tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/02/2017 : ARKAN - Kelem

ARKAN

Kelem

MusicCD
Death MetalMelodic Rock

[85/100]   

Overpowered Records
04/02/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The melodic death metal band Arkan has switched from Season of Mist to Overpowered Records for their fourth album. It is not the only thing that has changed. Sarah who did the vocals left the band to concentrate fully on her acting career. Manuel Munoz (from The Old Dead Tree) took over on her behalf. Does that make a big difference? The sound is slightly firmer and more solid than their previous release. The melodic remained but the Arab influences are somewhat faded into the background. In addition, a male singer instead of a female singer makes also a big difference with the past. But Manuel has a good clean and versatile voice that fits perfectly with their music. Florent takes care of the growls and grunts. So in that respect it is a change but not a decline.

With Kelem they have produced a modern sounding album that is well put together. There is room for plenty of variation. There are solid songs like Nour, Erhall, The Call (beginning quietly)... There are also a few calmer and melancholic moments like Just A Lie or Beyond The Wall (where Munoz sings the soul out of his body, a strong track). Arkan nowadays sounds more like a European band. Whether you like it or not depends on your taste, but they have made an album that can compete in the upper echelons of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/02/2017


NL

De melodieuze deathmetal band Arkan is voor hun vierde album overgeschakeld van Season of Mist naar Overpowered Records. Het is niet het enige dat veranderd is. Sarah die de vocals deed heeft de band verlaten om zich volledig op haar acteercarrière toe te leggen. Manuel Munoz (afkomstig van The Old Dead Tree) neemt nu de vocals voor zijn rekening. Maakt dat nu allemaal verschil? Het geluid is iets steviger en solider dan op hun vorige release. Het melodieuze is gebleven maar de Arabische invloeden zijn wat naar de achtergrond verdwenen. Daarnaast is een zanger i.p.v. een zangeres ook een groot verschil met vroeger. Maar Manuel heeft een goeie cleane en veelzijdige stem die uitstekend past bij hun muziek. Florent neemt de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening. Dus op dat vlak is het een verandering maar zeker geen achteruitgang.

Met Kelem hebben ze een album gemaakt dat goed in elkaar steekt en modern klinkt. Er is ruimte voor voldoende variatie. Er zijn stevige songs zoals Nour, Erhall, The Call (dat rustig begint)… Daarnaast zijn er ook enkele kalmere en melancholische momenten zoals Just A Lie of Beyond The Wall (waarin Munoz de ziel uit zijn lijf zingt). Arkan klinkt nu meer als een Europese band. Of je dat goed vindt hangt van je smaak af maar ze hebben wel een album gemaakt dat kan wedijveren in de bovenste regionen van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/02/2017


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide