tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/01/2019 : DAEMONIA NYMPHE - PSYCHOSTASIA

DAEMONIA NYMPHE

PSYCHOSTASIA

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval
Self-released
08/01/2019, Tom PLOVIE

In 2013 the Greek folk ensemble Daemonia Nymphe released the album ‘Psychostasia’. That happened through the French label Prikosnovénie. At the end of November 2018 a re-release of this acclaimed album came out, this time self-released and with an additional 3 extra tracks. It is an opportunity to rediscover this album or... to discover it, as for me.

The opening track immediately refers to Greek mythology. We’re introduced to the God of the West Wind: Zephyros. With 'Zephiros's Enlightening Anemos' we get a song that immediately sets the tone for the whole album. With mystical chants, catchy rhythms, folky and ritual atmospheres, the link can be made with the music of Dead Can Dance, Lisa Gerrard, Ataraxia or Mila Mar.

The two names connected to Daemonia Nymphe are Spyros Giasafakis and Evi Stergiou. They reinforce themselves with rotating musicians to create an ethereal ensemble. They seek inspiration in ancient Greek instruments such as the lyre, kithara, pandura, santur and darbuka, to give a few examples. With this, they distinguish themselves from the groups earlier mentioned: they seek (and find) that typical Hellenistic sound. Another very important instrument to their sound is the voice. Influences of the collaboration with singer Dessislava Stefanova (head of the London Bulgarian Choir) is obviously heard as in the title track 'Psychostasia'.

In the official video clip of the pretty walzing 'Selene's Awakening Horos' they take us back to a self-recreated past: a hedonistic party where I see hidden vampires hanging around - the type as seen in 'Interview with the Vampire'. Delicious imagery. The use of masks and theatrical outfits during live performances put the audience, besides the music, also visually in the right mood. Fun fact: their music was used during the Gucci Spring / Summer 2016 Fashion Show.

Back to the music with 'Nemesis Rhamnousia', an enchanting song in which the reciting male voice and Greek (?) lyrics immediately recall a dark ritual sacrifice. 'Thracian Gaia' lingers because of folky rhythm and timbre (just like 'Deo's Erotas'). 'Politeia of the Unnamed' is a bit too cheesy for me. In 'Nature's Metamorphosis' we end up in a tribal séance with lamenting chant and a well-blending didgeridoo at the end. On 'Enchanting Oneiro' it sounds more introvert and fragile again. Dark mysticism, this time with whispering and reciting voice, forms the core of 'Hypnos'.

The new songs fit nicely with the first release. With a few broken chords and many wordless “aahs” the ensemble continues to cloak themself within a mysterious veil, as to be heard in 'Psyches' Choros'. You can put the beautifully hypnotic 'The Journey of the Psyche' on repeat without being bored. After all, four minutes are too short for me to make a journey of the psyche. The very last track is 'Asterofeggis Nyx', a final and fitting climax full of spells and wandering, lost entities. Haunting!

With tracks that have been recorded since 2008 this is, 10 years later, an album that has been made with great care and love. Let's hope that with the next new songs they can fill a full album again and release it. I am looking forward to continue my journey of further discovering this fascinating Greek world.

Daemonia Nymphe can be seen live on Black Easter on Saturday April 20th 2019!

Tom PLOVIE
08/01/2019


 

Next reviews
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Other reviews from DAEMONIA NYMPHE
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16