tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

16/11/2017 : STAATSEINDE - Neue Zyklus

STAATSEINDE

Neue Zyklus

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Enfant Terrible
16/11/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dutch minimal synth-duo Der Neo (synths, vocals) and Andy Dufter (synth, programming, vocals) have already implemented various musical attacks on the ‘electro-world’. 'Neue Niederländische Welle' music, they call it. In September Neue Zyklus, their 6-song debut EP, will be released on Enfant Terrible. The EP will be limited to 250 copies only, and it’s finger-licking good, so I would recommend to the lovers of cool Minimal Synth-Wave, order it fast! That's the only thing we can say after just a listening a couple of … or rather …. 10 times to it.

Min Min instantly sets the tone. Vocoder cuts-up vocals, a pounding drum machine mixed with some amazing retro sounding analog pleasure. It sounds retrospective as well as futuristic, sounds simple but it isn’t, it sounds like a wall. Only some 4 minutes later, Kosmos drills a way towards your eardrums. Sung in German, the song sounds very poppy and retro and it reminds me a little of Welle:Erdball.

Then we will get a cover-version of I Would Die 4 You (from Prince), although under the name Darling. Taking-on a song of the godfather of pop and getting away with it, it works out pretty well for Staatseinde! A delicious eighties Synth-pop sound with a melange of synths really revives this song.

But enough melancholy, time for tempo and synth-pop of the better kind with Just Chaos. It's not very recognisable but the original is from Ace Of Base! Don’t let the song title misguide you … this is beautiful, melodic, well-sounding synth-pop that flashes you back to the eighties.

And then again, it’s back to Welle:Erball sounds with Volar. Although I don’t think the Commodore 64 was taken down from the shelves, it surely sounds like that. Almost a sing-a-long if you hear the catchy melody. It makes you feel happy while sliding with wiggling hips across the foggy dance floor.

Unfortunately, we have to make do with these only these 6 tracks on this EP. So, Yedo is the closure song and proves once more this band can do it all. It's up-tempo, hooky, strong and slamming... take all those ingredients together and you get damn close to EBM. Some more aggression in the build-up, though it is still the synths that take the upper hand. In a near mythical atmosphere, the super dry rhythms continue to roll and thunder to the bitter end.

With this Neue Zyklus EP Staatseinde put themselves firmly on the electro-world map. The Dutch duo also included a fancy business card with a golden bow logo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/11/2017


NL

Het Nederlandse minimal synth-duo Der Neo (synths, vocals) en Andy Dufter (synth, programming, vocals) pleegde al verschillende muzikale aanvallen in electroland. De 'Neue Niederländische Welle', zo noemen de olijke Nederlanders hun muziek. Half september komt Neue Zyklus, hun 6 songs tellende debuut-EP uit op Enfant Terrible. De EP verschijnt op 250 exemplaren, dus er snel bij zijn is een must... en de liefhebber van kille minimale synthwave zal er de vingers bij aflikken. Dat is het enige wat we al met zekerheid kunnen onthullen na een luisterbeurtje of...10.

Min Min zet meteen de toon. Een vocoder doorklieft de stemmen, een machinale drumbeat wordt zwaar gemengd met geweldig retro klinkend analoog muzikaal genot. Het klinkt even retro als futuristisch, zit al bij al niet zo simpel in elkaar, maar klint als een dijk. En een kleine 4 minuten later boort Kosmos zich een weg richting trommelvliezen. De tekst is in het Duits. De song klinkt heel poppy en retro, en ik kan me niet van de indruk ontdoen een ferme scheut Welle:Erdball te horen.


Daarna krijgen we een cover van I Would Die 4 You van Prince, weliswaar onder de naam Darling. Een nummer van the godfather zelve aandurven en alle eer aandoen. Het lukt Staatseinde met bravoure! Een heerlijke eighties synthpop-sound laat deze song herleven in een melange van synths.


Genoeg melancholie, tijd voor tempo en synthpop van de betere soort met Just Chaos. Het zal onwaarschijnlijk klinken, maar het origineel is van Ace Of Base! De titel typeert het nummer, wel integendeel. Dit is een mooi melodieuze, lekker klinkende synthpopsoort die de eighties terugbrengen anno 2017.

Dan gaat het weer even de Welle:erdball-toer op met Volar. Hoewel ik niet het gevoel heb dat de Commodore 64 van stal werd gehaald, klinkt het toch zo. Een halve meezinger als je de aanstekelijke melodie hoort. Je wordt er vrolijk van, het doet je heupwiegen en tegelijk verder schrijden over een in witte mist gehulde dansvloer.


Jammer genoeg moeten we het wat deze EP betreft met 6 nummers doen. Yedo is de afsluiter en toontn dat de band van alle markten thuis is. Het heeft tempo, is hoekig, robuust, dreunt.... als je die elementen optelt kom je héél dicht bij EBM. Wat meer agressie in de opbouw van de song, hoewel het toch de synths zijn die de overhand houden. In een bijna mythische atmosfeer dondert de kurkdroge ritmesectie verder.

Staatseinde zet zichzelf met deze EP heel sterk op de kaart. Het Nederlandse duo bezorgt hier een visitekaartje met een gouden strik rond.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/11/2017


16/11/2017 : STAATSEINDE - Neue Zyklus 16/11/2017 : STAATSEINDE - Neue Zyklus

 

Next reviews
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
OUR BANSHEE • 4200
IMPLANT • The Phone Call (EP)
SEESAYLE • Stamina
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Other reviews from STAATSEINDE
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection