tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALCEST - Kodoma

ALCEST

Kodoma

MusicCD
BlackgazePost-Metal

[88/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Alcest is a French duo (formerly a trio) that makes wonderful post-metal, black metal and shoegaze since 2000. Since I discovered the debut album Souvenirs d'un Autre Mondeband in 2007, I follow the band with great interest. The last album, Shelter from 2014, sounded pretty playful and colorful compared to the other work: more in the direction of progressive rock/metal. It was definitely a good album, but on Kodoma Neige returns to shoegaze and black metal. As a result the album sounds slightly darker and seems to containe more depth. Personally, I think that this approach has a good effect on the songs.

For nine minutes the title track grabs you by the throat: a beautiful serenade with familiar rusty guitars, excellent drumming and an atmosphere of sadness and melancholy. I missed this guitar sound on the last album. Sometimes the track sounds triumphant. The vocals are woolly and they sound Japanese. It is clear that Neige is fascinated by the Japanese culture.

Have a look at to the beautiful stylized artwork as a tribute to the Japanese artist Yamamoto Takato. Kodoma is a wonderful blackgaze album with only six tracks, but it will captivate you for 45 minutes. It is an album that should be next to the best work of the band with its penchant for dark atmospheres.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Alcest is een Frans duo (voorheen een trio) dat sedert 2000 prachtige post-metal, black-metal, shoegaze maakt. Sedert ik het debuut Souvenirs d’un Autre Monde ontdekte in 2007, ben ik ze met veel belangstelling blijven volgen. Het vorig album, Shelter uit 2014, klonk vrij speels en kleurrijk in vergelijking met het andere werk, meer in de richting van progressieve rock/metal. Het was beslist een goed album, maar met Kodoma gaat Neige weer iets meer in de richting van shoegaze en black metal. Het album klinkt daardoor iets donkerder en lijkt meer diepgang te hebben. Persoonlijk vind ik dat die aanpak de songs beter dient.

De titeltrack grijpt je negen minuten lang bij de keel en is een schitterende serenade met de bekende roestige gitaren, puik drumwerk en een sfeer van weemoed en melancholie. Die gitaarklank mistte ik toch wat op het vorig album. Daarnaast zit er soms ook iets triomfantelijks in de track. De zang is zweverig en doet Japans aan. Het is duidelijk dat Neige gefascineerd is door de Japanse cultuur.

Kijk ook naar het mooie gestileerd artwork dat een eerbetoon aan de Japanse kunstenaar Takato Yamamoto blijkt te zijn. Kodoma is een prachtig blackgazealbum dat slechts zes tracks telt, maar gedurende 45 minuten weet te boeien. Het is een album dat op zijn minst naast het beste werk van de band mag liggen en waarin mooie en donkere sferen worden opgeroepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
02
08
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast