tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NIHILISM - Beyond Redemption

NIHILISM

Beyond Redemption

MusicCD
Death Metal

[86/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nihilism is a French death metal quintet. After a demo and a split album with Dehumanize, the band's debut album has been released. Do not confuse Nihilism with the black metal band with the same name from Ukraine. To tell you the truth: the album is good. The rhythm section is of a very high quality and lifts the songs to a higher level. You hear all kinds of details and different influences in the songs. From thrash metal to death metal from the 90s. After a few songs you know that this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

Opener Ocean's War sounds good, but the real highlights are The Hanging Tree (the song starts with a classical guitar as Metallica did earlier), The Old Tree Died (successful alternation between grunts and clean vocals), All Will Be One (top track with magnificent rhythm section) and Alea Jacta Est (sharp guitar playing).

If you are a lover of burly death metal, you should definitely check out Beyond Redemption. An impressive debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Nihilism is een vijfkoppige Franse deathmetalband die na een demo en een splitalbum met Dehumanize zijn debuutalbum lanceert. Niet te verwarren trouwens met de gelijknamige blackmetalband uit Oekraïne. Om meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: het album staat stevig in zijn schoenen. De ritmesectie is van een heel hoog niveau en tilt de tracks naar een hoger niveau. Je hoort allerlei details en verschillende invloeden in de songs, van trashmetal tot deathmetal uit de jaren 90. Na enkele songs weet je dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsnee band in het genre.

Opener Ocean’s War is al geslaagd maar de echte hoogtepunten zijn The Hanging Tree (de song begint met een klassiek gitaarstukje zoals ook Metallica dat vroeger deed), The Old Tree Died (geslaagde afwisseling tussen grunt en cleane vocals), All Will Be One (topsong met schitterende ritmesectie) en Alea Jacta Est (vinnig gitaarspel).

Als je een liefhebber van potige deathmetal bent, dan moet je Beyond Redemption van Nihilism zeker eens checken. Een straf debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God