tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this single (digital) review

22/12/2021 : DIRK DA DAVO - King Of Fools

DIRK DA DAVO

King Of Fools

MusicSingle (Digital)
Dark Alternative CountryDark WaveElectro RockNew wave

[80/100]   

Dancedelic D
22/12/2021, Fred GADGET

EN

With the release of this new solo single 'King Of Fools', Dirk Da Davo, you know, that other half of The Neon Judgment, is not giving up yet, after having put the aforementioned legendary act to sleep. This 'King Of Fools' is announced as the first of a series of singles that we may expect from him in 2022. And judging by what we hear on this single, it sounds very promising! Because this song could have been taken straight from the fantastic The Neon Judgment EP 'A Man Ain't No Man When A Man Ain't Got No Horse, Man…' from 1987. Just like the other tracks on that EP this new single is also interspersed with the The Far West and Western movies atmosphere. An atmosphere in which the dark (grave) voice of Dirk Da Davo thrives well. The ominous Orwellian ideas and socially critical messages do not surprise us the least coming from this man, but seen this strange times, let us not ask too many questions about who’s exactly meant the 'King” and even more those docile (?) 'fools”… Let us just all dance and enjoy this great song! We can’t wait for the next single to emerge!

Fred GADGET
22/12/2021


NL

Met de release van een nieuwe solosingle ‘King Of Fools’ kondigt Dirk Da Davo, uw weet wel, die ene helft van de The Neon Judgement, aan dat hij na het laten inslapen van voornoemde legendarische act, ook in 2022 niet bij de pakken wil blijven zitten. ‘King Of Fools’ wordt dan ook aangekondigd als eerste van een reeks singles die we in 2022 mogen verwachten. Afgaande op wat we op deze single horen klinkt dat alvast veelbelovend want dit nummer zou zo van de fantastische The Neon Judgement EP ‘A Man Ain't No Man When A Man Ain't Got No Horse, Man…’ uit 1987 genomen kunnen zijn. 'King Of Fools' ademt de Far West- en Westernsfeer waarin de donkere (graf)stem van Dirk Da Davo goed gedijt. Ook de onheilspellende Orwelliaanse ideeën en maatschappijkritische boodschappen verrassen niet uit de mond van deze man. Laten we ons in deze vreemde tijden vooral niet te veel afvragen wie precies met de “Kings”, en vooral met de volgzame(?) “fools” bedoeld worden en laat ons gewoon allemaal samen van dit steengoede nummer genieten! We kijken alvast halsreikend uit naar de volgende single!

Fred GADGET
22/12/2021


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu