tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

ON THORNS I LAY

Eternal Silence

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom MetalGoth Metal

[80/100]   

Sleaszy Rider Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nowadays you can find lots of doom or death metal bands. This Greek band adds symphonic and gothic elements to its music, which makes the sound lighter and different from the rest.

The band started in the 90s as Paralysis. After some name changes, it became On Thorns I Lay in 1994. Because of the influences by bands such as Paradise Lost, Within Temptation and Anathema, melancholic doom and gothic elements were added to the music. The sound is original, and Eternal Silence is the seventh album. It now has been twelve years since something wasnew material was released, so basically you can say that his is a comeback.

The band alternates the soprano voice of singer Maxi Nil with the dark vocals of bassist Stefanos. Nothing new, but effective! The new songs sound slightly more gothic metal than those on Egocentric from 2003. You won’t find a lot of surprises on this album: the ballad Life Without You is a typical song for On Thorns I Lay: an acoustic guitar, strings and an emotional voice, embellished with amplified guitars, True, you've heard it all before. People We Hurt contains very fine guitar work. Cursed and Escape From Loneliness are nice interludes that perfectly fit the atmosphere of the album. One Day To Live is just like the title track a catchy song.

With Eternal Silence On Thorns I Lay proves that it is still around. The album has a good production and contains decent songs. Recommended stuff for gothic metal fans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig is er geen gebrek aan doom- of deathmetalbands. Vaak is het een zaak om het kaf van het koren te scheiden. Deze Griekse heren onderscheiden zich doordat ze symfonische and gothicelementen in hun muziek stoppen waardoor het allemaal net iets lichter klinkt.

De band begon in de jaren 90 als Paralysis. Na wat naamsveranderingen kwam men in 1994 met de naam On Thorns I Lay op de proppen. Door invloeden van bands zoals Paradise Lost, Within Temptation en Anathema voegden ze wat melancholische doom en gothicelementen toe aan hun muziek. Het geluid is origineel, en Eternal Silence is hun zevende plaat. Het is ondertussen al twaalf jaar geleden dat er nog iets is uitgebracht, eigenlijk kan je dus van een comeback spreken.

De band wisselt het sopraangeluid van zangeres Maxi Nil af met de donkere stem van bassist Stefanos. Niets nieuws, wel effectief! De nieuwe songs klinken iets meer gothicmetal dan het materiaal op Egocentric uit 2003. Erg veel verrassingen zijn er niet: de ballade Life Without You is een song die typisch is voor On Thorns I Lay: een akoestische gitaar, wat strijkinstrumenten en een emotionele zanglijn die wordt aangedikt met versterkte gitaren, Vakkundig, maar je hebt het al eens eerder gehoord. People We Hurt bevat heel fijn gitaarwerk en het is een goede uitgebouwde song. Cursed en Escape From Loneliness zijn leuke tussenstukjes die bijdragen tot de sfeer van het album. One Day To Live is net als het titelnummer een knappe en catchy compositie.

Met Eternal Silence bewijst On Thorns I Lay dat het nog lang niet uitgezongen is. Het album wordt gekenmerkt door een goede productie en degelijke songs. Een aanwinst voor de gothicmetalfans.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence 28/01/2016 : ON THORNS I LAY - Eternal Silence

 

Next reviews
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
DARKWOOD • Flammenlieder

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: GOTH METAL
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
MANTUS • Refugium
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
DOMINANZ • Noxious
VAN HALST • World of Make Believe
VALKYRE • Our Glorious Demise
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
CANTERRA • First Escape

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless