tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MOANING CITIES - D Klein

MOANING CITIES

D Klein

MusicCD
Alternative RockBluesPsych Rock

[85/100]   

Exag Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Doors and Jefferson Airplane are flashing through my head while listening to D Klein by the Brussels band Moaning Cities. That is mainly because the music has a bluesy and psychedelic rock 'n roll touch. Some songs, such as Vertigo Rising or Insomnia, contain the urge and vibe of a band like The Doors. Juliette Meunier is the vocalist in Daggers, resulting in a production that sounds like The Cowboy Junkies. A tasty final song.

The other songs are candies too. Only the first song, Expected, is less strong and sounds like a hotchpotch of attractive song clips. The introduction track is a desolate-sounding piece of music, halfway interspersed with some solid and witty
rock 'n roll. Highlights are Insomnia (including a fine question-and-answer duet by Valerian and Juliette), Sex Sells (The Doors revisited), Vertigo Rising and Yell-Oh-Bahn (the sitar and the singer's drivel remind me of The Flaming Lips).

A fascinating release by a band that makes meaningful and quirky music. Really worth exploring. Moaning Cities is a band with a great live act (Euosonic, Dour, Desertfest....). I can not wait to see these guys at work. Available on LP, CD and digital.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Doors en Jefferson Airplane zijn de bands die door mijn hoofd flitsen tijdens het beluisteren van D Klein door de Brusselse band Moaning Cities. Dat komt hoofdzakelijk omdat de muziek gedrenkt is een bluesy en psychedelisch rock ’n roll-sausje. Een aantal tracks, zoals Vertigo Rising of Insomnia bevatten de urge en de vibe van een band zoals The Doors. Op afsluiter Daggers neemt Juliette Meunier de vocals voor haar rekening. Dat resulteert in een song die heel wat gemeen heeft met de muziek van bv. The Cowboy Junkies. Een lekkere afsluiter.

De andere songs zijn eveneens snoepjes. Alleen opener Expected is minder sterk en lijkt op plakwerk van songfragmenten die op zich wel de moeite waard zijn om te beluisteren. De intro is een desolaat klinkend stukje muziek dat halfweg afgewisseld wordt met stevige en snedige rock ’n roll. Hoogtepunten zijn Insomnia (met o.a. een fijn vraag-en-antwoord-duet van Valerian en Juliette), Sex Sells (The Doors revisited), Vertigo Rising en Yell-Oh-Bahn (de sitar en het gewauwel van de zanger doen wat aan The Flaming Lips denken).

Een boeiende release van een band die betekenisvolle en eigenzinnige muziek maakt. Echt het ontdekken waard! Live is Moaning Cities evenmin aan zijn proefstuk toe (Euosonic, Dour, Desertfest…) en ik popel dan ook om de band een keer live aan het werk te zien. Verkrijgbaar op lp, cd en digitaal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BLIND EGO • Liquid
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
SEVERED HEADS • Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
STRUGG • Flood
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
ALESKA • Aleska
NOSOUND • Scintilla
ALCEST • Kodoma

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
COTTON BELLY'S • Rainy Road
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)