tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/05/2017 : PPM - Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

PPM

Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

MusicCD


[75/100]   

VPT Recordings
08/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Personal Propaganda Machine as a concept might sound like the kind of thing many would run a mile from in these days of fake news and internet horseshit but the hard fact remains that whenever we share pictures of our food, kids, holidays or political opinion online, we become just that - an unstoppable PPM. Taken a step further, you become the U.S. president or crazed Euro despot - or an angry somewhat bitter (but justifiably so) musical duo from North London.

Formed by Liquorice River frontman Ross Liddle and electronics creative Ian Goodey, PPM take motorik Krautrock influences like Cluster, Can and Neu, stir them with post-punk and electro agitators like Wire, Soft Cell, Back to the Planet and early Ultravox and turn the whole melange into a subtle pop/new-wave combination that triumphs on most of the eight tracks on offer here.

The opening Get The Goods boasts a modicum of New Order-esque influences (fittingly similar to their Power Corruption and Lies incarnation) - low-slung bassline, retro-drums, no chorus to speak of and understated nonchalant vocals - while recent lead single That's Life These Days continues Liddle's propensity to interpolate everyday expressions with hard-done-by lyrics, sung in his trademark carefree gargle.

Other highlights include the minimalist Tell Me The Time which fittingly resembles classic ZTT icons Propaganda's trancey P-Machinery and the tripped-out Depeche Mode-like Bad Times with its musical-box melody and a cutting lyric-bite in "because you've never really lived 'til you've ever really known Bad Times...".

Whilst Victims Of Our Own Efficiency might not be a heel-clicking jig in the park or a prompt to start popping champagne corks anytime soon, its overall DIY charm lies in its widescreen melodies, machines and mashed-up socio-political sensibilities.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/05/2017


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift