like big concerts, but rather seek the intimate atmosphere. And this all in the heart of Antwerp, so you if you do not live in the neighborhood, you can stay at a hotel. I can recommend Black Easter to anyone. Even if it’s over now, I still enjoy it. I surely will visit the next edition!

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


NL

Na een rustige nacht, maakte ik me klaar voor de tweede dag van Black Easter. Ik bekeek het programma en wat me meteen opviel toen ik in de Zappa stond, was hoe gevarieerd het publiek weer was. Dat komt omdat je als bezoeker kan kiezen of je twee dagen gaat of gewoon maar één dag meepikt.

Iedereen heeft op een festival natuurlijk zijn favorieten, dus ook ik. Lebanon Hanover bijv. Deze band wilde ik al een tijdje zien, en ja, dit was de grote dag! De zanger kende ik al van zijn zijproject Qual. Het duo was goed op dreef en vertolkte de ene undergroundhit na de andere. Alles lijkt zo simpel, maar toch: wat een mooi concert!

De meisjes die aan de bar werkten besloten om een dansje op de toog te doen, het was iets wat de avond alleen maar meer gezelligheid bracht. En wat doe je om de tijd te doden tijdens de verschillende bands? Nou, dan wandel je van de bar naar de vestiaire, of je maakt een tussenstop aan de kraampjes waar je de nieuwste releases van de bands kan kopen, en dit vaak voor een prikje. Je vind er tevens posters, T-shirts, allerlei obscure tapes en zelfs foto's van de bands. Kortom, keuze genoeg!

Tijd dan voor mijn andere favoriet, en meteen ook de afsluiter van Black Easter: She Past Away. Er hing een nerveuze, bijna gespannen sfeer in de zaal. Dat was normaal, het publiek was nu eenmaal benieuwd naar de headliner van de avond. Dat merkte je ook aan de opkomst, want op dat moment zat de Zappa aardig vol. Tegenwoordig is dit Turkse duo erg populair. Je kan werkelijk alles kopen van deze band: albums, agenda's, notitieblokjes, buttons of gewoon concertfoto’s. Via de zijkant van de bar bereikte ik het podium en zocht ik een leuk plekje uit om zelf wat foto’s te maken. Na wat aanpassingen hier en daar, begon She Past Away aan een straffe set die vol onvervalste cold wave en postpunk zat. Alle songs die ik kende werden gespeeld. Natuurlijk was ik niet teleurgesteld. Integendeel, wat een geweldige band om live te zien!

Dat Black Easter afgelopen is, besef je eigenlijk pas wanneer je ziet hoe de mensen weer hun eigen weg gaan. Het festival is een fantastisch evenement voor muziekfans die niet van grote concerten houden, maar liever de intieme sfeer opzoeken. Het speelt zich allemaal af in hartje Antwerpen, dus indien je niet onmiddellijk in de buurt woont, kan je gewoon lekker een hotelletje boeken. Bij Black Easter zit je letterlijk op rozen. Ik kan het iedereen aanbevelen, want ik geniet nog steeds na. Bij de volgende editie ben ik er beslist weer bij!

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift