tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/01/2019 : DAEMONIA NYMPHE - PSYCHOSTASIA

DAEMONIA NYMPHE

PSYCHOSTASIA

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval
Self-released
08/01/2019, Tom PLOVIE

In 2013 the Greek folk ensemble Daemonia Nymphe released the album ‘Psychostasia’. That happened through the French label Prikosnovénie. At the end of November 2018 a re-release of this acclaimed album came out, this time self-released and with an additional 3 extra tracks. It is an opportunity to rediscover this album or... to discover it, as for me.

The opening track immediately refers to Greek mythology. We’re introduced to the God of the West Wind: Zephyros. With 'Zephiros's Enlightening Anemos' we get a song that immediately sets the tone for the whole album. With mystical chants, catchy rhythms, folky and ritual atmospheres, the link can be made with the music of Dead Can Dance, Lisa Gerrard, Ataraxia or Mila Mar.

The two names connected to Daemonia Nymphe are Spyros Giasafakis and Evi Stergiou. They reinforce themselves with rotating musicians to create an ethereal ensemble. They seek inspiration in ancient Greek instruments such as the lyre, kithara, pandura, santur and darbuka, to give a few examples. With this, they distinguish themselves from the groups earlier mentioned: they seek (and find) that typical Hellenistic sound. Another very important instrument to their sound is the voice. Influences of the collaboration with singer Dessislava Stefanova (head of the London Bulgarian Choir) is obviously heard as in the title track 'Psychostasia'.

In the official video clip of the pretty walzing 'Selene's Awakening Horos' they take us back to a self-recreated past: a hedonistic party where I see hidden vampires hanging around - the type as seen in 'Interview with the Vampire'. Delicious imagery. The use of masks and theatrical outfits during live performances put the audience, besides the music, also visually in the right mood. Fun fact: their music was used during the Gucci Spring / Summer 2016 Fashion Show.

Back to the music with 'Nemesis Rhamnousia', an enchanting song in which the reciting male voice and Greek (?) lyrics immediately recall a dark ritual sacrifice. 'Thracian Gaia' lingers because of folky rhythm and timbre (just like 'Deo's Erotas'). 'Politeia of the Unnamed' is a bit too cheesy for me. In 'Nature's Metamorphosis' we end up in a tribal séance with lamenting chant and a well-blending didgeridoo at the end. On 'Enchanting Oneiro' it sounds more introvert and fragile again. Dark mysticism, this time with whispering and reciting voice, forms the core of 'Hypnos'.

The new songs fit nicely with the first release. With a few broken chords and many wordless “aahs” the ensemble continues to cloak themself within a mysterious veil, as to be heard in 'Psyches' Choros'. You can put the beautifully hypnotic 'The Journey of the Psyche' on repeat without being bored. After all, four minutes are too short for me to make a journey of the psyche. The very last track is 'Asterofeggis Nyx', a final and fitting climax full of spells and wandering, lost entities. Haunting!

With tracks that have been recorded since 2008 this is, 10 years later, an album that has been made with great care and love. Let's hope that with the next new songs they can fill a full album again and release it. I am looking forward to continue my journey of further discovering this fascinating Greek world.

Daemonia Nymphe can be seen live on Black Easter on Saturday April 20th 2019!

Tom PLOVIE
08/01/2019


 

Next reviews
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Other reviews from DAEMONIA NYMPHE
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number