tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/02/2017 : ARKAN - Kelem

ARKAN

Kelem

MusicCD
Death MetalMelodic Rock

[85/100]   

Overpowered Records
04/02/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The melodic death metal band Arkan has switched from Season of Mist to Overpowered Records for their fourth album. It is not the only thing that has changed. Sarah who did the vocals left the band to concentrate fully on her acting career. Manuel Munoz (from The Old Dead Tree) took over on her behalf. Does that make a big difference? The sound is slightly firmer and more solid than their previous release. The melodic remained but the Arab influences are somewhat faded into the background. In addition, a male singer instead of a female singer makes also a big difference with the past. But Manuel has a good clean and versatile voice that fits perfectly with their music. Florent takes care of the growls and grunts. So in that respect it is a change but not a decline.

With Kelem they have produced a modern sounding album that is well put together. There is room for plenty of variation. There are solid songs like Nour, Erhall, The Call (beginning quietly)... There are also a few calmer and melancholic moments like Just A Lie or Beyond The Wall (where Munoz sings the soul out of his body, a strong track). Arkan nowadays sounds more like a European band. Whether you like it or not depends on your taste, but they have made an album that can compete in the upper echelons of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/02/2017


NL

De melodieuze deathmetal band Arkan is voor hun vierde album overgeschakeld van Season of Mist naar Overpowered Records. Het is niet het enige dat veranderd is. Sarah die de vocals deed heeft de band verlaten om zich volledig op haar acteercarrière toe te leggen. Manuel Munoz (afkomstig van The Old Dead Tree) neemt nu de vocals voor zijn rekening. Maakt dat nu allemaal verschil? Het geluid is iets steviger en solider dan op hun vorige release. Het melodieuze is gebleven maar de Arabische invloeden zijn wat naar de achtergrond verdwenen. Daarnaast is een zanger i.p.v. een zangeres ook een groot verschil met vroeger. Maar Manuel heeft een goeie cleane en veelzijdige stem die uitstekend past bij hun muziek. Florent neemt de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening. Dus op dat vlak is het een verandering maar zeker geen achteruitgang.

Met Kelem hebben ze een album gemaakt dat goed in elkaar steekt en modern klinkt. Er is ruimte voor voldoende variatie. Er zijn stevige songs zoals Nour, Erhall, The Call (dat rustig begint)… Daarnaast zijn er ook enkele kalmere en melancholische momenten zoals Just A Lie of Beyond The Wall (waarin Munoz de ziel uit zijn lijf zingt). Arkan klinkt nu meer als een Europese band. Of je dat goed vindt hangt van je smaak af maar ze hebben wel een album gemaakt dat kan wedijveren in de bovenste regionen van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/02/2017


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm