tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/06/2017 : SUFFOCATING MINDS - SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

SUFFOCATING MINDS

SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Concert
Electro WaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[90/100]   
09/06/2017, Masha KASHA

Have you ever seen two bands of Amphi quality in the heart of Wallonia? Well, it does not happen to me very often either. A hot (almost) summer night and I am heading to a release party of the Belgian band “Suffocating Minds” with “Shakes” from Brussels as a support band. And it is not a coincidence - the first time I assisted the concert of SFMD was exactly one year ago in Brussels and I was positively surprised by the level of their performance, so the decision to return and to listen to their new songs was taken long ago.

After the audience filled "Atelier Rock Huy" Shakes began the first part of the concert. The flashing energy of the performance as well as the level of mastery of their synthesizers was truly admirable. The band played an energetic and vibrant indielectro disco music with a hint of melancholy, so the dancing experience was guaranteed. The culmination of the show must surely have been the single "Sundome". The only thing we would wish after the warm up show is "more". And according to the rumors the "more" will come very soon.;)

Shakes' playlist:

Intro
Such a shiny day
Waiting
Life is a fiction
Sundome
Frozen happiness
NY excuse (Soulwax cover)
Emulation
Dirty ground and falling leaves

After a short break, the "white" and juice refilled at the bar the second part of the concert with Suffocating Minds began. For those of you who have never heard about them: Suffocating Minds - are a Belgian synthpop band from Liege featuring a vocalist, synth, drums and bass, so if you appreciate Camouflage, Seabound or Obscenity Trial you will surely love them. The band performed their latest album “Second life”.

As soon as the band entered the stage the concert begun with sentimental and catchy “Sweet and Sour” (a good change from “bittersweet”). “Shall I look above” was meant to be more italodisco but sounded much darker, due to the dark and powerful vocal. "Lonely Boy" has added some fresh new wavish touch. "Electrifying" has been truly one of the most energetic songs performed this evening, ready for the next party. One of my personal favorites was "Raven Black", due to the dark beats and the rich sound. Among with the new songs, the band played their old hits like "Slow Down" as well. From the musical side I would like to especially complement the drummer (it is hard to find a good one), although all the musicians did a brilliant job. Applause, good mood, motivated dancers from the public and a little light show accompanied the performance.

Those who have missed the concert will have the possibility to catch up on September 23rd at the “New wave festival” at Lisette, together with Honeymoon Cowboys, Dageist, Ground Nero, The Hermetic Electric and Syco Cries.

Playlist of SFMD:

It has been a long time
Second life
Lonely boy
Electrifying
Should I look above
Raven black
Far away
Slow down
Soulmates
I could become
Run free
Free fall
I don't care
Sweet & sour

Masha KASHA
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO WAVE + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire