tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2017 : WOLFHOUNDS - Untied Kingdom

WOLFHOUNDS

Untied Kingdom

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Optic Nerve Recordings:
10/05/2017, Paul PLEDGER

EN

"Behold an apparition...." declares the opening chilling acapella song before The Wolfhounds settle into what quickly becomes something of a return to the form of old. Not that Essex's C86 finest have mellowed out - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is a collective fistful of vented spleen with singer Dave Callahan clearly fired up by the state of the capital, the nation, the continent and the world. Let's face it, there's plenty to rail against.

In a just world, every radio station in the world would be playing the bold, brassy My Legendary Childhood at every opportunity - this is premier league indie-pop with a cynical bent, a bitter tear and some darkly humourous lyrics. This formula continues throughout the album - Now I'm a Killer and Everyday Monsters are both high on hooks and ravaged by riffs while Thanks and Stupid Poor are as arch as bluesy garage indie-rock can get in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is The Wolfhounds first studio-album since 1990 and sounds like it - it positively crackles with energy and pent-up emotion without forgetting about those all-important melodies and a baton-charge of anger and admirable fuckoffness. Even the rather more electronic Fire In The Home and Lucky Heather are as barbed and as rabid as the first half of the album.

If this album had appeared in 1986, most of this album would have been milked relentlessly for singles - The Comedians and the epic closing Across The River of Death being two of many on here - so why should 2017 be any different for a bunch of middle-aged Essex blokes with a point to prove? Well, if you're this good, no difference at all. They've proved it with Untied Kingdom - it's a gem.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


NL

"Behold an apparition..." verklaart het ijzingwekkende a capella openingsnummer, vooraleer The Wolfhounds zich nestelen in wat snel een soort terugkeer wordt naar de oude vorm. Niet dat Essex's beste van C86 helemaal verzacht zijn - Untied Kingdom...Or How To Come To Terms With Your Culture is een collectieve vuist van geventileerde spleen met zanger Dave Callahan die duidelijk aangestoken is door de toestand van de hoofdstad, de natie, het continent en de wereld? En laten we wel wezen, er is veel om tegen te protesteren.

In een rechtvaardige wereld, zou elke radiozender ter wereld het brutale, schaamteloze My Legendary Childhood spelen en wel bij elke gelegenheid - dit is eersteklas indie-pop met een cynische twist, een bittere traan en wat duister humoristische teksten. Deze formule duurt voort doorheen het hele album - Now I'm a Killer en Everyday Monsters zijn allebei high on hooks en geteisterd door riffs, terwijl Thanks en Stupid Poor zo speels zijn als bluesy garage indie-rock kan worden in 2017.

Untied Kingdom is het eerste studioalbum van The Wolfhounds sinds 1990 en zo klinkt het ook - het knettert op een positieve manier van de energie en de onderdrukte emoties, zonder de allerbelangerijkste melodieën te vergeten, of het chargeren van woede en de bewonderenswaardige fukc off-mentalitiet. Zelf het eerder elektronische Fire In The Home en Lucky Heather zijn even sarcastisch en razend als de eerste helft van het album.

Moest het in 1986 verschenen zijn, dan was het grootste deel van dit album onophoudelijk uitgemolken voor singles - The Comedians en het episch slotnummer Across The River of Death zijn er twee van de vele - dus waarom zou dat anders zijn in 2017 voor dit stel kerels van middelbare leeftijd uit Essex die een punt willen maken? Wel, als je zo goed bent als zij, maakt dat geen enkel verschil. Dat hebben ze bewezen met Untied Kingdom - een juweeltje.

Deze review verscheen in het Engels op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2017


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed