tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALCEST - Kodoma

ALCEST

Kodoma

MusicCD
BlackgazePost-Metal

[88/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Alcest is a French duo (formerly a trio) that makes wonderful post-metal, black metal and shoegaze since 2000. Since I discovered the debut album Souvenirs d'un Autre Mondeband in 2007, I follow the band with great interest. The last album, Shelter from 2014, sounded pretty playful and colorful compared to the other work: more in the direction of progressive rock/metal. It was definitely a good album, but on Kodoma Neige returns to shoegaze and black metal. As a result the album sounds slightly darker and seems to containe more depth. Personally, I think that this approach has a good effect on the songs.

For nine minutes the title track grabs you by the throat: a beautiful serenade with familiar rusty guitars, excellent drumming and an atmosphere of sadness and melancholy. I missed this guitar sound on the last album. Sometimes the track sounds triumphant. The vocals are woolly and they sound Japanese. It is clear that Neige is fascinated by the Japanese culture.

Have a look at to the beautiful stylized artwork as a tribute to the Japanese artist Yamamoto Takato. Kodoma is a wonderful blackgaze album with only six tracks, but it will captivate you for 45 minutes. It is an album that should be next to the best work of the band with its penchant for dark atmospheres.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Alcest is een Frans duo (voorheen een trio) dat sedert 2000 prachtige post-metal, black-metal, shoegaze maakt. Sedert ik het debuut Souvenirs d’un Autre Monde ontdekte in 2007, ben ik ze met veel belangstelling blijven volgen. Het vorig album, Shelter uit 2014, klonk vrij speels en kleurrijk in vergelijking met het andere werk, meer in de richting van progressieve rock/metal. Het was beslist een goed album, maar met Kodoma gaat Neige weer iets meer in de richting van shoegaze en black metal. Het album klinkt daardoor iets donkerder en lijkt meer diepgang te hebben. Persoonlijk vind ik dat die aanpak de songs beter dient.

De titeltrack grijpt je negen minuten lang bij de keel en is een schitterende serenade met de bekende roestige gitaren, puik drumwerk en een sfeer van weemoed en melancholie. Die gitaarklank mistte ik toch wat op het vorig album. Daarnaast zit er soms ook iets triomfantelijks in de track. De zang is zweverig en doet Japans aan. Het is duidelijk dat Neige gefascineerd is door de Japanse cultuur.

Kijk ook naar het mooie gestileerd artwork dat een eerbetoon aan de Japanse kunstenaar Takato Yamamoto blijkt te zijn. Kodoma is een prachtig blackgazealbum dat slechts zes tracks telt, maar gedurende 45 minuten weet te boeien. Het is een album dat op zijn minst naast het beste werk van de band mag liggen en waarin mooie en donkere sferen worden opgeroepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO