tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NIHILISM - Beyond Redemption

NIHILISM

Beyond Redemption

MusicCD
Death Metal

[86/100]   

Overpowered Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nihilism is a French death metal quintet. After a demo and a split album with Dehumanize, the band's debut album has been released. Do not confuse Nihilism with the black metal band with the same name from Ukraine. To tell you the truth: the album is good. The rhythm section is of a very high quality and lifts the songs to a higher level. You hear all kinds of details and different influences in the songs. From thrash metal to death metal from the 90s. After a few songs you know that this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

Opener Ocean's War sounds good, but the real highlights are The Hanging Tree (the song starts with a classical guitar as Metallica did earlier), The Old Tree Died (successful alternation between grunts and clean vocals), All Will Be One (top track with magnificent rhythm section) and Alea Jacta Est (sharp guitar playing).

If you are a lover of burly death metal, you should definitely check out Beyond Redemption. An impressive debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Nihilism is een vijfkoppige Franse deathmetalband die na een demo en een splitalbum met Dehumanize zijn debuutalbum lanceert. Niet te verwarren trouwens met de gelijknamige blackmetalband uit Oekraïne. Om meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: het album staat stevig in zijn schoenen. De ritmesectie is van een heel hoog niveau en tilt de tracks naar een hoger niveau. Je hoort allerlei details en verschillende invloeden in de songs, van trashmetal tot deathmetal uit de jaren 90. Na enkele songs weet je dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsnee band in het genre.

Opener Ocean’s War is al geslaagd maar de echte hoogtepunten zijn The Hanging Tree (de song begint met een klassiek gitaarstukje zoals ook Metallica dat vroeger deed), The Old Tree Died (geslaagde afwisseling tussen grunt en cleane vocals), All Will Be One (topsong met schitterende ritmesectie) en Alea Jacta Est (vinnig gitaarspel).

Als je een liefhebber van potige deathmetal bent, dan moet je Beyond Redemption van Nihilism zeker eens checken. Een straf debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete