tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2017 : WOLFHOUNDS - Untied Kingdom

WOLFHOUNDS

Untied Kingdom

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Optic Nerve Recordings:
10/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

EN

"Behold an apparition...." declares the opening chilling acapella song before The Wolfhounds settle into what quickly becomes something of a return to the form of old. Not that Essex's C86 finest have mellowed out - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is a collective fistful of vented spleen with singer Dave Callahan clearly fired up by the state of the capital, the nation, the continent and the world. Let's face it, there's plenty to rail against.

In a just world, every radio station in the world would be playing the bold, brassy My Legendary Childhood at every opportunity - this is premier league indie-pop with a cynical bent, a bitter tear and some darkly humourous lyrics. This formula continues throughout the album - Now I'm a Killer and Everyday Monsters are both high on hooks and ravaged by riffs while Thanks and Stupid Poor are as arch as bluesy garage indie-rock can get in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is The Wolfhounds first studio-album since 1990 and sounds like it - it positively crackles with energy and pent-up emotion without forgetting about those all-important melodies and a baton-charge of anger and admirable fuckoffness. Even the rather more electronic Fire In The Home and Lucky Heather are as barbed and as rabid as the first half of the album.

If this album had appeared in 1986, most of this album would have been milked relentlessly for singles - The Comedians and the epic closing Across The River of Death being two of many on here - so why should 2017 be any different for a bunch of middle-aged Essex blokes with a point to prove? Well, if you're this good, no difference at all. They've proved it with Untied Kingdom - it's a gem.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


NL

"Behold an apparition..." verklaart het ijzingwekkende a capella openingsnummer, vooraleer The Wolfhounds zich nestelen in wat snel een soort terugkeer wordt naar de oude vorm. Niet dat Essex's beste van C86 helemaal verzacht zijn - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is een collectieve vuist van geventileerde spleen met zanger Dave Callahan die duidelijk aangestoken is door de toestand van de hoofdstad, de natie, het continent en de wereld? En laten we wel wezen, er is veel om tegen te protesteren.

In een rechtvaardige wereld, zou elke radiozender ter wereld het brutale, schaamteloze My Legendary Childhood spelen en wel bij elke gelegenheid - dit is eersteklas indie-pop met een cynische twist, een bittere traan en wat duister humoristische teksten. Deze formule duurt voort doorheen het hele album - Now I'm a Killer en Everyday Monsters zijn allebei high on hooks en geteisterd door riffs, terwijl Thanks en Stupid Poor zo speels zijn als bluesy garage indie-rock kan worden in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is het eerste studioalbum van The Wolfhounds sinds 1990 en zo klinkt het ook - het knettert op een positieve manier van de energie en de onderdrukte emoties, zonder de allerbelangerijkste melodieën te vergeten, of het chargeren van woede en de bewonderenswaardige fukc off-mentalitiet. Zelf het eerder elektronische Fire In The Home en Lucky Heather zijn even sarcastisch en razend als de eerste helft van het album.

Moest het in 1986 verschenen zijn, dan was het grootste deel van dit album onophoudelijk uitgemolken voor singles - The Comedians en het episch slotnummer Across The River of Death zijn er twee van de vele - dus waarom zou dat anders zijn in 2017 voor dit stel kerels van middelbare leeftijd uit Essex die een punt willen maken? Wel, als je zo goed bent als zij, maakt dat geen enkel verschil. Dat hebben ze bewezen met Untied Kingdom - een juweeltje.

Deze review verscheen in het Engels op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)