tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

16/11/2017 : STAATSEINDE - Neue Zyklus

STAATSEINDE

Neue Zyklus

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Enfant Terrible
16/11/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dutch minimal synth-duo Der Neo (synths, vocals) and Andy Dufter (synth, programming, vocals) have already implemented various musical attacks on the ‘electro-world’. 'Neue Niederländische Welle' music, they call it. In September Neue Zyklus, their 6-song debut EP, will be released on Enfant Terrible. The EP will be limited to 250 copies only, and it’s finger-licking good, so I would recommend to the lovers of cool Minimal Synth-Wave, order it fast! That's the only thing we can say after just a listening a couple of … or rather …. 10 times to it.

Min Min instantly sets the tone. Vocoder cuts-up vocals, a pounding drum machine mixed with some amazing retro sounding analog pleasure. It sounds retrospective as well as futuristic, sounds simple but it isn’t, it sounds like a wall. Only some 4 minutes later, Kosmos drills a way towards your eardrums. Sung in German, the song sounds very poppy and retro and it reminds me a little of Welle:Erdball.

Then we will get a cover-version of I Would Die 4 You (from Prince), although under the name Darling. Taking-on a song of the godfather of pop and getting away with it, it works out pretty well for Staatseinde! A delicious eighties Synth-pop sound with a melange of synths really revives this song.

But enough melancholy, time for tempo and synth-pop of the better kind with Just Chaos. It's not very recognisable but the original is from Ace Of Base! Don’t let the song title misguide you … this is beautiful, melodic, well-sounding synth-pop that flashes you back to the eighties.

And then again, it’s back to Welle:Erball sounds with Volar. Although I don’t think the Commodore 64 was taken down from the shelves, it surely sounds like that. Almost a sing-a-long if you hear the catchy melody. It makes you feel happy while sliding with wiggling hips across the foggy dance floor.

Unfortunately, we have to make do with these only these 6 tracks on this EP. So, Yedo is the closure song and proves once more this band can do it all. It's up-tempo, hooky, strong and slamming... take all those ingredients together and you get damn close to EBM. Some more aggression in the build-up, though it is still the synths that take the upper hand. In a near mythical atmosphere, the super dry rhythms continue to roll and thunder to the bitter end.

With this Neue Zyklus EP Staatseinde put themselves firmly on the electro-world map. The Dutch duo also included a fancy business card with a golden bow logo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/11/2017


NL

Het Nederlandse minimal synth-duo Der Neo (synths, vocals) en Andy Dufter (synth, programming, vocals) pleegde al verschillende muzikale aanvallen in electroland. De 'Neue Niederländische Welle', zo noemen de olijke Nederlanders hun muziek. Half september komt Neue Zyklus, hun 6 songs tellende debuut-EP uit op Enfant Terrible. De EP verschijnt op 250 exemplaren, dus er snel bij zijn is een must... en de liefhebber van kille minimale synthwave zal er de vingers bij aflikken. Dat is het enige wat we al met zekerheid kunnen onthullen na een luisterbeurtje of...10.

Min Min zet meteen de toon. Een vocoder doorklieft de stemmen, een machinale drumbeat wordt zwaar gemengd met geweldig retro klinkend analoog muzikaal genot. Het klinkt even retro als futuristisch, zit al bij al niet zo simpel in elkaar, maar klint als een dijk. En een kleine 4 minuten later boort Kosmos zich een weg richting trommelvliezen. De tekst is in het Duits. De song klinkt heel poppy en retro, en ik kan me niet van de indruk ontdoen een ferme scheut Welle:Erdball te horen.


Daarna krijgen we een cover van I Would Die 4 You van Prince, weliswaar onder de naam Darling. Een nummer van the godfather zelve aandurven en alle eer aandoen. Het lukt Staatseinde met bravoure! Een heerlijke eighties synthpop-sound laat deze song herleven in een melange van synths.


Genoeg melancholie, tijd voor tempo en synthpop van de betere soort met Just Chaos. Het zal onwaarschijnlijk klinken, maar het origineel is van Ace Of Base! De titel typeert het nummer, wel integendeel. Dit is een mooi melodieuze, lekker klinkende synthpopsoort die de eighties terugbrengen anno 2017.

Dan gaat het weer even de Welle:erdball-toer op met Volar. Hoewel ik niet het gevoel heb dat de Commodore 64 van stal werd gehaald, klinkt het toch zo. Een halve meezinger als je de aanstekelijke melodie hoort. Je wordt er vrolijk van, het doet je heupwiegen en tegelijk verder schrijden over een in witte mist gehulde dansvloer.


Jammer genoeg moeten we het wat deze EP betreft met 6 nummers doen. Yedo is de afsluiter en toontn dat de band van alle markten thuis is. Het heeft tempo, is hoekig, robuust, dreunt.... als je die elementen optelt kom je héél dicht bij EBM. Wat meer agressie in de opbouw van de song, hoewel het toch de synths zijn die de overhand houden. In een bijna mythische atmosfeer dondert de kurkdroge ritmesectie verder.

Staatseinde zet zichzelf met deze EP heel sterk op de kaart. Het Nederlandse duo bezorgt hier een visitekaartje met een gouden strik rond.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/11/2017


16/11/2017 : STAATSEINDE - Neue Zyklus 16/11/2017 : STAATSEINDE - Neue Zyklus

 

Next reviews
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
OUR BANSHEE • 4200
IMPLANT • The Phone Call (EP)
SEESAYLE • Stamina
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Other reviews from STAATSEINDE
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)