tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALCEST - Kodoma

ALCEST

Kodoma

MusicCD
BlackgazePost-Metal

[88/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Alcest is a French duo (formerly a trio) that makes wonderful post-metal, black metal and shoegaze since 2000. Since I discovered the debut album Souvenirs d'un Autre Mondeband in 2007, I follow the band with great interest. The last album, Shelter from 2014, sounded pretty playful and colorful compared to the other work: more in the direction of progressive rock/metal. It was definitely a good album, but on Kodoma Neige returns to shoegaze and black metal. As a result the album sounds slightly darker and seems to containe more depth. Personally, I think that this approach has a good effect on the songs.

For nine minutes the title track grabs you by the throat: a beautiful serenade with familiar rusty guitars, excellent drumming and an atmosphere of sadness and melancholy. I missed this guitar sound on the last album. Sometimes the track sounds triumphant. The vocals are woolly and they sound Japanese. It is clear that Neige is fascinated by the Japanese culture.

Have a look at to the beautiful stylized artwork as a tribute to the Japanese artist Yamamoto Takato. Kodoma is a wonderful blackgaze album with only six tracks, but it will captivate you for 45 minutes. It is an album that should be next to the best work of the band with its penchant for dark atmospheres.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Alcest is een Frans duo (voorheen een trio) dat sedert 2000 prachtige post-metal, black-metal, shoegaze maakt. Sedert ik het debuut Souvenirs d’un Autre Monde ontdekte in 2007, ben ik ze met veel belangstelling blijven volgen. Het vorig album, Shelter uit 2014, klonk vrij speels en kleurrijk in vergelijking met het andere werk, meer in de richting van progressieve rock/metal. Het was beslist een goed album, maar met Kodoma gaat Neige weer iets meer in de richting van shoegaze en black metal. Het album klinkt daardoor iets donkerder en lijkt meer diepgang te hebben. Persoonlijk vind ik dat die aanpak de songs beter dient.

De titeltrack grijpt je negen minuten lang bij de keel en is een schitterende serenade met de bekende roestige gitaren, puik drumwerk en een sfeer van weemoed en melancholie. Die gitaarklank mistte ik toch wat op het vorig album. Daarnaast zit er soms ook iets triomfantelijks in de track. De zang is zweverig en doet Japans aan. Het is duidelijk dat Neige gefascineerd is door de Japanse cultuur.

Kijk ook naar het mooie gestileerd artwork dat een eerbetoon aan de Japanse kunstenaar Takato Yamamoto blijkt te zijn. Kodoma is een prachtig blackgazealbum dat slechts zes tracks telt, maar gedurende 45 minuten weet te boeien. Het is een album dat op zijn minst naast het beste werk van de band mag liggen en waarin mooie en donkere sferen worden opgeroepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser