tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALCEST - Kodoma

ALCEST

Kodoma

MusicCD
BlackgazePost-Metal

[88/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Alcest is a French duo (formerly a trio) that makes wonderful post-metal, black metal and shoegaze since 2000. Since I discovered the debut album Souvenirs d'un Autre Mondeband in 2007, I follow the band with great interest. The last album, Shelter from 2014, sounded pretty playful and colorful compared to the other work: more in the direction of progressive rock/metal. It was definitely a good album, but on Kodoma Neige returns to shoegaze and black metal. As a result the album sounds slightly darker and seems to containe more depth. Personally, I think that this approach has a good effect on the songs.

For nine minutes the title track grabs you by the throat: a beautiful serenade with familiar rusty guitars, excellent drumming and an atmosphere of sadness and melancholy. I missed this guitar sound on the last album. Sometimes the track sounds triumphant. The vocals are woolly and they sound Japanese. It is clear that Neige is fascinated by the Japanese culture.

Have a look at to the beautiful stylized artwork as a tribute to the Japanese artist Yamamoto Takato. Kodoma is a wonderful blackgaze album with only six tracks, but it will captivate you for 45 minutes. It is an album that should be next to the best work of the band with its penchant for dark atmospheres.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Alcest is een Frans duo (voorheen een trio) dat sedert 2000 prachtige post-metal, black-metal, shoegaze maakt. Sedert ik het debuut Souvenirs d’un Autre Monde ontdekte in 2007, ben ik ze met veel belangstelling blijven volgen. Het vorig album, Shelter uit 2014, klonk vrij speels en kleurrijk in vergelijking met het andere werk, meer in de richting van progressieve rock/metal. Het was beslist een goed album, maar met Kodoma gaat Neige weer iets meer in de richting van shoegaze en black metal. Het album klinkt daardoor iets donkerder en lijkt meer diepgang te hebben. Persoonlijk vind ik dat die aanpak de songs beter dient.

De titeltrack grijpt je negen minuten lang bij de keel en is een schitterende serenade met de bekende roestige gitaren, puik drumwerk en een sfeer van weemoed en melancholie. Die gitaarklank mistte ik toch wat op het vorig album. Daarnaast zit er soms ook iets triomfantelijks in de track. De zang is zweverig en doet Japans aan. Het is duidelijk dat Neige gefascineerd is door de Japanse cultuur.

Kijk ook naar het mooie gestileerd artwork dat een eerbetoon aan de Japanse kunstenaar Takato Yamamoto blijkt te zijn. Kodoma is een prachtig blackgazealbum dat slechts zes tracks telt, maar gedurende 45 minuten weet te boeien. Het is een album dat op zijn minst naast het beste werk van de band mag liggen en waarin mooie en donkere sferen worden opgeroepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On