tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : ÆMAETH - The Roman

ÆMAETH

The Roman

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDroneSoundscapeSoundtrack

[83/100]   

Gizeh Records
28/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Æmaeth means the truth. It is a project of composer Owen Pegg. The new album The Roman is the soundtrack of the eponymous sixty minute film about a Roman general who is left wounded after a battle against Germanic barbarians. He seeks protection in a forest to regain his strength. He's trying to heal as quickly as possible by focusing himself on his fatal injuries. In this forest, he crosses the path of another lost traveller. Both men are constantly exposed to the trials of nature and the conflicts between their own body and mind. How will this trip proceed when the Roman realises that he’ll be dead soon? You can discover it in this evocative movie and a soundtrack about human connectedness.

The soundtrack is spread over 10 tracks that alloow you to travel in the mind of the main character. In tracks such as And Then He Was Alone, Stalked By Death, Lost in Thought And Time and All Hope Is Lost But One we are faced with all his emotions. The feeling to be left behind, the desolate loneliness in the grandeur of the forest, the continuous physical and spiritual struggle against inner demons and the natural elements, the fear of dying, but also the hope and the will to survive....

You don’t have to see the film to be touched. Once you know the story, you can perfectly empathize with the character by listening to the soundtrack. Dark ambient drones, percussion, a light guitar, a violin, a clarinet and a single voice. That’s all Æmaeth needs to summarize all these primary feelings. This album is the first release in the new Dark Peak series on Gizeh: a series of limited edition CDs in handmade packaging.

Ruben SAEY
28/01/2016


NL

Æmaeth betekent waarheid. Het is een project van componist Owen Pegg. Het nieuwe album The Roman is de soundtrack bij de gelijknamige zestig minuten durende film over een Romeinse generaal die tijdens een veldslag tegen Germaanse barbaren gewond wordt achtergelaten. Hij zoekt bescherming in een uitgestrekt woud om op kracht te komen, maar wordt moreel zwaar op de proef gesteld. In dit woud kruist hij het pad van een verdwaalde reiziger. Beide mannen worden voortdurend blootgesteld aan de beproevingen van de natuur en de conflicten tussen hun eigen lichaam en geest. Hoe zal deze reis voor de twee lotgenoten verlopen nu de dood als een schaduw boven de Romein zweeft? Ontdek elke behoefte van hart en ziel in deze open en suggestieve film en de soundtrack over menselijke verbondenheid.

De soundtrack is verdeeld over 10 tracks die je laten meereizen in het hoofd van het hoofdpersonage. In tracks als And Then He Was Alone, Stalked By Death, Lost in Thought And Time en All Hope Is Lost But One komen alle gevoelens via de uitgesponnen klankcollages mooi aan bod.

Het gevoel om achtergelaten te worden, het desolate gevoel van eenzaamheid in de grootsheid van het woud, de voortdurende fysieke en geestelijke strijd tegen innerlijke demonen en de natuurelementen, de angst om te sterven, maar ook hoop en de wil om te overleven….

Je hoeft de film niet eens te zien om erdoor geraakt te worden. Eens je de verhaallijn kent, kan je aan de hand van deze soundtrack je perfect in het personage inleven. Dark ambient drones, percussie, een lichte gitaar, een viool, een klarinet en een enkele stem. Meer heeft Æmaeth niet nodig om al deze primaire gevoelens in één soundtrack te vatten. Dit album is de eerste release in de nieuwe Dark Peak-reeks van het label Gizeh: een serie gelimiteerde cd’s in een handgemaakte verpakking.

Ruben SAEY
28/01/2016


 

Next reviews
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
LOWER DENS • Escape From evil
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
KOVLO • Timelapse
WHISPERING SONS, CHARNIER, RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Vorst, Le Brass (24/01/16)
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)