tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NIHILISM - Beyond Redemption

NIHILISM

Beyond Redemption

MusicCD
Death Metal

[86/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nihilism is a French death metal quintet. After a demo and a split album with Dehumanize, the band's debut album has been released. Do not confuse Nihilism with the black metal band with the same name from Ukraine. To tell you the truth: the album is good. The rhythm section is of a very high quality and lifts the songs to a higher level. You hear all kinds of details and different influences in the songs. From thrash metal to death metal from the 90s. After a few songs you know that this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

Opener Ocean's War sounds good, but the real highlights are The Hanging Tree (the song starts with a classical guitar as Metallica did earlier), The Old Tree Died (successful alternation between grunts and clean vocals), All Will Be One (top track with magnificent rhythm section) and Alea Jacta Est (sharp guitar playing).

If you are a lover of burly death metal, you should definitely check out Beyond Redemption. An impressive debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Nihilism is een vijfkoppige Franse deathmetalband die na een demo en een splitalbum met Dehumanize zijn debuutalbum lanceert. Niet te verwarren trouwens met de gelijknamige blackmetalband uit Oekraïne. Om meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: het album staat stevig in zijn schoenen. De ritmesectie is van een heel hoog niveau en tilt de tracks naar een hoger niveau. Je hoort allerlei details en verschillende invloeden in de songs, van trashmetal tot deathmetal uit de jaren 90. Na enkele songs weet je dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsnee band in het genre.

Opener Ocean’s War is al geslaagd maar de echte hoogtepunten zijn The Hanging Tree (de song begint met een klassiek gitaarstukje zoals ook Metallica dat vroeger deed), The Old Tree Died (geslaagde afwisseling tussen grunt en cleane vocals), All Will Be One (topsong met schitterende ritmesectie) en Alea Jacta Est (vinnig gitaarspel).

Als je een liefhebber van potige deathmetal bent, dan moet je Beyond Redemption van Nihilism zeker eens checken. Een straf debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux