tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/03/2017 : ABSURD MINDS - Tempus Fugit

ABSURD MINDS

Tempus Fugit

MusicCD
EBMElectro 08/03/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

A full seven years after their last release, the cerebral German EBM-ers Absurd Minds return with their seventh full-length release Tempus Fugit.

Straight from the starting gate this album will strike fans of the band as a bit different. The soaring orchestration and chanting world-music (think Ofra Haza) at the start of Time Travel signals a potential departure. However this appeasing lullaby is immediately awoken by slapping beats and Stephan Grossman’s familiar low growl.

The tangentially pop-like melodies continue on Farewell. Pure EBM and industrial rhythms pulsate as one and evoke images of silhouettes gliding through a hazy basement club.

Moving through the rest of the album the subtle departure from previous efforts rises to full consciousness as the listener becomes enveloped in a fully developed, textured sound-scape. As with their previous efforts however the “Absurd” in the band’s name is a complete misnomer when it comes to the insightful and introspective lyrics that give life to the catchy electronics and dance floor beats. Those electronics and beats are accompanied by a complete, almost symphonic backdrop.

As for the rest of the album, Kreuzfeuer pounds. Now We Hear the Call contemplates. One World brings us together in a militant anthem of tolerance. Design or Coincidence questions. And the guitar work on Zerohour scintillates. They all make you want to move while you consider the implications of our existence; while Guardian is a legitimately beautiful love song.

The vocal and instrumental arrangements make Tempus Fugit a very satisfying listen all the way through, even if you feel it rather than listen to it. There is an evident maturity along with the EBM sentimentalities that make this act legendary.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
08/03/2017


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)