tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/06/2017 : SUFFOCATING MINDS - SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

SUFFOCATING MINDS

SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Concert
Electro WaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[90/100]   
09/06/2017, Masha KASHA

Have you ever seen two bands of Amphi quality in the heart of Wallonia? Well, it does not happen to me very often either. A hot (almost) summer night and I am heading to a release party of the Belgian band “Suffocating Minds” with “Shakes” from Brussels as a support band. And it is not a coincidence - the first time I assisted the concert of SFMD was exactly one year ago in Brussels and I was positively surprised by the level of their performance, so the decision to return and to listen to their new songs was taken long ago.

After the audience filled "Atelier Rock Huy" Shakes began the first part of the concert. The flashing energy of the performance as well as the level of mastery of their synthesizers was truly admirable. The band played an energetic and vibrant indielectro disco music with a hint of melancholy, so the dancing experience was guaranteed. The culmination of the show must surely have been the single "Sundome". The only thing we would wish after the warm up show is "more". And according to the rumors the "more" will come very soon.;)

Shakes' playlist:

Intro
Such a shiny day
Waiting
Life is a fiction
Sundome
Frozen happiness
NY excuse (Soulwax cover)
Emulation
Dirty ground and falling leaves

After a short break, the "white" and juice refilled at the bar the second part of the concert with Suffocating Minds began. For those of you who have never heard about them: Suffocating Minds - are a Belgian synthpop band from Liege featuring a vocalist, synth, drums and bass, so if you appreciate Camouflage, Seabound or Obscenity Trial you will surely love them. The band performed their latest album “Second life”.

As soon as the band entered the stage the concert begun with sentimental and catchy “Sweet and Sour” (a good change from “bittersweet”). “Shall I look above” was meant to be more italodisco but sounded much darker, due to the dark and powerful vocal. "Lonely Boy" has added some fresh new wavish touch. "Electrifying" has been truly one of the most energetic songs performed this evening, ready for the next party. One of my personal favorites was "Raven Black", due to the dark beats and the rich sound. Among with the new songs, the band played their old hits like "Slow Down" as well. From the musical side I would like to especially complement the drummer (it is hard to find a good one), although all the musicians did a brilliant job. Applause, good mood, motivated dancers from the public and a little light show accompanied the performance.

Those who have missed the concert will have the possibility to catch up on September 23rd at the “New wave festival” at Lisette, together with Honeymoon Cowboys, Dageist, Ground Nero, The Hermetic Electric and Syco Cries.

Playlist of SFMD:

It has been a long time
Second life
Lonely boy
Electrifying
Should I look above
Raven black
Far away
Slow down
Soulmates
I could become
Run free
Free fall
I don't care
Sweet & sour

Masha KASHA
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone