tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ANNELIES MONSERE - Debris

ANNELIES MONSERE

Debris

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

MORC Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Dreaming girls who make beautiful records, we love them. Annelies Monseré is one of them. Those who are familiar with the Belgian lo-fi underground might have heard her name. As the wife ofWim Lecluyse, label boss of Morc Records or from her musical collaborations with artists like Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) and Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). And of course, from her solo albums.

Her third album sounds as fragile and beautiful as the cover looks. Music that drives you to the darkest part of your soul and shows subtle beauty. But this is no longer the Annelies we know from her earlier records, what began as experimental piano pieces is now romantic pop with a dark twist.

Imagine how Nico would sound with a glockenspiel or Soap & Skin without the macabre side, and you somehow know what Annelies does these days.

Of course, and you expect that from her, this Ghent musician still loves to experiment (the two instrumental songs are a good example), and she’s not concerned about classic song structures. No worries though, the record is easy to digest and will be appreciated by 4AD fans too.

With Debris Annelies takes you to the enchanting light, although death is often watching around the corner (the morbid Strangers sounds like a wake). Superb record!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Meisjes die dromen en mooie plaatjes maken, we houden er wel van. Annelies Monseré is er zo eentje. Wie zich bezighoudt met de Belgische lo-fi-underground zal waarschijnlijk haar naam al gehoord hebben. Als echtgenote van Wim Lecluyse, labelbaas van Morc Records, of van haar muzikale samenwerkingen met namen als Jessica Bailiff, Matt Sweet (Boduf Songs), Michael Anderson (dREKKa, Turn Pale) en Steve Marreyt (Edgar Wappenhalter, Sylvester Anfang). Of natuurlijk gewoon van haar soloplaten.

Haar derde plaat klinkt even fragiel en mooi als de hoes eruitziet. Luistermuziek die het donkerste uit je ziel slurpt en pure subtiele schoonheid laat zien. Maar dit is niet meer de Annelies van vroeger, wat ooit begon met experimentele pianostukjes is uitgegroeid tot romantische pop met een donker tintje.

Beeld je in hoe Nico zou klinken met een glockenspiel of gewoon Soap & Skin zonder dat macabere kantje, en je eindigt ergens waarmee Annelies bezig is.

Natuurlijk, en dat verwacht je van haar, haalt deze Gentse muzikante haar neus niet op voor wat experiment (de twee instrumentale songs zijn er een mooi voorbeeld van), en een klassieke songstructuur zal haar tevens een zorg wezen. Geen nood echter, de plaat is licht verteerbaar en zal ook geapprecieerd worden door 4AD-fans.

Met Debris neemt Annelies je mee naar het betoverende licht, ofschoon de dood vaak meekijkt (het morbide Strangers dat als een dodenwake klinkt). Prachtplaat!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf