tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

21/12/2021 : RHYS FULBER - Brutal Nature

RHYS FULBER

Brutal Nature

MusicCD / Digital
EBMElectro

[80/100]   

FR Recordings
21/12/2021, Fred GADGET

EN

Brutal Nature is the new solo album of Front Line Assembly / Delerium / Noise unit / and many more mastermind and producer Rhys Fulber. After more than three decades and an extensive output, this artist has proven his skills and satisfaction guaranteed status to us all. Nature can be brutal, just like the opening track 'Central State Institute 16'! Over six minutes pounding beats and cutting sweeping sequencers. Dance-floor madness!

But it's not only pounding electro we encounter on this album, tracks like 'Chemical' and 'Fragility' reminds me a bit of the early Enya and Enigma tracks, probably due to the heavenly vocals of Jessica Bennett, also know as Jeza, softly sweeping through the song. Her voice can also be heard in the background on 'Marginalized', which has a stronger beat and sounds a bit harsher than the two aforementioned songs. The album is very varied, which invites you to listen to it in its entirety... Like a good old school concept album as it were... Blessed!

Because after the rather quiet previous tracks, 'Pyrrhic Act' is an ominous pounding again, which in my opinion, could be an outright Techno club hit. Although you do need to be in good shape because it takes six minutes of jumping around, luckily a minutes long lasting outro gives you some time to catch your breath. What follows is a more industrial sounding track, 'Pressure' which surely pleases many (nostalgic) Maschinenfest visitors (RIP) and Monolith fans. 'Night Render' again, sounds like a title track from an addictive dystopian Netflix series. 'Rogue Minority' really kicks it up a notch, somehow reminding me of the somewhat less infamous and experimental Front 242 album Pulse, which already dates back to 2003. Anyway, the slightly quieter and penultimate track is called 'Nature Reclaims' and is like the calm before a storm! Because Brutal Nature closes with perhaps the stunner of this album, 'Stare At The Sun' featuring the punky industrial and distorted vocals of Sara Taylor, better known as the head and voice of the LA industrial band Youth Code. Goosebumps guaranteed!

Fred GADGET
21/12/2021


NL

Brutal Nature heet het nieuwe soloalbum van deze Front Line Assembly / Delerium / Noise unit / en nog veel meer mastermind en producer Rhys Fulber. Na meer dan drie decennia en een intensieve output, heeft deze kunstenaar zijn vaardigheden en tevredenheidsgarantie al lang aan ons allemaal bewezen. De natuur kan bruut zijn, net als het openingsnummer 'Central State Institute 16'! Ongeveer zes minuten beukende beats en snijdende opzwepende sequencers. Dansvloerwaanzin!

Maar we komen niet alleen beukende electro tegen op dit album. Tracks als 'Chemical' en 'Fragility' doen me zelfs een beetje denken aan de vroege Enya en Enigma tracks, waarschijnlijk mede door de hemelse zanggeluiden van Jessica Bennett, ook wel bekend als Jeza, die zachtjes door de nummers zweven. Haar stem is ook op de achtergrond te horen op 'Marginalized', dat een weer een stevige beat heeft en daardoor wat harder klinkt dan de twee eerder genoemde nummers.

Het album is zeer afwisselend, wat ook uitnodigt om het in zijn geheel te beluisteren... Een goed old school conceptalbum... Zalig!

Want na de eerder rustige voorgaande tracks beukt het er weer onheilspellend op los in Pyrrhic Act, dat een regelrechte Techno clubhit zou kunnen zijn. Al moet je wel een goede conditie hebben want het is zes minuten lang hakken geblazen. Gelukkig geeft een minutenlange outro wel wat tijd om op adem te komen. Wat volgt is een meer industrieel klinkend nummer, 'Pressure'. Dat zal zeker bezoekers van Maschinenfest (RIP) en Monolithfans bekoren. 'Night Render' klink dan weer als een titeltrack van een verslavende dystopische Netflixreeks. 'Rogue Minority' zet dan weer stevig de beuk erin, en doet me ergens denken aan het minder beruchte en experimentele Front 242-album Pulse uit 2003. Het iets rustigere voorlaatste nummer heet 'Nature Reclaims' en is zoals de stilte voor een storm! Brutal Nature sluit namelijk af met wellicht de knaller van dit album, 'Stare At The Sun' featuring the punky industrial and distorted vocal of Sara Taylor, beter knows as the head and voice of the LA industrial band Youth Code. Goosebumps gegarandeerd!

Fred GADGET
21/12/2021


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets