tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ANNELIES MONSERE - Debris

ANNELIES MONSERE

Debris

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

MORC Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Dreaming girls who make beautiful records, we love them. Annelies Monseré is one of them. Those who are familiar with the Belgian lo-fi underground might have heard her name. As the wife ofWim Lecluyse, label boss of Morc Records or from her musical collaborations with artists like Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) and Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). And of course, from her solo albums.

Her third album sounds as fragile and beautiful as the cover looks. Music that drives you to the darkest part of your soul and shows subtle beauty. But this is no longer the Annelies we know from her earlier records, what began as experimental piano pieces is now romantic pop with a dark twist.

Imagine how Nico would sound with a glockenspiel or Soap & Skin without the macabre side, and you somehow know what Annelies does these days.

Of course, and you expect that from her, this Ghent musician still loves to experiment (the two instrumental songs are a good example), and she’s not concerned about classic song structures. No worries though, the record is easy to digest and will be appreciated by 4AD fans too.

With Debris Annelies takes you to the enchanting light, although death is often watching around the corner (the morbid Strangers sounds like a wake). Superb record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Meisjes die dromen en mooie plaatjes maken, we houden er wel van. Annelies Monseré is er zo eentje. Wie zich bezighoudt met de Belgische lo-fi-underground zal waarschijnlijk haar naam al gehoord hebben. Als echtgenote van Wim Lecluyse, labelbaas van Morc Records, of van haar muzikale samenwerkingen met namen als Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) en Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). Of natuurlijk gewoon van haar soloplaten.

Haar derde plaat klinkt even fragiel en mooi als de hoes eruitziet. Luistermuziek die het donkerste uit je ziel slurpt en pure subtiele schoonheid laat zien. Maar dit is niet meer de Annelies van vroeger, wat ooit begon met experimentele pianostukjes is uitgegroeid tot romantische pop met een donker tintje.

Beeld je in hoe Nico zou klinken met een glockenspiel of gewoon Soap & Skin zonder dat macabere kantje, en je eindigt ergens waarmee Annelies bezig is.

Natuurlijk, en dat verwacht je van haar, haalt deze Gentse muzikante haar neus niet op voor wat experiment (de twee instrumentale songs zijn er een mooi voorbeeld van), en een klassieke songstructuur zal haar tevens een zorg wezen. Geen nood echter, de plaat is licht verteerbaar en zal ook geapprecieerd worden door 4AD-fans.

Met Debris neemt Annelies je mee naar het betoverende licht, ofschoon de dood vaak meekijkt (het morbide Strangers dat als een dodenwake klinkt). Prachtplaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp