tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 12 inch review

10/01/2021 : BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER - Lost Feelings

BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER

Lost Feelings

Music12 inch
DarkwaveSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Kortrijk (B) resident Kurt Vanhollebeke and his musical companion Corina Baekeland are delighting us with a brand new 12 inch. Thanks to their debut, Shadows At Night, we already know they are more than capable of creating great and catchy minimal / dark wave.

And now this 12 inch follows. Immediately the atmosphere is set with ‘Lost Feelings’, a synth-wave trip lasting just under three minutes. With a very typical analog drum rhythm that seems to come from the past and with entwined analog synth sounds that send chills down your spine.

‘Behind Closed Doors’ unfolds likewise; great retro sound and rhythms. At times it reminds me of the first songs by Jean Michelle Jarre that I got to know as a teenager. It exudes the atmosphere of those times, a musically broad piece of pleasure.

Then ‘Julia’ walks into the story. Or should I say stumbles… As if it is a difficult journey. Corina frees dark spoken words in this song, the way Anne Clark likes to do too. ‘Julia’ is in pain and lives in fear and this can be sensed. Next ’Lust’ proves that it still sounds great with some more pace. A dark-wave song of the kind many of you have spent hours dwelling on dark dance floors. Yes, it’s that kind of blissfully and immersive dark-wave.

The story continues with ‘Black Snow in Summer’ that doesn't need 50 layers of instruments to produce convincing music. Especially when you put Mika Goedrijk (This Morn’ Omina) behind the knobs and faders. Do you want to own this 4-song dark-wave-12 inch? You'd better be fast because it's strictly limited to 100 copies. And it's a must have!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2021


NL

Kortrijkzaan Kurt Vanhollebeke en zijn muzikale metgezellin Corina Baekeland verblijden ons met een nieuwe 12 inch.
Uit hun debuut Shadows At Night weten we al dat ze geweldig pakkende minimal/dark wave meer dan in de vingers hebben.

Nu volgt een 12 inch-er. En meteen is de sfeer gezet. Lost Feelings is een synthwave-trip van een kleine drie minuten. Typerend is het analoge drumritme dat uit het verleden lijkt te komen, met daarin verwikkelde analoge synthsounds die koude rillingen over je rug jagen.

In dezelfde geweldig klinkende retrosound en ritmes, ontvouwt Behind Closed Doors zich. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan de eerste songs van Jean-Michel Jarre die ik leerde kennen als puber. Het ademt de sfeer van toen. Een muzikaal breed uitgesponnen stuk genot.

Dan komt Julia het verhaal binnen gewandeld. Ze strompelt eigenlijk meer. Alsof het een moeilijke tocht is. Corina tapt in deze song uit vatendonkere spoken words, zoals ook Anne Clark het graag doet. Julia lijdt pijn, leeft in angst. En dat is voelbaar. Dat het met meer tempo ook nog steeds geweldig klinkt, bewijst Lust. Een zeer dansbare darkwave song.

Het verhaal zet zich voort. Black Snow in Summer heeft geen 50 instrumenten nodig om overtuigende muziek neer te zetten. Mika Goedrijk zat achter de knoppen. Wil jij deze 4 songs tellende darkwave-12-incher in je bezit? Be fast, want de oplage is beperkt tot 100 stuks. En het is meer dan de moeite waard er zo één te hebben.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2021


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide