tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NIHILISM - Beyond Redemption

NIHILISM

Beyond Redemption

MusicCD
Death Metal

[86/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nihilism is a French death metal quintet. After a demo and a split album with Dehumanize, the band's debut album has been released. Do not confuse Nihilism with the black metal band with the same name from Ukraine. To tell you the truth: the album is good. The rhythm section is of a very high quality and lifts the songs to a higher level. You hear all kinds of details and different influences in the songs. From thrash metal to death metal from the 90s. After a few songs you know that this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

Opener Ocean's War sounds good, but the real highlights are The Hanging Tree (the song starts with a classical guitar as Metallica did earlier), The Old Tree Died (successful alternation between grunts and clean vocals), All Will Be One (top track with magnificent rhythm section) and Alea Jacta Est (sharp guitar playing).

If you are a lover of burly death metal, you should definitely check out Beyond Redemption. An impressive debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Nihilism is een vijfkoppige Franse deathmetalband die na een demo en een splitalbum met Dehumanize zijn debuutalbum lanceert. Niet te verwarren trouwens met de gelijknamige blackmetalband uit Oekraïne. Om meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: het album staat stevig in zijn schoenen. De ritmesectie is van een heel hoog niveau en tilt de tracks naar een hoger niveau. Je hoort allerlei details en verschillende invloeden in de songs, van trashmetal tot deathmetal uit de jaren 90. Na enkele songs weet je dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsnee band in het genre.

Opener Ocean’s War is al geslaagd maar de echte hoogtepunten zijn The Hanging Tree (de song begint met een klassiek gitaarstukje zoals ook Metallica dat vroeger deed), The Old Tree Died (geslaagde afwisseling tussen grunt en cleane vocals), All Will Be One (topsong met schitterende ritmesectie) en Alea Jacta Est (vinnig gitaarspel).

Als je een liefhebber van potige deathmetal bent, dan moet je Beyond Redemption van Nihilism zeker eens checken. Een straf debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet