tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

ON THORNS I LAY

Eternal Silence

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom MetalGoth Metal

[80/100]   

Sleaszy Rider Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nowadays you can find lots of doom or death metal bands. This Greek band adds symphonic and gothic elements to its music, which makes the sound lighter and different from the rest.

The band started in the 90s as Paralysis. After some name changes, it became On Thorns I Lay in 1994. Because of the influences by bands such as Paradise Lost, Within Temptation and Anathema, melancholic doom and gothic elements were added to the music. The sound is original, and Eternal Silence is the seventh album. It now has been twelve years since something wasnew material was released, so basically you can say that his is a comeback.

The band alternates the soprano voice of singer Maxi Nil with the dark vocals of bassist Stefanos. Nothing new, but effective! The new songs sound slightly more gothic metal than those on Egocentric from 2003. You won’t find a lot of surprises on this album: the ballad Life Without You is a typical song for On Thorns I Lay: an acoustic guitar, strings and an emotional voice, embellished with amplified guitars, True, you've heard it all before. People We Hurt contains very fine guitar work. Cursed and Escape From Loneliness are nice interludes that perfectly fit the atmosphere of the album. One Day To Live is just like the title track a catchy song.

With Eternal Silence On Thorns I Lay proves that it is still around. The album has a good production and contains decent songs. Recommended stuff for gothic metal fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig is er geen gebrek aan doom- of deathmetalbands. Vaak is het een zaak om het kaf van het koren te scheiden. Deze Griekse heren onderscheiden zich doordat ze symfonische and gothicelementen in hun muziek stoppen waardoor het allemaal net iets lichter klinkt.

De band begon in de jaren 90 als Paralysis. Na wat naamsveranderingen kwam men in 1994 met de naam On Thorns I Lay op de proppen. Door invloeden van bands zoals Paradise Lost, Within Temptation en Anathema voegden ze wat melancholische doom en gothicelementen toe aan hun muziek. Het geluid is origineel, en Eternal Silence is hun zevende plaat. Het is ondertussen al twaalf jaar geleden dat er nog iets is uitgebracht, eigenlijk kan je dus van een comeback spreken.

De band wisselt het sopraangeluid van zangeres Maxi Nil af met de donkere stem van bassist Stefanos. Niets nieuws, wel effectief! De nieuwe songs klinken iets meer gothicmetal dan het materiaal op Egocentric uit 2003. Erg veel verrassingen zijn er niet: de ballade Life Without You is een song die typisch is voor On Thorns I Lay: een akoestische gitaar, wat strijkinstrumenten en een emotionele zanglijn die wordt aangedikt met versterkte gitaren, Vakkundig, maar je hebt het al eens eerder gehoord. People We Hurt bevat heel fijn gitaarwerk en het is een goede uitgebouwde song. Cursed en Escape From Loneliness zijn leuke tussenstukjes die bijdragen tot de sfeer van het album. One Day To Live is net als het titelnummer een knappe en catchy compositie.

Met Eternal Silence bewijst On Thorns I Lay dat het nog lang niet uitgezongen is. Het album wordt gekenmerkt door een goede productie en degelijke songs. Een aanwinst voor de gothicmetalfans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

 

Next reviews
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
DARKWOOD • Flammenlieder

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III

 

Same genre: GOTH METAL
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
MANTUS • Refugium
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
DOMINANZ • Noxious
VAN HALST • World of Make Believe
VALKYRE • Our Glorious Demise
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
CANTERRA • First Escape

Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn