tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

23/03/2017 : PEINE PERDUE - Histoire d'une Âme

PEINE PERDUE

Histoire d'une Âme

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[81/100]   

Electrock Recordings
23/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Electronic Emergencies first release of 2017 is Peine Perdue's EP Histoire d'une Âme: Peine Perdue are a synthpop/minimal wave duo from Paris and Berlin. This EP, limited to 300 vinyl copies, is divided into four pictures. It tells the story of the mystical suffering by a nun who is canonized. Based on the cult-movie Therese from the 80s, directed by Alain Cavalier.

Picture 1 (La Devotion) is very minimalistic. A ticking sound, punctuated with loose notes that in a bizar way still form something that can be called a melody. Accompanied by a narative whispering French voice. Picture 2 (Le Renoncement) sounds very dark, with a typical synthwave curtain of sound and an incantatory voice. Despite the modesty of the hymn there is a glimmer of hope in it. Picture 3 (L'amitie particuliere) is thoroughbred sythwave, slightly more tempo and analogue sounds from the old days. After the last two songs we enter old fashioned synthwave here. Picture 4 (La Beautitude) then again is slightly more bizar, minimal and with an apparently endless array of sounds, tones and beeps.

Certainly something different, to put it mildly. Even the design of the EP is not classical and that creates an extra dimension. All in all it has (and gives) something special. A lot of thought has gone into transforming a movie into 4 songs in a very unique way. And in this respect Peine Perdue certainly succeeded.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/03/2017


NL

Eerste uitgave van het label Electronic Emergencies in 2017 is de EP Histoire d'une Âme van Peine Perdue: een synthpop/minimal wave duo uit Parijs en Berlijn. En deze EP, waarvan er slechts 300 op een vinyl te verkrijgen zijn, is verdeeld in vier tableaus. Het vertelt het verhaal over het mystieke lijden van een non die heilig wordt verklaard. Gebasseerd op de cultfilm Therese uit de jaren '80, geregisseerd door Alain Cavalier.

Tableau 1 (La Devotion) is uitermate minimalistisch. Een tikkend geluid, doorspekt met losse klanken die op een bizarre wijze alsnog een melodie kunnen worden genoemd. Daarbij vergezeld van een vertellende, fluisterende Franse stem. Tableau 2 (Le Renoncement) klinkt heel donker, met heel typisch synthwave-klankgordijn en een bezwerende stem. Ondanks de ingetogenheid van de hymne klinkt er een stukje hoop in door.
Tableau 3 (L'amitie particuliere) is dan weer synthwave pur sang, met al iets meer tempo en de analoge klanken uit de oude doos. Hier zitten we, na de vorige twee songs, echt in de oude synthwave. Tableau 4 (La Beautitude) is dan weer meer bizar, minimal, met een schijnbaar onuitputtelijk arsenaal geluiden, klanken, bliepjes.

Het is eens iets anders dan anders, om het zo te stellen. Ook het opzet van deze EP is niet klassiek en dat zorgt dan weer een extra dimensie. Al bij al heeft én geeft het iets speciaal. Er is overduidelijk nagedacht over hoe een film in 4 songs te gieten, op een toch wel vrij unieke wijze. En in dat opzicht is Peine Perdue zeker geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/03/2017


 

Next reviews
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA • Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
ELM • Kampftrinker
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
THIS MORN'OMINA, STIN SCATZOR, MIREXXX, NOIZE MACHINE • Dark Discharge Industrial Night - Roubaix - 25/02/2017
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Other reviews from PEINE PERDUE
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
MESSIER 39 • Coil
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
QUAL • Sable
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DEEP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley

Music reviews

17
07
THE ART OF NOISE
In Visible Silence
15
07
KRAFTWERK
3-D Catalogue
13
07
DER PLAN
Unkapitulierbar
11
07
PENGUIN CAFE
The Imperfect Sea
09
07
PIG
Prey & Obey (EP)
05
07
SPECTRA PARIS
Retromachine Betty

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
07
Singer, composer Tonya Pugh aka TZA (PRGRM, Dismantled,) has past away.
22
07
INFEST 2017 LINE-UP COMPLETE with DIE KRUPPS & They Called him Zone!
20
07
BLACK LINE, the new (EBM) all - star band featuring Nitzer Ebb's Douglas McCarthy & Bon Harris!
19
07
Industrial Goth/Rock band PORN is back with their third album : The Ogre inside
18
07
New single from Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin’ online!
18
07
Tuxedomoon's bassist and co-composer, Peter Principle Dachert, died at the age of 63

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA / SPECTRA*PARIS)
I can in total freedom listen to Joy Division, SPK, Muse and Britney Spears...
12
07
NYTT LAND
‘OUR MAIN SOURCES OF INSPIRATION ARE THE SIBERIAN NATURE’
10
07
LIFELESS PAST
'In October 2017 we are going on our first international tour. We are going for 10 days to California in October. We will play in L.A., Oakland, San Francisco and San Diego.'
16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’

PHOTOS

02
07
COVENANT
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
02
07
MILDREDA
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

26
07
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
25
07
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
23
07
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE
21
07
PSYCHE
Eternal
20
07
BLACK LINE
Snap
19
07
BLONDIE
Long Time
18
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE