tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ANNELIES MONSERE - Debris

ANNELIES MONSERE

Debris

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

MORC Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Dreaming girls who make beautiful records, we love them. Annelies Monseré is one of them. Those who are familiar with the Belgian lo-fi underground might have heard her name. As the wife ofWim Lecluyse, label boss of Morc Records or from her musical collaborations with artists like Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) and Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). And of course, from her solo albums.

Her third album sounds as fragile and beautiful as the cover looks. Music that drives you to the darkest part of your soul and shows subtle beauty. But this is no longer the Annelies we know from her earlier records, what began as experimental piano pieces is now romantic pop with a dark twist.

Imagine how Nico would sound with a glockenspiel or Soap & Skin without the macabre side, and you somehow know what Annelies does these days.

Of course, and you expect that from her, this Ghent musician still loves to experiment (the two instrumental songs are a good example), and she’s not concerned about classic song structures. No worries though, the record is easy to digest and will be appreciated by 4AD fans too.

With Debris Annelies takes you to the enchanting light, although death is often watching around the corner (the morbid Strangers sounds like a wake). Superb record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Meisjes die dromen en mooie plaatjes maken, we houden er wel van. Annelies Monseré is er zo eentje. Wie zich bezighoudt met de Belgische lo-fi-underground zal waarschijnlijk haar naam al gehoord hebben. Als echtgenote van Wim Lecluyse, labelbaas van Morc Records, of van haar muzikale samenwerkingen met namen als Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) en Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). Of natuurlijk gewoon van haar soloplaten.

Haar derde plaat klinkt even fragiel en mooi als de hoes eruitziet. Luistermuziek die het donkerste uit je ziel slurpt en pure subtiele schoonheid laat zien. Maar dit is niet meer de Annelies van vroeger, wat ooit begon met experimentele pianostukjes is uitgegroeid tot romantische pop met een donker tintje.

Beeld je in hoe Nico zou klinken met een glockenspiel of gewoon Soap & Skin zonder dat macabere kantje, en je eindigt ergens waarmee Annelies bezig is.

Natuurlijk, en dat verwacht je van haar, haalt deze Gentse muzikante haar neus niet op voor wat experiment (de twee instrumentale songs zijn er een mooi voorbeeld van), en een klassieke songstructuur zal haar tevens een zorg wezen. Geen nood echter, de plaat is licht verteerbaar en zal ook geapprecieerd worden door 4AD-fans.

Met Debris neemt Annelies je mee naar het betoverende licht, ofschoon de dood vaak meekijkt (het morbide Strangers dat als een dodenwake klinkt). Prachtplaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift