tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : ANTIMATTER - Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)

ANTIMATTER

Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)

Concert
Goth MetalSymphonic Metal

[93/100]   
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

On 25th March, Antimatter played at Cultuupodium De Boerderij in Zoetermeer (The Netherlands). It was not the first time the British band played there, but this time it was for a very special reason. This concert was filmed for the first concert film in the history of the band: Live Between The Earth And Sky. So it was also a special evening for the audience as well.

The audience was put in the right mood by Christoffer Gildenlow who presented his latest album The Rain. During years Christoffer Gildenlow used to be the bassist of the prog metal band Pain Of Salvation. Now he performs under his own name, accompanied by excellent musicians. His sensitive music and polyphonic vocals created a very special atmosphere in the beautiful concert hall.

Afterwards, the crowd pressed forward to secure a position in the front and the band was greeted with applause. The set started with Killer, the sound was tuned for optimum quality. During the first song, singer Mick Moss broke one of his guitar strings which was professionally replaced. For many artists this would lead to pure frustration, but Mick just laughed and said that you could skip this part on the DVD.

Professional as the band is, the second song set the tone for the rest of the concert. This concert is part of The Judas Tour 2016. The set included a number of songs from The Judas Table album, supplemented for the concert movie of Antimatter with older work in order to get a nice overview of the career of Antimatter. Both musicians and singer Mick played well and a slight hesitation was wiped away with a smile or a wink. The interaction between the band members showed that Antimatter is a compact unit on stage. Throughout its history, Antimatter was confronted with a number of personnel changes, making it perhaps more Mick Moss and his backing band in the past. Apparently, the current lineup provides sufficient confidence, resulting in an real band on stage

Mick described it like this: the history of Antimatter can be best compared with the graphics of a female orgasm. You notice some quirky twists that come to a climax, but all in an unpredictable manner. The sole difference is that in Antimatter’s case, it lasts much longer than a female orgasm.

The band played known and lesser known songs. The public was separated from the stage by a narrow strip for the camera men. As I stood in the first row, I could catch a glimpse of the images and the way of filming. It all looked quite neat with a great attention for details. I'm already looking forward to see the end result. What struck me as well was how easy Mick Moss was singing. A very good voice, clear singing and during slightly harder passages he stepped away from the microphone without losing any strength. The drums by Liam Edwards were very threatening sometimes, and then faded subtly into the background. The bass by Ste Huges put the emphasis in the right place. All this was topped with the familiar dreamy guitar solos by David Hall. A solid and convincing sound!

What I find particularly strongly about this band is the duality between the vocals and the music. On the one hand you hear the almost symphonic metal which is in opposite with the vicious, sometimes toxic texts by Mick. Or how Matter and Antimatter harmoniously merge into a solid whole. After an extensive set, the band received a huge applause and after a short break, it came back for one last song. The evening ended with a very nice version of the already classic Stillborn Empires. It was a very special evening that will stay in my memory for a long time. The long train ride to Zoetermeer was worth it, and can surely be repeated again. i long to see the concert film. For those who still have the chance to see this band, just do it!

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

Op 25 maart hield Antimatter halt in het Cultuurpodium De Boerderij in het Nederlandse Zoetermeer. Het was niet de eerste keer dat de Britse band er optrad, maar deze keer toch om een heel speciale reden. Dit optreden werd gefilmd voor de eerste concertfilm in de geschiedenis van de band. De film zal de titel Live Between The Earth And Sky krijgen. Het was dus ook voor de aanwezige toeschouwers een bijzondere avond.

Het publiek werd in de juiste stemming gebracht door Christoffer Gildenlow, die er zijn nieuwste album The Rain kwam voorstellen. Christoffer Gildenlow was jarenlang de bassist van de progmetalband Pain Of Salvation. Nu treedt hij dus onder zijn eigen naam op, begeleid door uitstekende muzikanten. Zijn gevoelige muziek en meerstemmige zangpartijen creëerden een heel aparte sfeer in de mooie concertzaal.

Nadien drong het publiek naar voren om toch maar een plaatsje op de eerste rij te bemachtigen. De band werd bij het bestijgen van het podium meteen op applaus ontvangen. De set startte met Killer, en het geluid werd nog wat bijgesteld zodat de klank optimaal was. Tijdens dat eerste nummer brak zanger Mick Moss één van de snaren van zijn gitaar, maar die werd vakkundig vervangen. Bij vele artiesten leidt zoiets tot frustraties, zeker als je weet dat alles gefilmd wordt, maar dat zag je niet. Mick lachte het incidentje weg door te zeggen dat je dit stukje op de dvd gewoon kon overslaan.

Professioneel als de band is, zette het tweede nummer meteen de toon voor de rest van het concert. Gezien dit concert ook deel uitmaakt van The Judas Tour 2016, bestond de set voor een stuk uit liedjes uit het The Judas Table-album, en aangezien het om een eerste concertfilm van Antimatter gaat, werd die aangevuld met ouder werk voor een mooi overzicht van de carrière van Antimatter. Zowel de muzikanten als zanger Mick gaven het beste van zichzelf en als er al eens van een kleine hapering sprake was, werd die met een glimlach of knipoog weggeveegd. Het was aan de interactie tussen de bandleden duidelijk te zien dat hier een éénheid op het podium stond. Antimatter heeft gedurende z'n bestaan verschillende personeelswissels doorgevoerd waardoor het in het verleden misschien meer Mick Moss en z'n begeleidingsband was. Blijkbaar geeft de huidige degelijke bezetting Mick het nodige vertrouwen en staat het gezelschap als een echte band op het podium.

Mick omschreef het op de volgende manier: de geschiedenis van Antimatter kan je vergelijken met een grafiek van een vrouwelijk orgasme. Eigenzinnige kronkels die op een onvoorspelbare manier tot een climax komen. Alleen heeft dat eigenzinnig gekronkel bij Antimatter wel veel langer geduurd dan bij een vrouw.

De band reeg de bekende en minder bekende composities aaneen. Het publiek smulde ervan en zweepte de band na elke song weer op zodat er een leuk tempo in de set zat. Het publiek werd door een lijntje op de vloer op een kleine meter van het podium gehouden. Deze ruimte was geen veiligheidzone, maar de ruimte waarin de twee cameramannen zich bewogen om de beelden voor de dvd te maken. Aangezien ik op de eerste rij stond, kon ik een glimp opvangen van de beelden en de manier van filmen. Het zag er allemaal netjes uit met veel oog voor detail. Ik ben nu al benieuwd naar het eindresultaat.

Wat me vooral ook opviel, was met welk gemak zanger Mick Moss stond te zingen. Heel goed bij stem, helder gezongen en tijdens iets hardere passages deed hij een stap achteruit van zijn microfoon zonder daarbij aan kracht in te boeten. De drums van Liam Edwards waren bij momenten heel dreigend en strak, om even later weer even subtiel naar de achtergrond te verdwijnen. De baslijnen van Ste Huges legden de klemtonen op de juiste plaats. Dit alles werd overgoten met de bekende zweverige gitaarsolo’s van David Hall. Het geheel klonk heel stevig en overtuigend.

Wat ik vooral sterk vind aan deze band is de dualiteit tussen zang en muziek. Aan de ene kant heb je de mooie bijna symfonische metal van de muzikanten tegenover de venijnige, bij momenten giftige, teksten van Mick. Of hoe Matter en Antimatter harmonieus samenvloeien tot een solide geheel. Na de uitgebreide set werd de band op een lang applaus getrakteerd en na een korte onderbreking kwam de band nog even terug voor een laatste song.

De avond werd afgesloten met een heel mooie versie van hun nu al klassiek geworden Stillborn Empires. Het enthousiaste publiek genoot nog een laatste keer met volle teugen en de avond werd afgesloten met een lang applaus en een erkentelijke buiging van de band. Het was een zeer bijzondere avond die nog lang in het geheugen zal gegrift staan. De lange treinreis naar Zoetermeer was voor mij meer dan de moeite waard en zeker voor herhaling vatbaar. Het is nu wachten op de release van deze concertfilm waarvan ik blij ben dat ik er bij was. Wie nog de kans heeft deze band live aan het werk te zien, raad ik aan dat zeker te doen.

Voor de setlist werd geplukt uit volgende albums: Saviour – Leaving Eden – Fear Of A Unique Identity en The Judas Table.

Setlist: Killer – Paranova – Firewalking – Black Eyed Man – The Last Laugh – Monochrome – Uniformed & Black – Over Your Shoulder – Can Of Worms – Redemption – Leaving Eden – Wide Awake In The Concrete Asylum – The Parade – Welcome To The Machine (Pink Floyd cover). ----- Encore : Still Born Empires.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)