tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ÆMAETH - The Roman

ÆMAETH

The Roman

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDroneSoundscapeSoundtrack

[83/100]   

Gizeh Records
28/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Æmaeth means the truth. It is a project of composer Owen Pegg. The new album The Roman is the soundtrack of the eponymous sixty minute film about a Roman general who is left wounded after a battle against Germanic barbarians. He seeks protection in a forest to regain his strength. He's trying to heal as quickly as possible by focusing himself on his fatal injuries. In this forest, he crosses the path of another lost traveller. Both men are constantly exposed to the trials of nature and the conflicts between their own body and mind. How will this trip proceed when the Roman realises that he’ll be dead soon? You can discover it in this evocative movie and a soundtrack about human connectedness.

The soundtrack is spread over 10 tracks that alloow you to travel in the mind of the main character. In tracks such as And Then He Was Alone, Stalked By Death, Lost in Thought And Time and All Hope Is Lost But One we are faced with all his emotions. The feeling to be left behind, the desolate loneliness in the grandeur of the forest, the continuous physical and spiritual struggle against inner demons and the natural elements, the fear of dying, but also the hope and the will to survive....

You don’t have to see the film to be touched. Once you know the story, you can perfectly empathize with the character by listening to the soundtrack. Dark ambient drones, percussion, a light guitar, a violin, a clarinet and a single voice. That’s all Æmaeth needs to summarize all these primary feelings. This album is the first release in the new Dark Peak series on Gizeh: a series of limited edition CDs in handmade packaging.

Ruben SAEY
28/01/2016


NL

Æmaeth betekent waarheid. Het is een project van componist Owen Pegg. Het nieuwe album The Roman is de soundtrack bij de gelijknamige zestig minuten durende film over een Romeinse generaal die tijdens een veldslag tegen Germaanse barbaren gewond wordt achtergelaten. Hij zoekt bescherming in een uitgestrekt woud om op kracht te komen, maar wordt moreel zwaar op de proef gesteld. In dit woud kruist hij het pad van een verdwaalde reiziger. Beide mannen worden voortdurend blootgesteld aan de beproevingen van de natuur en de conflicten tussen hun eigen lichaam en geest. Hoe zal deze reis voor de twee lotgenoten verlopen nu de dood als een schaduw boven de Romein zweeft? Ontdek elke behoefte van hart en ziel in deze open en suggestieve film en de soundtrack over menselijke verbondenheid.

De soundtrack is verdeeld over 10 tracks die je laten meereizen in het hoofd van het hoofdpersonage. In tracks als And Then He Was Alone, Stalked By Death, Lost in Thought And Time en All Hope Is Lost But One komen alle gevoelens via de uitgesponnen klankcollages mooi aan bod.

Het gevoel om achtergelaten te worden, het desolate gevoel van eenzaamheid in de grootsheid van het woud, de voortdurende fysieke en geestelijke strijd tegen innerlijke demonen en de natuurelementen, de angst om te sterven, maar ook hoop en de wil om te overleven….

Je hoeft de film niet eens te zien om erdoor geraakt te worden. Eens je de verhaallijn kent, kan je aan de hand van deze soundtrack je perfect in het personage inleven. Dark ambient drones, percussie, een lichte gitaar, een viool, een klarinet en een enkele stem. Meer heeft Æmaeth niet nodig om al deze primaire gevoelens in één soundtrack te vatten. Dit album is de eerste release in de nieuwe Dark Peak-reeks van het label Gizeh: een serie gelimiteerde cd’s in een handgemaakte verpakking.

Ruben SAEY
28/01/2016


 

Next reviews
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • The Last Broadcast On Earth

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp