tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

EPHYRA

Along The Path

MusicCD
Epic MetalMedievalMetal

[72/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At end of 2015, Along The Path by the melodic death metal/epic folk metal band Ephyra was released. These Italians are around since 2005 and this is their second album. The singing is done by Nadia Casali, as well as by Franseco Braga for the growls and grunts.

A number of elements which are typical for Viking- and medieval metal are included: the violins, flutes and the sing-along choruses. What makes them different from the rest? Surely Nadia’s angelic voice, the decent songs and a good production and good arrangements. The listener is immersed in a medieval and dark atmosphere. There are some nice moments on this album: Flaming Tears, with a nice short intro and incisive guitar work. Riding in the Sun is even better. Human Chaos contains excellent vocals that are quite catchy, with guitar riffs that refer to Iron Maiden. Hope is an atmospheric and acoustic ballad. So, this album contains both heavy and some lighter stuff.

As a whole this album is not bad, but it has been done before. I miss some character and the songs are a tad too predictable. But fans of both Eluveitie and Ensiferum surely will love this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Eind 2015 verscheen Along The Path van de melodieuze deathmetal/epicfolkmetalband Ephyra. Deze Italianen zijn al sinds 2005 bezig en dit is hun tweede album. De zang wordt door Nadia Casali verzorgd, alsook door een mannenstem (Franseco Braga) die de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening neemt.

Een aantal facetten is typisch voor metal met medieval- en vikingelementen zoals het gebruik van violen, fluiten en meezingbare refreinen. Wat onderscheidt ze van de rest? De engelenzang van Nadia en het degelijke songwerk. Het is vooral de som van de delen die het album sterk maakt, een goede productie en arrangementen. Dat zorgt ervoor dat je wordt ondergedompeld in een middeleeuws en donker sfeertje. Dat levert een paar mooie momenten op: Flaming Tears bezit een mooie korte intro met snedig gitaarwerk. Riding in the Sun is zelfs nog beter. Human Chaos bevat mooie krachtige vocals en gitaarriffs die wat aan Iron Maiden refereren. Hope is een sfeerrijke akoestische ballade. Een album met zware songs en ter afwisseling ook wat lichter verteerbaar werk.

Als geheel is dit album niet onaardig, maar het steekt ook niet uit boven de massa. Ik mis wat eigenheid en de songs zijn op een voorspelbare manier ineengeknutseld, maar liefhebbers van Ensiferum en Eluveitie zullen hier ongetwijfeld wel plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path 09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)