tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 12 inch review

10/01/2021 : BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER - Lost Feelings

BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER

Lost Feelings

Music12 inch
DarkwaveSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Kortrijk (B) resident Kurt Vanhollebeke and his musical companion Corina Baekeland are delighting us with a brand new 12 inch. Thanks to their debut, Shadows At Night, we already know they are more than capable of creating great and catchy minimal / dark wave.

And now this 12 inch follows. Immediately the atmosphere is set with ‘Lost Feelings’, a synth-wave trip lasting just under three minutes. With a very typical analog drum rhythm that seems to come from the past and with entwined analog synth sounds that send chills down your spine.

‘Behind Closed Doors’ unfolds likewise; great retro sound and rhythms. At times it reminds me of the first songs by Jean Michelle Jarre that I got to know as a teenager. It exudes the atmosphere of those times, a musically broad piece of pleasure.

Then ‘Julia’ walks into the story. Or should I say stumbles… As if it is a difficult journey. Corina frees dark spoken words in this song, the way Anne Clark likes to do too. ‘Julia’ is in pain and lives in fear and this can be sensed. Next ’Lust’ proves that it still sounds great with some more pace. A dark-wave song of the kind many of you have spent hours dwelling on dark dance floors. Yes, it’s that kind of blissfully and immersive dark-wave.

The story continues with ‘Black Snow in Summer’ that doesn't need 50 layers of instruments to produce convincing music. Especially when you put Mika Goedrijk (This Morn’ Omina) behind the knobs and faders. Do you want to own this 4-song dark-wave-12 inch? You'd better be fast because it's strictly limited to 100 copies. And it's a must have!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2021


NL

Kortrijkzaan Kurt Vanhollebeke en zijn muzikale metgezellin Corina Baekeland verblijden ons met een nieuwe 12 inch.
Uit hun debuut Shadows At Night weten we al dat ze geweldig pakkende minimal/dark wave meer dan in de vingers hebben.

Nu volgt een 12 inch-er. En meteen is de sfeer gezet. Lost Feelings is een synthwave-trip van een kleine drie minuten. Typerend is het analoge drumritme dat uit het verleden lijkt te komen, met daarin verwikkelde analoge synthsounds die koude rillingen over je rug jagen.

In dezelfde geweldig klinkende retrosound en ritmes, ontvouwt Behind Closed Doors zich. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan de eerste songs van Jean-Michel Jarre die ik leerde kennen als puber. Het ademt de sfeer van toen. Een muzikaal breed uitgesponnen stuk genot.

Dan komt Julia het verhaal binnen gewandeld. Ze strompelt eigenlijk meer. Alsof het een moeilijke tocht is. Corina tapt in deze song uit vatendonkere spoken words, zoals ook Anne Clark het graag doet. Julia lijdt pijn, leeft in angst. En dat is voelbaar. Dat het met meer tempo ook nog steeds geweldig klinkt, bewijst Lust. Een zeer dansbare darkwave song.

Het verhaal zet zich voort. Black Snow in Summer heeft geen 50 instrumenten nodig om overtuigende muziek neer te zetten. Mika Goedrijk zat achter de knoppen. Wil jij deze 4 songs tellende darkwave-12-incher in je bezit? Be fast, want de oplage is beperkt tot 100 stuks. En het is meer dan de moeite waard er zo één te hebben.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2021


Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies