tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

ON THORNS I LAY

Eternal Silence

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom MetalGoth Metal

[80/100]   

Sleaszy Rider Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nowadays you can find lots of doom or death metal bands. This Greek band adds symphonic and gothic elements to its music, which makes the sound lighter and different from the rest.

The band started in the 90s as Paralysis. After some name changes, it became On Thorns I Lay in 1994. Because of the influences by bands such as Paradise Lost, Within Temptation and Anathema, melancholic doom and gothic elements were added to the music. The sound is original, and Eternal Silence is the seventh album. It now has been twelve years since something wasnew material was released, so basically you can say that his is a comeback.

The band alternates the soprano voice of singer Maxi Nil with the dark vocals of bassist Stefanos. Nothing new, but effective! The new songs sound slightly more gothic metal than those on Egocentric from 2003. You won’t find a lot of surprises on this album: the ballad Life Without You is a typical song for On Thorns I Lay: an acoustic guitar, strings and an emotional voice, embellished with amplified guitars, True, you've heard it all before. People We Hurt contains very fine guitar work. Cursed and Escape From Loneliness are nice interludes that perfectly fit the atmosphere of the album. One Day To Live is just like the title track a catchy song.

With Eternal Silence On Thorns I Lay proves that it is still around. The album has a good production and contains decent songs. Recommended stuff for gothic metal fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig is er geen gebrek aan doom- of deathmetalbands. Vaak is het een zaak om het kaf van het koren te scheiden. Deze Griekse heren onderscheiden zich doordat ze symfonische and gothicelementen in hun muziek stoppen waardoor het allemaal net iets lichter klinkt.

De band begon in de jaren 90 als Paralysis. Na wat naamsveranderingen kwam men in 1994 met de naam On Thorns I Lay op de proppen. Door invloeden van bands zoals Paradise Lost, Within Temptation en Anathema voegden ze wat melancholische doom en gothicelementen toe aan hun muziek. Het geluid is origineel, en Eternal Silence is hun zevende plaat. Het is ondertussen al twaalf jaar geleden dat er nog iets is uitgebracht, eigenlijk kan je dus van een comeback spreken.

De band wisselt het sopraangeluid van zangeres Maxi Nil af met de donkere stem van bassist Stefanos. Niets nieuws, wel effectief! De nieuwe songs klinken iets meer gothicmetal dan het materiaal op Egocentric uit 2003. Erg veel verrassingen zijn er niet: de ballade Life Without You is een song die typisch is voor On Thorns I Lay: een akoestische gitaar, wat strijkinstrumenten en een emotionele zanglijn die wordt aangedikt met versterkte gitaren, Vakkundig, maar je hebt het al eens eerder gehoord. People We Hurt bevat heel fijn gitaarwerk en het is een goede uitgebouwde song. Cursed en Escape From Loneliness zijn leuke tussenstukjes die bijdragen tot de sfeer van het album. One Day To Live is net als het titelnummer een knappe en catchy compositie.

Met Eternal Silence bewijst On Thorns I Lay dat het nog lang niet uitgezongen is. Het album wordt gekenmerkt door een goede productie en degelijke songs. Een aanwinst voor de gothicmetalfans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

 

Next reviews
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
DARKWOOD • Flammenlieder

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: GOTH METAL
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
MANTUS • Refugium
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
DOMINANZ • Noxious
VAN HALST • World of Make Believe
VALKYRE • Our Glorious Demise
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
CANTERRA • First Escape

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout