tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ANNELIES MONSERE - Debris

ANNELIES MONSERE

Debris

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

MORC Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Dreaming girls who make beautiful records, we love them. Annelies Monseré is one of them. Those who are familiar with the Belgian lo-fi underground might have heard her name. As the wife ofWim Lecluyse, label boss of Morc Records or from her musical collaborations with artists like Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) and Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). And of course, from her solo albums.

Her third album sounds as fragile and beautiful as the cover looks. Music that drives you to the darkest part of your soul and shows subtle beauty. But this is no longer the Annelies we know from her earlier records, what began as experimental piano pieces is now romantic pop with a dark twist.

Imagine how Nico would sound with a glockenspiel or Soap & Skin without the macabre side, and you somehow know what Annelies does these days.

Of course, and you expect that from her, this Ghent musician still loves to experiment (the two instrumental songs are a good example), and she’s not concerned about classic song structures. No worries though, the record is easy to digest and will be appreciated by 4AD fans too.

With Debris Annelies takes you to the enchanting light, although death is often watching around the corner (the morbid Strangers sounds like a wake). Superb record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Meisjes die dromen en mooie plaatjes maken, we houden er wel van. Annelies Monseré is er zo eentje. Wie zich bezighoudt met de Belgische lo-fi-underground zal waarschijnlijk haar naam al gehoord hebben. Als echtgenote van Wim Lecluyse, labelbaas van Morc Records, of van haar muzikale samenwerkingen met namen als Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) en Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). Of natuurlijk gewoon van haar soloplaten.

Haar derde plaat klinkt even fragiel en mooi als de hoes eruitziet. Luistermuziek die het donkerste uit je ziel slurpt en pure subtiele schoonheid laat zien. Maar dit is niet meer de Annelies van vroeger, wat ooit begon met experimentele pianostukjes is uitgegroeid tot romantische pop met een donker tintje.

Beeld je in hoe Nico zou klinken met een glockenspiel of gewoon Soap & Skin zonder dat macabere kantje, en je eindigt ergens waarmee Annelies bezig is.

Natuurlijk, en dat verwacht je van haar, haalt deze Gentse muzikante haar neus niet op voor wat experiment (de twee instrumentale songs zijn er een mooi voorbeeld van), en een klassieke songstructuur zal haar tevens een zorg wezen. Geen nood echter, de plaat is licht verteerbaar en zal ook geapprecieerd worden door 4AD-fans.

Met Debris neemt Annelies je mee naar het betoverende licht, ofschoon de dood vaak meekijkt (het morbide Strangers dat als een dodenwake klinkt). Prachtplaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet