tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/06/2017 : SUFFOCATING MINDS - SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

SUFFOCATING MINDS

SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Concert
Electro WaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[90/100]   
09/06/2017, Masha KASHA

Have you ever seen two bands of Amphi quality in the heart of Wallonia? Well, it does not happen to me very often either. A hot (almost) summer night and I am heading to a release party of the Belgian band “Suffocating Minds” with “Shakes” from Brussels as a support band. And it is not a coincidence - the first time I assisted the concert of SFMD was exactly one year ago in Brussels and I was positively surprised by the level of their performance, so the decision to return and to listen to their new songs was taken long ago.

After the audience filled "Atelier Rock Huy" Shakes began the first part of the concert. The flashing energy of the performance as well as the level of mastery of their synthesizers was truly admirable. The band played an energetic and vibrant indielectro disco music with a hint of melancholy, so the dancing experience was guaranteed. The culmination of the show must surely have been the single "Sundome". The only thing we would wish after the warm up show is "more". And according to the rumors the "more" will come very soon.;)

Shakes' playlist:

Intro
Such a shiny day
Waiting
Life is a fiction
Sundome
Frozen happiness
NY excuse (Soulwax cover)
Emulation
Dirty ground and falling leaves

After a short break, the "white" and juice refilled at the bar the second part of the concert with Suffocating Minds began. For those of you who have never heard about them: Suffocating Minds - are a Belgian synthpop band from Liege featuring a vocalist, synth, drums and bass, so if you appreciate Camouflage, Seabound or Obscenity Trial you will surely love them. The band performed their latest album “Second life”.

As soon as the band entered the stage the concert begun with sentimental and catchy “Sweet and Sour” (a good change from “bittersweet”). “Shall I look above” was meant to be more italodisco but sounded much darker, due to the dark and powerful vocal. "Lonely Boy" has added some fresh new wavish touch. "Electrifying" has been truly one of the most energetic songs performed this evening, ready for the next party. One of my personal favorites was "Raven Black", due to the dark beats and the rich sound. Among with the new songs, the band played their old hits like "Slow Down" as well. From the musical side I would like to especially complement the drummer (it is hard to find a good one), although all the musicians did a brilliant job. Applause, good mood, motivated dancers from the public and a little light show accompanied the performance.

Those who have missed the concert will have the possibility to catch up on September 23rd at the “New wave festival” at Lisette, together with Honeymoon Cowboys, Dageist, Ground Nero, The Hermetic Electric and Syco Cries.

Playlist of SFMD:

It has been a long time
Second life
Lonely boy
Electrifying
Should I look above
Raven black
Far away
Slow down
Soulmates
I could become
Run free
Free fall
I don't care
Sweet & sour

Masha KASHA
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
HATCHLING • Alpha
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
APSURDE • See Me Coming
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L

Music reviews

14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.