tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

03/12/2017 : IVANKOVA - Ivankovà EP

IVANKOVA

Ivankovà EP

MusicCD (EP)
Dark AmbientGothicMedievalMinimalMystical

[90/100]   

Holy Hoof Records
03/12/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Ivankovà is the solo project of Madrid-based singer and producer Irene Ivankovà, formerly of No Wave-ish trio Difunta Calva. In this four track EP though, she ditches all rock-related instruments and uses exclusively her voice and a bit of keyboards to build a tiny, Gothic work of art.

The four tracks on this EP, originally recorded in 2015 but now recently remastered and re-released on CDr, fall definitely on the darker side of the musical spectrum. With the sole exception of the lovely and more meditative "Nasiaanatama", the other three tracks are mostly repetitive Gothic mantras, built around simple keyboard or vocal lines, on top of which we can hear layers of voices coming in and out, like fog on a winter night, the soundtrack to an early XIX century Romantic painting.

The whole EP can be listened to as if it were religious music, which links it to a long tradition in the Goth canon, from mid-80s Dead Can Dance and SPK, to late-90s Medieval Darkwave and post-Apocalyptic Folk.

This EP has only one defect: it's too short.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
03/12/2017


03/12/2017 : IVANKOVA - Ivankovà EP 03/12/2017 : IVANKOVA - Ivankovà EP 03/12/2017 : IVANKOVA - Ivankovà EP

 

Next reviews
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LAU NAU • Poseidon
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control

 

Same genre: MYSTICAL
RON HOWARD • Inferno
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
FORREST FANG • Letters To The Farthest Star
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible