tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

EPHYRA

Along The Path

MusicCD
Epic MetalMedievalMetal

[72/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At end of 2015, Along The Path by the melodic death metal/epic folk metal band Ephyra was released. These Italians are around since 2005 and this is their second album. The singing is done by Nadia Casali, as well as by Franseco Braga for the growls and grunts.

A number of elements which are typical for Viking- and medieval metal are included: the violins, flutes and the sing-along choruses. What makes them different from the rest? Surely Nadia’s angelic voice, the decent songs and a good production and good arrangements. The listener is immersed in a medieval and dark atmosphere. There are some nice moments on this album: Flaming Tears, with a nice short intro and incisive guitar work. Riding in the Sun is even better. Human Chaos contains excellent vocals that are quite catchy, with guitar riffs that refer to Iron Maiden. Hope is an atmospheric and acoustic ballad. So, this album contains both heavy and some lighter stuff.

As a whole this album is not bad, but it has been done before. I miss some character and the songs are a tad too predictable. But fans of both Eluveitie and Ensiferum surely will love this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Eind 2015 verscheen Along The Path van de melodieuze deathmetal/epicfolkmetalband Ephyra. Deze Italianen zijn al sinds 2005 bezig en dit is hun tweede album. De zang wordt door Nadia Casali verzorgd, alsook door een mannenstem (Franseco Braga) die de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening neemt.

Een aantal facetten is typisch voor metal met medieval- en vikingelementen zoals het gebruik van violen, fluiten en meezingbare refreinen. Wat onderscheidt ze van de rest? De engelenzang van Nadia en het degelijke songwerk. Het is vooral de som van de delen die het album sterk maakt, een goede productie en arrangementen. Dat zorgt ervoor dat je wordt ondergedompeld in een middeleeuws en donker sfeertje. Dat levert een paar mooie momenten op: Flaming Tears bezit een mooie korte intro met snedig gitaarwerk. Riding in the Sun is zelfs nog beter. Human Chaos bevat mooie krachtige vocals en gitaarriffs die wat aan Iron Maiden refereren. Hope is een sfeerrijke akoestische ballade. Een album met zware songs en ter afwisseling ook wat lichter verteerbaar werk.

Als geheel is dit album niet onaardig, maar het steekt ook niet uit boven de massa. Ik mis wat eigenheid en de songs zijn op een voorspelbare manier ineengeknutseld, maar liefhebbers van Ensiferum en Eluveitie zullen hier ongetwijfeld wel plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path 09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete