tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NIHILISM - Beyond Redemption

NIHILISM

Beyond Redemption

MusicCD
Death Metal

[86/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nihilism is a French death metal quintet. After a demo and a split album with Dehumanize, the band's debut album has been released. Do not confuse Nihilism with the black metal band with the same name from Ukraine. To tell you the truth: the album is good. The rhythm section is of a very high quality and lifts the songs to a higher level. You hear all kinds of details and different influences in the songs. From thrash metal to death metal from the 90s. After a few songs you know that this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

Opener Ocean's War sounds good, but the real highlights are The Hanging Tree (the song starts with a classical guitar as Metallica did earlier), The Old Tree Died (successful alternation between grunts and clean vocals), All Will Be One (top track with magnificent rhythm section) and Alea Jacta Est (sharp guitar playing).

If you are a lover of burly death metal, you should definitely check out Beyond Redemption. An impressive debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Nihilism is een vijfkoppige Franse deathmetalband die na een demo en een splitalbum met Dehumanize zijn debuutalbum lanceert. Niet te verwarren trouwens met de gelijknamige blackmetalband uit Oekraïne. Om meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: het album staat stevig in zijn schoenen. De ritmesectie is van een heel hoog niveau en tilt de tracks naar een hoger niveau. Je hoort allerlei details en verschillende invloeden in de songs, van trashmetal tot deathmetal uit de jaren 90. Na enkele songs weet je dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsnee band in het genre.

Opener Ocean’s War is al geslaagd maar de echte hoogtepunten zijn The Hanging Tree (de song begint met een klassiek gitaarstukje zoals ook Metallica dat vroeger deed), The Old Tree Died (geslaagde afwisseling tussen grunt en cleane vocals), All Will Be One (topsong met schitterende ritmesectie) en Alea Jacta Est (vinnig gitaarspel).

Als je een liefhebber van potige deathmetal bent, dan moet je Beyond Redemption van Nihilism zeker eens checken. Een straf debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls