tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ÆMAETH - The Roman

ÆMAETH

The Roman

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDroneSoundscapeSoundtrack

[83/100]   

Gizeh Records
28/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Æmaeth means the truth. It is a project of composer Owen Pegg. The new album The Roman is the soundtrack of the eponymous sixty minute film about a Roman general who is left wounded after a battle against Germanic barbarians. He seeks protection in a forest to regain his strength. He's trying to heal as quickly as possible by focusing himself on his fatal injuries. In this forest, he crosses the path of another lost traveller. Both men are constantly exposed to the trials of nature and the conflicts between their own body and mind. How will this trip proceed when the Roman realises that he’ll be dead soon? You can discover it in this evocative movie and a soundtrack about human connectedness.

The soundtrack is spread over 10 tracks that alloow you to travel in the mind of the main character. In tracks such as And Then He Was Alone, Stalked By Death, Lost in Thought And Time and All Hope Is Lost But One we are faced with all his emotions. The feeling to be left behind, the desolate loneliness in the grandeur of the forest, the continuous physical and spiritual struggle against inner demons and the natural elements, the fear of dying, but also the hope and the will to survive....

You don’t have to see the film to be touched. Once you know the story, you can perfectly empathize with the character by listening to the soundtrack. Dark ambient drones, percussion, a light guitar, a violin, a clarinet and a single voice. That’s all Æmaeth needs to summarize all these primary feelings. This album is the first release in the new Dark Peak series on Gizeh: a series of limited edition CDs in handmade packaging.

Ruben SAEY
28/01/2016


NL

Æmaeth betekent waarheid. Het is een project van componist Owen Pegg. Het nieuwe album The Roman is de soundtrack bij de gelijknamige zestig minuten durende film over een Romeinse generaal die tijdens een veldslag tegen Germaanse barbaren gewond wordt achtergelaten. Hij zoekt bescherming in een uitgestrekt woud om op kracht te komen, maar wordt moreel zwaar op de proef gesteld. In dit woud kruist hij het pad van een verdwaalde reiziger. Beide mannen worden voortdurend blootgesteld aan de beproevingen van de natuur en de conflicten tussen hun eigen lichaam en geest. Hoe zal deze reis voor de twee lotgenoten verlopen nu de dood als een schaduw boven de Romein zweeft? Ontdek elke behoefte van hart en ziel in deze open en suggestieve film en de soundtrack over menselijke verbondenheid.

De soundtrack is verdeeld over 10 tracks die je laten meereizen in het hoofd van het hoofdpersonage. In tracks als And Then He Was Alone, Stalked By Death, Lost in Thought And Time en All Hope Is Lost But One komen alle gevoelens via de uitgesponnen klankcollages mooi aan bod.

Het gevoel om achtergelaten te worden, het desolate gevoel van eenzaamheid in de grootsheid van het woud, de voortdurende fysieke en geestelijke strijd tegen innerlijke demonen en de natuurelementen, de angst om te sterven, maar ook hoop en de wil om te overleven….

Je hoeft de film niet eens te zien om erdoor geraakt te worden. Eens je de verhaallijn kent, kan je aan de hand van deze soundtrack je perfect in het personage inleven. Dark ambient drones, percussie, een lichte gitaar, een viool, een klarinet en een enkele stem. Meer heeft Æmaeth niet nodig om al deze primaire gevoelens in één soundtrack te vatten. Dit album is de eerste release in de nieuwe Dark Peak-reeks van het label Gizeh: een serie gelimiteerde cd’s in een handgemaakte verpakking.

Ruben SAEY
28/01/2016


 

Next reviews
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
LAU NAU • Poseidon
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • The Last Broadcast On Earth
MARTIN L. GORE • MG

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid