tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

29/03/2017 : STRUCKTURA - Satues Also Die

STRUCKTURA

Satues Also Die

MusicCassette
DarkwaveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Demonodrome
29/03/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Strucktura is also one third of the band Rosa Apátrida, which released the EP Antifascist Darkwave in 2015 to much acclaim. That EP was the rare example of a darkwave/synthpop band that managed to convey a highly political anti-fascist message whilst at the same time doing it through four surprisingly catchy songs.

This basic idea is also the main foundation of the first Strucktura EP, Statues Also Die, which at first was released only digitally but has also been recently released on cassette through Demonodrome Records, from Barcelona. Even though we can hear the similarities with the Rosa Apátrida sound, there are also big differences. In these four tracks everything sounds a bit more deliberate, somehow slower, and definitely darker, with a bigger emphasis on how the synth arpeggios interact with the drum machines, in a manner that somehow brings to mind the current synthwave scene and late-nineties electro.

The vocals and lyrical content also feel very measured, with a baritone voice soaked in delay and reverb. The lyrics are still highly political (Statues also die/Monuments they fall), but the overall atmosphere is definitely bleak, and the way they are delivered feels like a rather grim reflection on the state of the world and human nature, though always with a pinch of call-to-action here and there.

Strucktura is defnitely one of the projects of the new underground synth/darkwave scene to keep an eye on.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
29/03/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)