tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ANNELIES MONSERE - Debris

ANNELIES MONSERE

Debris

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

MORC Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Dreaming girls who make beautiful records, we love them. Annelies Monseré is one of them. Those who are familiar with the Belgian lo-fi underground might have heard her name. As the wife ofWim Lecluyse, label boss of Morc Records or from her musical collaborations with artists like Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) and Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). And of course, from her solo albums.

Her third album sounds as fragile and beautiful as the cover looks. Music that drives you to the darkest part of your soul and shows subtle beauty. But this is no longer the Annelies we know from her earlier records, what began as experimental piano pieces is now romantic pop with a dark twist.

Imagine how Nico would sound with a glockenspiel or Soap & Skin without the macabre side, and you somehow know what Annelies does these days.

Of course, and you expect that from her, this Ghent musician still loves to experiment (the two instrumental songs are a good example), and she’s not concerned about classic song structures. No worries though, the record is easy to digest and will be appreciated by 4AD fans too.

With Debris Annelies takes you to the enchanting light, although death is often watching around the corner (the morbid Strangers sounds like a wake). Superb record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Meisjes die dromen en mooie plaatjes maken, we houden er wel van. Annelies Monseré is er zo eentje. Wie zich bezighoudt met de Belgische lo-fi-underground zal waarschijnlijk haar naam al gehoord hebben. Als echtgenote van Wim Lecluyse, labelbaas van Morc Records, of van haar muzikale samenwerkingen met namen als Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) en Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). Of natuurlijk gewoon van haar soloplaten.

Haar derde plaat klinkt even fragiel en mooi als de hoes eruitziet. Luistermuziek die het donkerste uit je ziel slurpt en pure subtiele schoonheid laat zien. Maar dit is niet meer de Annelies van vroeger, wat ooit begon met experimentele pianostukjes is uitgegroeid tot romantische pop met een donker tintje.

Beeld je in hoe Nico zou klinken met een glockenspiel of gewoon Soap & Skin zonder dat macabere kantje, en je eindigt ergens waarmee Annelies bezig is.

Natuurlijk, en dat verwacht je van haar, haalt deze Gentse muzikante haar neus niet op voor wat experiment (de twee instrumentale songs zijn er een mooi voorbeeld van), en een klassieke songstructuur zal haar tevens een zorg wezen. Geen nood echter, de plaat is licht verteerbaar en zal ook geapprecieerd worden door 4AD-fans.

Met Debris neemt Annelies je mee naar het betoverende licht, ofschoon de dood vaak meekijkt (het morbide Strangers dat als een dodenwake klinkt). Prachtplaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins