tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

ON THORNS I LAY

Eternal Silence

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom MetalGoth Metal

[80/100]   

Sleaszy Rider Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nowadays you can find lots of doom or death metal bands. This Greek band adds symphonic and gothic elements to its music, which makes the sound lighter and different from the rest.

The band started in the 90s as Paralysis. After some name changes, it became On Thorns I Lay in 1994. Because of the influences by bands such as Paradise Lost, Within Temptation and Anathema, melancholic doom and gothic elements were added to the music. The sound is original, and Eternal Silence is the seventh album. It now has been twelve years since something wasnew material was released, so basically you can say that his is a comeback.

The band alternates the soprano voice of singer Maxi Nil with the dark vocals of bassist Stefanos. Nothing new, but effective! The new songs sound slightly more gothic metal than those on Egocentric from 2003. You won’t find a lot of surprises on this album: the ballad Life Without You is a typical song for On Thorns I Lay: an acoustic guitar, strings and an emotional voice, embellished with amplified guitars, True, you've heard it all before. People We Hurt contains very fine guitar work. Cursed and Escape From Loneliness are nice interludes that perfectly fit the atmosphere of the album. One Day To Live is just like the title track a catchy song.

With Eternal Silence On Thorns I Lay proves that it is still around. The album has a good production and contains decent songs. Recommended stuff for gothic metal fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig is er geen gebrek aan doom- of deathmetalbands. Vaak is het een zaak om het kaf van het koren te scheiden. Deze Griekse heren onderscheiden zich doordat ze symfonische and gothicelementen in hun muziek stoppen waardoor het allemaal net iets lichter klinkt.

De band begon in de jaren 90 als Paralysis. Na wat naamsveranderingen kwam men in 1994 met de naam On Thorns I Lay op de proppen. Door invloeden van bands zoals Paradise Lost, Within Temptation en Anathema voegden ze wat melancholische doom en gothicelementen toe aan hun muziek. Het geluid is origineel, en Eternal Silence is hun zevende plaat. Het is ondertussen al twaalf jaar geleden dat er nog iets is uitgebracht, eigenlijk kan je dus van een comeback spreken.

De band wisselt het sopraangeluid van zangeres Maxi Nil af met de donkere stem van bassist Stefanos. Niets nieuws, wel effectief! De nieuwe songs klinken iets meer gothicmetal dan het materiaal op Egocentric uit 2003. Erg veel verrassingen zijn er niet: de ballade Life Without You is een song die typisch is voor On Thorns I Lay: een akoestische gitaar, wat strijkinstrumenten en een emotionele zanglijn die wordt aangedikt met versterkte gitaren, Vakkundig, maar je hebt het al eens eerder gehoord. People We Hurt bevat heel fijn gitaarwerk en het is een goede uitgebouwde song. Cursed en Escape From Loneliness zijn leuke tussenstukjes die bijdragen tot de sfeer van het album. One Day To Live is net als het titelnummer een knappe en catchy compositie.

Met Eternal Silence bewijst On Thorns I Lay dat het nog lang niet uitgezongen is. Het album wordt gekenmerkt door een goede productie en degelijke songs. Een aanwinst voor de gothicmetalfans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

 

Next reviews
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
DARKWOOD • Flammenlieder

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III

 

Same genre: GOTH METAL
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
MANTUS • Refugium
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
DOMINANZ • Noxious
VAN HALST • World of Make Believe
VALKYRE • Our Glorious Demise
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
CANTERRA • First Escape

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury