tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2017 : WOLFHOUNDS - Untied Kingdom

WOLFHOUNDS

Untied Kingdom

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Optic Nerve Recordings:
10/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

EN

"Behold an apparition...." declares the opening chilling acapella song before The Wolfhounds settle into what quickly becomes something of a return to the form of old. Not that Essex's C86 finest have mellowed out - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is a collective fistful of vented spleen with singer Dave Callahan clearly fired up by the state of the capital, the nation, the continent and the world. Let's face it, there's plenty to rail against.

In a just world, every radio station in the world would be playing the bold, brassy My Legendary Childhood at every opportunity - this is premier league indie-pop with a cynical bent, a bitter tear and some darkly humourous lyrics. This formula continues throughout the album - Now I'm a Killer and Everyday Monsters are both high on hooks and ravaged by riffs while Thanks and Stupid Poor are as arch as bluesy garage indie-rock can get in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is The Wolfhounds first studio-album since 1990 and sounds like it - it positively crackles with energy and pent-up emotion without forgetting about those all-important melodies and a baton-charge of anger and admirable fuckoffness. Even the rather more electronic Fire In The Home and Lucky Heather are as barbed and as rabid as the first half of the album.

If this album had appeared in 1986, most of this album would have been milked relentlessly for singles - The Comedians and the epic closing Across The River of Death being two of many on here - so why should 2017 be any different for a bunch of middle-aged Essex blokes with a point to prove? Well, if you're this good, no difference at all. They've proved it with Untied Kingdom - it's a gem.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


NL

"Behold an apparition..." verklaart het ijzingwekkende a capella openingsnummer, vooraleer The Wolfhounds zich nestelen in wat snel een soort terugkeer wordt naar de oude vorm. Niet dat Essex's beste van C86 helemaal verzacht zijn - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is een collectieve vuist van geventileerde spleen met zanger Dave Callahan die duidelijk aangestoken is door de toestand van de hoofdstad, de natie, het continent en de wereld? En laten we wel wezen, er is veel om tegen te protesteren.

In een rechtvaardige wereld, zou elke radiozender ter wereld het brutale, schaamteloze My Legendary Childhood spelen en wel bij elke gelegenheid - dit is eersteklas indie-pop met een cynische twist, een bittere traan en wat duister humoristische teksten. Deze formule duurt voort doorheen het hele album - Now I'm a Killer en Everyday Monsters zijn allebei high on hooks en geteisterd door riffs, terwijl Thanks en Stupid Poor zo speels zijn als bluesy garage indie-rock kan worden in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is het eerste studioalbum van The Wolfhounds sinds 1990 en zo klinkt het ook - het knettert op een positieve manier van de energie en de onderdrukte emoties, zonder de allerbelangerijkste melodieën te vergeten, of het chargeren van woede en de bewonderenswaardige fukc off-mentalitiet. Zelf het eerder elektronische Fire In The Home en Lucky Heather zijn even sarcastisch en razend als de eerste helft van het album.

Moest het in 1986 verschenen zijn, dan was het grootste deel van dit album onophoudelijk uitgemolken voor singles - The Comedians en het episch slotnummer Across The River of Death zijn er twee van de vele - dus waarom zou dat anders zijn in 2017 voor dit stel kerels van middelbare leeftijd uit Essex die een punt willen maken? Wel, als je zo goed bent als zij, maakt dat geen enkel verschil. Dat hebben ze bewezen met Untied Kingdom - een juweeltje.

Deze review verscheen in het Engels op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders