tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : GOMORRAH - The Haruspex

GOMORRAH

The Haruspex

MusicCD
Death Metal

[70/100]   

Test Your Metal Records
28/01/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

Please let us introduce Gomorrah, a death metal band from Canada. The band released ar first demo in mid-2011. Two years later the first full album Perception was released. Meanwhile, Gomorrah gained a very strong reputation in the death metal scene. In the summer of 2015 the band signed a contract with Test Your Metal Records. After a successful single, A Disaster's Nightmare, Gommorah decided to make a second album. We listened to The Haruspex and noticed some melody in the 'chaos'.

On a first listen, it seems like the chaos spoils the fun. Both the riffs and vocals seem to go in all directions. The listener never knows what happens, or how to put it. Imperial starts with a bloodcurdling scream. Short and sweet, as if demons are unleashed on us. It feels like if a horde of wild dogs, a whirlwind that goes over our heads.

It's the terrifying atmosphere, the tough and ruthless riffs that made us listen to this album. Nine Kings Of Sulphur offers more absolute madness. But again there is that chaos. Partly because of the short duration of the songs, it all seems to go too fast. We almost have no time to catch our breath.

We really need several spins before we “understand” The Haruspex. And that's the weak point. Structurally, the songs are well made, especially the powerful riffs, the rawness and the terrifying voice. This is death metal at it should be! But the songs should have been a little longer. If we want to hear fast songs, we'll grab a punk record!

Each time the deadly fast guitar riffs split deeper and deeper in our hearts until we give up the fight. Moreover, you can not ignore the voice that hunts the body. After a slightly too fast start, there seems to be melody among the chaos. Dismantling The Throne approximately is three minutes long, including a drum and guitar solo. And that’s something we need if we listen to a death metal album, riffs that make our ears bleed.

We anxiously look around us, until we find that ultimate death blow that pierces our heart. Fortunately, when the album ends, it looks like if we found it! Sitra Achra, Crowns Of Flesh, Venom and Rapture are typical examples of how riffs and vocals can lead the listener to the deepest dungeons of hell. A feeling that isn’t always there, but the album is definitely worth a listen!

Especially listen to the terrifying Ceruelan, the short and powerful Architects and The Mark of Veritas. We can recommend this album to those who are willing to give it a few spins. 

Erik VAN DAMME
28/01/2016


NL

Even voorstellen. Gomorrah is een death metalband uit Canada, die medio 2011 een eerste demo op de markt bracht. Twee jaar later kwam hun eerste full album uit: Perception. Ondertussen wist Gomorrah een heel sterke reputatie uit te bouwen in het deathmetalwereldje. In de zomer van 2015 sloten de heren een contract met Test Your Metal Records. Met een succesvolle single A Disaster’s Nightmare onder de arm besloten ze werk te maken van een tweede album. Wij namen The Haruspex stevig onder de loep en stelden vooral vast dat er ook melodie bleek te zitten in het aanbod van de 'chaos'.

Bij een eerste luisterbeurt dreigden we af te haken door deze chaos. Niet alleen de riffs, ook de vocale aankleding gaat zowat alle kanten uit. Het zorgt ervoor dat je als luisteraar even niet goed weet wat er gebeurt en hoe je het allemaal moet plaatsen. Imperial begint met wat wij aanvoelen als een ijzingwekkende schreeuw. Kort en krachtig worden de demonen vanaf dat moment op ons losgelaten. Als een losgeslagen horde wilde honden lijken de songs vanaf dat ene moment als een wervelwind over onze hoofden heen te razen.

Het is net die angstaanjagende sfeer, de snoeiharde en meedogenloze riffs die ons uiteindelijk toch over de streep hebben getrokken. Nine Kings Of Sulphur drijft ons nog naar meer absolute waanzin. En weer is er die chaos die we over ons heen krijgen. Mede door de korte duurtijd van de songs, lijkt het zelfs iets te snel te gaan. We krijgen bijna geen kans om op adem te komen.

Dat zorgt ervoor dat we dus daadwerkelijk meerdere luisterbeurten nodig hebben om The Haruspex echt te 'begrijpen'. En daar knelt het schoentje. Structureel zitten de songs heel goed in elkaar. Vooral de krachtige riffs en de rauwe en angstaanjagende stem bezorgen je als luisteraar rillingen tot op het bot. Zoals dat bij death metal moet zijn, naar onze bescheiden mening. Maar binnen het concept hadden de songs iets langer mogen duren. Voor snelle songs grijpen we wel naar een punkplaat, waar ook niets mis mee is.

Toch zijn er ook die dodelijke snelle gitaarriffs die telkens dieper en dieper door ons hart klieven. Tot we tot bloedens toe de strijd opgeven. Bovendien kan je niet voorbij aan de stem die als een donderslag bij heldere hemel ons de schrik op het lijf jaagt. Na een iets te snelle start, lijkt er zowaar iets meer melodie te schuilen in de chaos. Dismantling The Throne, met een duurtijd van circa drie minuten, bevat zowaar een iets langere solo van drum en gitaar. Wat we nodig vinden als we naar een deathmetalplaat luisteren. Het is net dat soort riffs dat doorgaans onze oren laat bloeden en ons doodsangsten laat uitstaan.

Angstig kijken we rondom ons heen, maar het is wat zoeken naar die ultieme - laat ons maar stellen - doodsteek die ons hart doorboort. Gelukkig lijkt naarmate de plaat vordert dat euvel wat ongedaan te worden gemaakt. Sitra Achra, Crowns of Flesh of Venom and Rapture zijn weer zo’n typische voorbeelden van hoe riffs en vocalen in elkaar vloeien om de luisteraar in de diepste kerkers van de hel te doen belanden. Een gevoel dat we dus niet altijd hebben.  Desalniettemin loont deze plaat best de moeite.

Luister vooral naar de ultieme, ijzingwekkende afsluiters als Ceruelan, het kort en krachtige Architects en vooral The Mark of Veritas. Een klepper van een death metalsong die ons uiteindelijk toch in angstzweet doet baden. We kunnen iedereen aanraden om deze plaat meerdere luisterbeurten te geven, want die zijn echt nodig om deze metalparel te doorgronden.

.

Erik VAN DAMME
28/01/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen