tempobet yeni adresi

09/06/2017 : SUFFOCATING MINDS - SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

SUFFOCATING MINDS

SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Concert
Electro WaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[90/100]   
09/06/2017, Masha KASHA

Have you ever seen two bands of Amphi quality in the heart of Wallonia? Well, it does not happen to me very often either. A hot (almost) summer night and I am heading to a release party of the Belgian band “Suffocating Minds” with “Shakes” from Brussels as a support band. And it is not a coincidence - the first time I assisted the concert of SFMD was exactly one year ago in Brussels and I was positively surprised by the level of their performance, so the decision to return and to listen to their new songs was taken long ago.

After the audience filled "Atelier Rock Huy" Shakes began the first part of the concert. The flashing energy of the performance as well as the level of mastery of their synthesizers was truly admirable. The band played an energetic and vibrant indielectro disco music with a hint of melancholy, so the dancing experience was guaranteed. The culmination of the show must surely have been the single "Sundome". The only thing we would wish after the warm up show is "more". And according to the rumors the "more" will come very soon.;)

Shakes' playlist:

Intro
Such a shiny day
Waiting
Life is a fiction
Sundome
Frozen happiness
NY excuse (Soulwax cover)
Emulation
Dirty ground and falling leaves

After a short break, the "white" and juice refilled at the bar the second part of the concert with Suffocating Minds began. For those of you who have never heard about them: Suffocating Minds - are a Belgian synthpop band from Liege featuring a vocalist, synth, drums and bass, so if you appreciate Camouflage, Seabound or Obscenity Trial you will surely love them. The band performed their latest album “Second life”.

As soon as the band entered the stage the concert begun with sentimental and catchy “Sweet and Sour” (a good change from “bittersweet”). “Shall I look above” was meant to be more italodisco but sounded much darker, due to the dark and powerful vocal. "Lonely Boy" has added some fresh new wavish touch. "Electrifying" has been truly one of the most energetic songs performed this evening, ready for the next party. One of my personal favorites was "Raven Black", due to the dark beats and the rich sound. Among with the new songs, the band played their old hits like "Slow Down" as well. From the musical side I would like to especially complement the drummer (it is hard to find a good one), although all the musicians did a brilliant job. Applause, good mood, motivated dancers from the public and a little light show accompanied the performance.

Those who have missed the concert will have the possibility to catch up on September 23rd at the “New wave festival” at Lisette, together with Honeymoon Cowboys, Dageist, Ground Nero, The Hermetic Electric and Syco Cries.

Playlist of SFMD:

It has been a long time
Second life
Lonely boy
Electrifying
Should I look above
Raven black
Far away
Slow down
Soulmates
I could become
Run free
Free fall
I don't care
Sweet & sour

Masha KASHA
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
S/HE • Who Do You Love
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
E • The Levitation Syndrome

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One