tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

ON THORNS I LAY

Eternal Silence

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom MetalGoth Metal

[80/100]   

Sleaszy Rider Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nowadays you can find lots of doom or death metal bands. This Greek band adds symphonic and gothic elements to its music, which makes the sound lighter and different from the rest.

The band started in the 90s as Paralysis. After some name changes, it became On Thorns I Lay in 1994. Because of the influences by bands such as Paradise Lost, Within Temptation and Anathema, melancholic doom and gothic elements were added to the music. The sound is original, and Eternal Silence is the seventh album. It now has been twelve years since something wasnew material was released, so basically you can say that his is a comeback.

The band alternates the soprano voice of singer Maxi Nil with the dark vocals of bassist Stefanos. Nothing new, but effective! The new songs sound slightly more gothic metal than those on Egocentric from 2003. You won’t find a lot of surprises on this album: the ballad Life Without You is a typical song for On Thorns I Lay: an acoustic guitar, strings and an emotional voice, embellished with amplified guitars, True, you've heard it all before. People We Hurt contains very fine guitar work. Cursed and Escape From Loneliness are nice interludes that perfectly fit the atmosphere of the album. One Day To Live is just like the title track a catchy song.

With Eternal Silence On Thorns I Lay proves that it is still around. The album has a good production and contains decent songs. Recommended stuff for gothic metal fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig is er geen gebrek aan doom- of deathmetalbands. Vaak is het een zaak om het kaf van het koren te scheiden. Deze Griekse heren onderscheiden zich doordat ze symfonische and gothicelementen in hun muziek stoppen waardoor het allemaal net iets lichter klinkt.

De band begon in de jaren 90 als Paralysis. Na wat naamsveranderingen kwam men in 1994 met de naam On Thorns I Lay op de proppen. Door invloeden van bands zoals Paradise Lost, Within Temptation en Anathema voegden ze wat melancholische doom en gothicelementen toe aan hun muziek. Het geluid is origineel, en Eternal Silence is hun zevende plaat. Het is ondertussen al twaalf jaar geleden dat er nog iets is uitgebracht, eigenlijk kan je dus van een comeback spreken.

De band wisselt het sopraangeluid van zangeres Maxi Nil af met de donkere stem van bassist Stefanos. Niets nieuws, wel effectief! De nieuwe songs klinken iets meer gothicmetal dan het materiaal op Egocentric uit 2003. Erg veel verrassingen zijn er niet: de ballade Life Without You is een song die typisch is voor On Thorns I Lay: een akoestische gitaar, wat strijkinstrumenten en een emotionele zanglijn die wordt aangedikt met versterkte gitaren, Vakkundig, maar je hebt het al eens eerder gehoord. People We Hurt bevat heel fijn gitaarwerk en het is een goede uitgebouwde song. Cursed en Escape From Loneliness zijn leuke tussenstukjes die bijdragen tot de sfeer van het album. One Day To Live is net als het titelnummer een knappe en catchy compositie.

Met Eternal Silence bewijst On Thorns I Lay dat het nog lang niet uitgezongen is. Het album wordt gekenmerkt door een goede productie en degelijke songs. Een aanwinst voor de gothicmetalfans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

 

Next reviews
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
DARKWOOD • Flammenlieder

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III

 

Same genre: GOTH METAL
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
MANTUS • Refugium
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
DOMINANZ • Noxious
VAN HALST • World of Make Believe
VALKYRE • Our Glorious Demise
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
CANTERRA • First Escape

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl