tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/05/2017 : PPM - Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

PPM

Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

MusicCD


[75/100]   

VPT Recordings
08/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Personal Propaganda Machine as a concept might sound like the kind of thing many would run a mile from in these days of fake news and internet horseshit but the hard fact remains that whenever we share pictures of our food, kids, holidays or political opinion online, we become just that - an unstoppable PPM. Taken a step further, you become the U.S. president or crazed Euro despot - or an angry somewhat bitter (but justifiably so) musical duo from North London.

Formed by Liquorice River frontman Ross Liddle and electronics creative Ian Goodey, PPM take motorik Krautrock influences like Cluster, Can and Neu, stir them with post-punk and electro agitators like Wire, Soft Cell, Back to the Planet and early Ultravox and turn the whole melange into a subtle pop/new-wave combination that triumphs on most of the eight tracks on offer here.

The opening Get The Goods boasts a modicum of New Order-esque influences (fittingly similar to their Power Corruption and Lies incarnation) - low-slung bassline, retro-drums, no chorus to speak of and understated nonchalant vocals - while recent lead single That's Life These Days continues Liddle's propensity to interpolate everyday expressions with hard-done-by lyrics, sung in his trademark carefree gargle.

Other highlights include the minimalist Tell Me The Time which fittingly resembles classic ZTT icons Propaganda's trancey P-Machinery and the tripped-out Depeche Mode-like Bad Times with its musical-box melody and a cutting lyric-bite in "because you've never really lived 'til you've ever really known Bad Times...".

Whilst Victims Of Our Own Efficiency might not be a heel-clicking jig in the park or a prompt to start popping champagne corks anytime soon, its overall DIY charm lies in its widescreen melodies, machines and mashed-up socio-political sensibilities.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/05/2017


Music reviews

27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures
06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone