tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2017 : WOLFHOUNDS - Untied Kingdom

WOLFHOUNDS

Untied Kingdom

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Optic Nerve Recordings:
10/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

EN

"Behold an apparition...." declares the opening chilling acapella song before The Wolfhounds settle into what quickly becomes something of a return to the form of old. Not that Essex's C86 finest have mellowed out - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is a collective fistful of vented spleen with singer Dave Callahan clearly fired up by the state of the capital, the nation, the continent and the world. Let's face it, there's plenty to rail against.

In a just world, every radio station in the world would be playing the bold, brassy My Legendary Childhood at every opportunity - this is premier league indie-pop with a cynical bent, a bitter tear and some darkly humourous lyrics. This formula continues throughout the album - Now I'm a Killer and Everyday Monsters are both high on hooks and ravaged by riffs while Thanks and Stupid Poor are as arch as bluesy garage indie-rock can get in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is The Wolfhounds first studio-album since 1990 and sounds like it - it positively crackles with energy and pent-up emotion without forgetting about those all-important melodies and a baton-charge of anger and admirable fuckoffness. Even the rather more electronic Fire In The Home and Lucky Heather are as barbed and as rabid as the first half of the album.

If this album had appeared in 1986, most of this album would have been milked relentlessly for singles - The Comedians and the epic closing Across The River of Death being two of many on here - so why should 2017 be any different for a bunch of middle-aged Essex blokes with a point to prove? Well, if you're this good, no difference at all. They've proved it with Untied Kingdom - it's a gem.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


NL

"Behold an apparition..." verklaart het ijzingwekkende a capella openingsnummer, vooraleer The Wolfhounds zich nestelen in wat snel een soort terugkeer wordt naar de oude vorm. Niet dat Essex's beste van C86 helemaal verzacht zijn - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is een collectieve vuist van geventileerde spleen met zanger Dave Callahan die duidelijk aangestoken is door de toestand van de hoofdstad, de natie, het continent en de wereld? En laten we wel wezen, er is veel om tegen te protesteren.

In een rechtvaardige wereld, zou elke radiozender ter wereld het brutale, schaamteloze My Legendary Childhood spelen en wel bij elke gelegenheid - dit is eersteklas indie-pop met een cynische twist, een bittere traan en wat duister humoristische teksten. Deze formule duurt voort doorheen het hele album - Now I'm a Killer en Everyday Monsters zijn allebei high on hooks en geteisterd door riffs, terwijl Thanks en Stupid Poor zo speels zijn als bluesy garage indie-rock kan worden in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is het eerste studioalbum van The Wolfhounds sinds 1990 en zo klinkt het ook - het knettert op een positieve manier van de energie en de onderdrukte emoties, zonder de allerbelangerijkste melodieën te vergeten, of het chargeren van woede en de bewonderenswaardige fukc off-mentalitiet. Zelf het eerder elektronische Fire In The Home en Lucky Heather zijn even sarcastisch en razend als de eerste helft van het album.

Moest het in 1986 verschenen zijn, dan was het grootste deel van dit album onophoudelijk uitgemolken voor singles - The Comedians en het episch slotnummer Across The River of Death zijn er twee van de vele - dus waarom zou dat anders zijn in 2017 voor dit stel kerels van middelbare leeftijd uit Essex die een punt willen maken? Wel, als je zo goed bent als zij, maakt dat geen enkel verschil. Dat hebben ze bewezen met Untied Kingdom - een juweeltje.

Deze review verscheen in het Engels op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux