tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/06/2017 : IKON - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

IKON

Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

MusicCD
DarkwaveGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
09/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Australian Ikon's last CD was back in 2014. They released Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in a limited edition in Australia and it was sold out in no time. Now, three years later, there will be a European version of this album, released by Dark Vinyl.

For years Ikon has supported a unique own sound that is immediately recognizable. A combination of darkwave, sometimes even coldwave and more rocky and postpunk songs. A mix of Clan Of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission and Joy Division if you want. But yet a unique sound.

And that is also true for this 16-song CD. Because with the 12 songs we get 4 bonustracks as a gift. The Cruel is crispy and rocking, with a hint of postpunk and with nice overdone guitars. Symbol Of Tomorrow and Once Upon A Time then again are almost the exact opposite: soft acoustic guitars, a hipswinging ballad. And with Misfortune it is easy to bring to mind the image of a quiet crowd, dressed in long black coats, almost constantly walking accross the dancefloor in some dark basement. Rising Sun again is a real rocker with a punchy rhythm, bonedry drums flying past like an express train. And we get a darkwave gem as a gift in the shape of Stolen, where synths get a more prominent role.

A hellishly slow and bone cutting ballad is I Burn For You. A very tender song that walks slowly towards an apotheosis at the end with shoegaze-sounding, dragging guitars. And as if to prolong the trip we also get psychedelic rock in Black Noise.

Decorated with a big ribbon we receive 4 bonus-songs: an invasive The Hunter, a mysterious Predator, Stolen (outtake) and again a quietly babbling Mistaken.

So light your incense, sacrifice to either the gods or the devil, fall to the ground in complete devotion and thank all supernatural powers for finally, 3 long years after the original release, bringing this gem to Europe. Because this is (again) a very good album. And I hope that...Ikon...never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


NL

Het Australische Ikon’s laatste CD-feit situeert zich in 2014. Ze brachten de CD Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in beperkte oplage uit in Autralië, welke in geen tijd uitverkocht was. Nu drie jaar later wordt een Europese versie van het album gereleased door Dark Vinyl.

Ikon heeft al sedert jaar en dag een eigen geluid hetwelke je onmidellijk herkent. Een combinatie van darkwave, soms zelfs coldwave en meer rockende, postpunk songs. Een mix van Clan of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission en Joy Division als je wilt. Maar toch een eigen sound.

En dat is op deze 16 nummers tellende CD niet anders. Want naast de 12 songs krijgen we 4 bonustracks cadeau. The Cruel klinkt crispy, rockend, een postpunk-zweem en mooie overstuurde gitaren. Symbol Of Tomorrow en Once Upon A Time zijn dan weer nagenoeg het tegenovergestelde: zachte akoustische gitaren, een heupwiegende ballade. En bij Misfortune kan je perfect het beeld voor de geest halen van een rustige, in lange zwarte jassen gehulde menigte die bijna constant over een donkere dansvloer schrijdt in één of andere duistere kelder. Rising Sun is dan weer een echte rocker, met een pittig tempo, krukdroge drums die als een sneltrein voorbijraast. En een darkwave-juweeltje wordt ons geschonken in de vorm van Stolen, waar de synths een meer prominente rol krijgen toebedeeld.

Een hels trage en door merg en been snijdende ballade is I Burn For You. Een heel gevoelige song die naar het einde toe naar een apotheose toe wandelt met shoegaze-klinkende, uitgesponnen slepend gitaarwerk. En alsof de trip moet blijven duren krijgen we ook psychedelische rock in Black Noise.

Met een grote strik er rond krijgen we 4 bonus-songs; een bezwerend The Hunter, het mysterieuze Predator, Stolen (outtake) en een opnieuw rustiger voortkabbelend Mistaken.

Steek in brand die wierook, breng offer aan de goden of de duivel, val in complete devotie ter aarde en dank de bovennatuurlijke krachten die, 3 jaar na de release, dit juweeltje ook naar Europa brachten. Want dit is een (alweer) heel goed album. And I hope that.. Ikon.. never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds

 

Other reviews from IKON
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
THE GODSPEED SOCIETY • Killing Tale
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession