tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

23/03/2017 : PEINE PERDUE - Histoire d'une Âme

PEINE PERDUE

Histoire d'une Âme

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[81/100]   

Electrock Recordings
23/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Electronic Emergencies first release of 2017 is Peine Perdue's EP Histoire d'une Âme: Peine Perdue are a synthpop/minimal wave duo from Paris and Berlin. This EP, limited to 300 vinyl copies, is divided into four pictures. It tells the story of the mystical suffering by a nun who is canonized. Based on the cult-movie Therese from the 80s, directed by Alain Cavalier.

Picture 1 (La Devotion) is very minimalistic. A ticking sound, punctuated with loose notes that in a bizar way still form something that can be called a melody. Accompanied by a narative whispering French voice. Picture 2 (Le Renoncement) sounds very dark, with a typical synthwave curtain of sound and an incantatory voice. Despite the modesty of the hymn there is a glimmer of hope in it. Picture 3 (L'amitie particuliere) is thoroughbred sythwave, slightly more tempo and analogue sounds from the old days. After the last two songs we enter old fashioned synthwave here. Picture 4 (La Beautitude) then again is slightly more bizar, minimal and with an apparently endless array of sounds, tones and beeps.

Certainly something different, to put it mildly. Even the design of the EP is not classical and that creates an extra dimension. All in all it has (and gives) something special. A lot of thought has gone into transforming a movie into 4 songs in a very unique way. And in this respect Peine Perdue certainly succeeded.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/03/2017


NL

Eerste uitgave van het label Electronic Emergencies in 2017 is de EP Histoire d'une Âme van Peine Perdue: een synthpop/minimal wave duo uit Parijs en Berlijn. En deze EP, waarvan er slechts 300 op een vinyl te verkrijgen zijn, is verdeeld in vier tableaus. Het vertelt het verhaal over het mystieke lijden van een non die heilig wordt verklaard. Gebasseerd op de cultfilm Therese uit de jaren '80, geregisseerd door Alain Cavalier.

Tableau 1 (La Devotion) is uitermate minimalistisch. Een tikkend geluid, doorspekt met losse klanken die op een bizarre wijze alsnog een melodie kunnen worden genoemd. Daarbij vergezeld van een vertellende, fluisterende Franse stem. Tableau 2 (Le Renoncement) klinkt heel donker, met heel typisch synthwave-klankgordijn en een bezwerende stem. Ondanks de ingetogenheid van de hymne klinkt er een stukje hoop in door.
Tableau 3 (L'amitie particuliere) is dan weer synthwave pur sang, met al iets meer tempo en de analoge klanken uit de oude doos. Hier zitten we, na de vorige twee songs, echt in de oude synthwave. Tableau 4 (La Beautitude) is dan weer meer bizar, minimal, met een schijnbaar onuitputtelijk arsenaal geluiden, klanken, bliepjes.

Het is eens iets anders dan anders, om het zo te stellen. Ook het opzet van deze EP is niet klassiek en dat zorgt dan weer een extra dimensie. Al bij al heeft én geeft het iets speciaal. Er is overduidelijk nagedacht over hoe een film in 4 songs te gieten, op een toch wel vrij unieke wijze. En in dat opzicht is Peine Perdue zeker geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/03/2017


 

Next reviews
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA • Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
ELM • Kampftrinker
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
THIS MORN'OMINA, STIN SCATZOR, MIREXXX, NOIZE MACHINE • Dark Discharge Industrial Night - Roubaix - 25/02/2017
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Other reviews from PEINE PERDUE
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel