tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

31/05/2017 : DIRK DA DAVO - Protest EP

DIRK DA DAVO

Protest EP

MusicDigital


[80/100]   

Dancedelic D
31/05/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

After Dirk Da Davo and TB Frank put down their joint and successful project The Neon Judgment, after 35 years of faithful service, DDD never really stopped producing music. In addition to recent releases with his other musical projects such as Neon Electronic's and 3DFLY, Dirk Da Davo today put out his second release under the ‘Dirk Da Davo’ moniker as successor to his 'When Even Angels Fall' released in 1987. This Digital Protest EP contains 5 songs that sound and feel (hey! what did you expect?) never really far from the well-known and legendary The Neon Judgment sound. The ingredients? A dark and sometimes somewhat melancholic voice, a guitar / bass guitar, a drum machine, a rack of synthesizers and last but not least some (finally) society critical lyrics. What more does an (alternative) music lover need?! This EP opens with an almost swinging charge against our hasted and stressful society in which DDD tell us to 'Go Slow' and take it easy. The next, and more experimental and industrially sounding song, 'The Brave', brings in a little contrast, in case you should fear this release might begin to sound a little too poppy. 'Bound' then reminds us of the period and releases in which TNJ was strongly influenced by the country & western style. Think, for example, 'Chinese Black' and 'Kid Shylene'. But also the atmosphere and sound that ‘Cold Heart’ and, the last song on this EP, ‘Deny It’ exhale, will satisfy many hungry TNJ fans. Perhaps Mr Da Davo does not really take this as a complimented, but even being only 50% of a legendary duo, he still succeeded in making this EP sound like 99% legendary.

Fred GADGET
31/05/2017


NL

Nadat Dirk Da Davo en TB Frank hun gezamenlijke en succesvolle project The Neon Judgement, na 35 jaar trouwe dienst, lieten inslapen (2015), is de eerstgenoemde nooit echt blijven stil zitten. Naast recente releases met zijn andere muzikale projecten zoals bijvoorbeeld Neon Electronics en 3DFLY releaset Dirk Da Davo vandaag zijn tweede echte Dirk Da Davo plaat, als opvolger van zijn in al 1987 uitgegeven ‘When Even Angels Fall’.

Deze digitale Protest EP bevat 5 nummers die, hoe kan het anders, nooit echt veraf klinken van de alom gekende The Neon Judgement sound. De ingrediënten? Een donkere, soms ietwat melancholische stem, een gitaar/Basgitaar, een drumcomputer, een rek synthesizers en (eindelijk) maatschappijkritische teksten. Wat meer heeft een (alternatief) mens nodig?!

Deze EP opent met een haast swingende aanklacht tegen onze gehaaste en stressvolle maatschappij waarin DDD ons met ‘Go Slow’ aanmaant het toch iets rustiger te doen. Het daarop volgende, en eerder experimentele en industrieel klinkende nummer, ‘The Brave’, zorgt dan weer voor een welgekomen schril contrast, moest u denken dat deze release iets te poppy zou gaan klinken. ‘Bound’ doet ons dan weer denken, met de nodige heimwee, aan de periode en releases waarin en waarop TNJ sterk beïnvloed was door de country & western style. Denk bijvoorbeeld aan ‘Chinese Black’ en ‘Kid Shylene’. Ook de sfeer en klank die ‘Cold Heart’ en het laatste nummer op deze EP, ‘Deny It’, uitademen zullen veel hongerige TNJ fans zonder twijfel bevredigen.

Misschien vindt de heer Da Davo het zelf geen echt compliment, maar als slechts 50% van een legendarisch duo, slaagt hij er toch in om voor 99% even legendarisch te klinken!

Fred GADGET
31/05/2017


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)