tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/05/2017 : PPM - Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

PPM

Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

MusicCD


[75/100]   

VPT Recordings
08/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Personal Propaganda Machine as a concept might sound like the kind of thing many would run a mile from in these days of fake news and internet horseshit but the hard fact remains that whenever we share pictures of our food, kids, holidays or political opinion online, we become just that - an unstoppable PPM. Taken a step further, you become the U.S. president or crazed Euro despot - or an angry somewhat bitter (but justifiably so) musical duo from North London.

Formed by Liquorice River frontman Ross Liddle and electronics creative Ian Goodey, PPM take motorik Krautrock influences like Cluster, Can and Neu, stir them with post-punk and electro agitators like Wire, Soft Cell, Back to the Planet and early Ultravox and turn the whole melange into a subtle pop/new-wave combination that triumphs on most of the eight tracks on offer here.

The opening Get The Goods boasts a modicum of New Order-esque influences (fittingly similar to their Power Corruption and Lies incarnation) - low-slung bassline, retro-drums, no chorus to speak of and understated nonchalant vocals - while recent lead single That's Life These Days continues Liddle's propensity to interpolate everyday expressions with hard-done-by lyrics, sung in his trademark carefree gargle.

Other highlights include the minimalist Tell Me The Time which fittingly resembles classic ZTT icons Propaganda's trancey P-Machinery and the tripped-out Depeche Mode-like Bad Times with its musical-box melody and a cutting lyric-bite in "because you've never really lived 'til you've ever really known Bad Times...".

Whilst Victims Of Our Own Efficiency might not be a heel-clicking jig in the park or a prompt to start popping champagne corks anytime soon, its overall DIY charm lies in its widescreen melodies, machines and mashed-up socio-political sensibilities.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/05/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)