tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/03/2017 : ABSURD MINDS - Tempus Fugit

ABSURD MINDS

Tempus Fugit

MusicCD
EBMElectro 08/03/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

A full seven years after their last release, the cerebral German EBM-ers Absurd Minds return with their seventh full-length release Tempus Fugit.

Straight from the starting gate this album will strike fans of the band as a bit different. The soaring orchestration and chanting world-music (think Ofra Haza) at the start of Time Travel signals a potential departure. However this appeasing lullaby is immediately awoken by slapping beats and Stephan Grossman’s familiar low growl.

The tangentially pop-like melodies continue on Farewell. Pure EBM and industrial rhythms pulsate as one and evoke images of silhouettes gliding through a hazy basement club.

Moving through the rest of the album the subtle departure from previous efforts rises to full consciousness as the listener becomes enveloped in a fully developed, textured sound-scape. As with their previous efforts however the “Absurd” in the band’s name is a complete misnomer when it comes to the insightful and introspective lyrics that give life to the catchy electronics and dance floor beats. Those electronics and beats are accompanied by a complete, almost symphonic backdrop.

As for the rest of the album, Kreuzfeuer pounds. Now We Hear the Call contemplates. One World brings us together in a militant anthem of tolerance. Design or Coincidence questions. And the guitar work on Zerohour scintillates. They all make you want to move while you consider the implications of our existence; while Guardian is a legitimately beautiful love song.

The vocal and instrumental arrangements make Tempus Fugit a very satisfying listen all the way through, even if you feel it rather than listen to it. There is an evident maturity along with the EBM sentimentalities that make this act legendary.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
08/03/2017


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide