tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

EPHYRA

Along The Path

MusicCD
Epic MetalMedievalMetal

[72/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At end of 2015, Along The Path by the melodic death metal/epic folk metal band Ephyra was released. These Italians are around since 2005 and this is their second album. The singing is done by Nadia Casali, as well as by Franseco Braga for the growls and grunts.

A number of elements which are typical for Viking- and medieval metal are included: the violins, flutes and the sing-along choruses. What makes them different from the rest? Surely Nadia’s angelic voice, the decent songs and a good production and good arrangements. The listener is immersed in a medieval and dark atmosphere. There are some nice moments on this album: Flaming Tears, with a nice short intro and incisive guitar work. Riding in the Sun is even better. Human Chaos contains excellent vocals that are quite catchy, with guitar riffs that refer to Iron Maiden. Hope is an atmospheric and acoustic ballad. So, this album contains both heavy and some lighter stuff.

As a whole this album is not bad, but it has been done before. I miss some character and the songs are a tad too predictable. But fans of both Eluveitie and Ensiferum surely will love this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Eind 2015 verscheen Along The Path van de melodieuze deathmetal/epicfolkmetalband Ephyra. Deze Italianen zijn al sinds 2005 bezig en dit is hun tweede album. De zang wordt door Nadia Casali verzorgd, alsook door een mannenstem (Franseco Braga) die de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening neemt.

Een aantal facetten is typisch voor metal met medieval- en vikingelementen zoals het gebruik van violen, fluiten en meezingbare refreinen. Wat onderscheidt ze van de rest? De engelenzang van Nadia en het degelijke songwerk. Het is vooral de som van de delen die het album sterk maakt, een goede productie en arrangementen. Dat zorgt ervoor dat je wordt ondergedompeld in een middeleeuws en donker sfeertje. Dat levert een paar mooie momenten op: Flaming Tears bezit een mooie korte intro met snedig gitaarwerk. Riding in the Sun is zelfs nog beter. Human Chaos bevat mooie krachtige vocals en gitaarriffs die wat aan Iron Maiden refereren. Hope is een sfeerrijke akoestische ballade. Een album met zware songs en ter afwisseling ook wat lichter verteerbaar werk.

Als geheel is dit album niet onaardig, maar het steekt ook niet uit boven de massa. Ik mis wat eigenheid en de songs zijn op een voorspelbare manier ineengeknutseld, maar liefhebbers van Ensiferum en Eluveitie zullen hier ongetwijfeld wel plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path 09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

Music reviews

20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession