tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/06/2017 : IKON - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

IKON

Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

MusicCD
DarkwaveGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
09/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Australian Ikon's last CD was back in 2014. They released Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in a limited edition in Australia and it was sold out in no time. Now, three years later, there will be a European version of this album, released by Dark Vinyl.

For years Ikon has supported a unique own sound that is immediately recognizable. A combination of darkwave, sometimes even coldwave and more rocky and postpunk songs. A mix of Clan Of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission and Joy Division if you want. But yet a unique sound.

And that is also true for this 16-song CD. Because with the 12 songs we get 4 bonustracks as a gift. The Cruel is crispy and rocking, with a hint of postpunk and with nice overdone guitars. Symbol Of Tomorrow and Once Upon A Time then again are almost the exact opposite: soft acoustic guitars, a hipswinging ballad. And with Misfortune it is easy to bring to mind the image of a quiet crowd, dressed in long black coats, almost constantly walking accross the dancefloor in some dark basement. Rising Sun again is a real rocker with a punchy rhythm, bonedry drums flying past like an express train. And we get a darkwave gem as a gift in the shape of Stolen, where synths get a more prominent role.

A hellishly slow and bone cutting ballad is I Burn For You. A very tender song that walks slowly towards an apotheosis at the end with shoegaze-sounding, dragging guitars. And as if to prolong the trip we also get psychedelic rock in Black Noise.

Decorated with a big ribbon we receive 4 bonus-songs: an invasive The Hunter, a mysterious Predator, Stolen (outtake) and again a quietly babbling Mistaken.

So light your incense, sacrifice to either the gods or the devil, fall to the ground in complete devotion and thank all supernatural powers for finally, 3 long years after the original release, bringing this gem to Europe. Because this is (again) a very good album. And I hope that...Ikon...never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


NL

Het Australische Ikon’s laatste CD-feit situeert zich in 2014. Ze brachten de CD Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in beperkte oplage uit in Autralië, welke in geen tijd uitverkocht was. Nu drie jaar later wordt een Europese versie van het album gereleased door Dark Vinyl.

Ikon heeft al sedert jaar en dag een eigen geluid hetwelke je onmidellijk herkent. Een combinatie van darkwave, soms zelfs coldwave en meer rockende, postpunk songs. Een mix van Clan of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission en Joy Division als je wilt. Maar toch een eigen sound.

En dat is op deze 16 nummers tellende CD niet anders. Want naast de 12 songs krijgen we 4 bonustracks cadeau. The Cruel klinkt crispy, rockend, een postpunk-zweem en mooie overstuurde gitaren. Symbol Of Tomorrow en Once Upon A Time zijn dan weer nagenoeg het tegenovergestelde: zachte akoustische gitaren, een heupwiegende ballade. En bij Misfortune kan je perfect het beeld voor de geest halen van een rustige, in lange zwarte jassen gehulde menigte die bijna constant over een donkere dansvloer schrijdt in één of andere duistere kelder. Rising Sun is dan weer een echte rocker, met een pittig tempo, krukdroge drums die als een sneltrein voorbijraast. En een darkwave-juweeltje wordt ons geschonken in de vorm van Stolen, waar de synths een meer prominente rol krijgen toebedeeld.

Een hels trage en door merg en been snijdende ballade is I Burn For You. Een heel gevoelige song die naar het einde toe naar een apotheose toe wandelt met shoegaze-klinkende, uitgesponnen slepend gitaarwerk. En alsof de trip moet blijven duren krijgen we ook psychedelische rock in Black Noise.

Met een grote strik er rond krijgen we 4 bonus-songs; een bezwerend The Hunter, het mysterieuze Predator, Stolen (outtake) en een opnieuw rustiger voortkabbelend Mistaken.

Steek in brand die wierook, breng offer aan de goden of de duivel, val in complete devotie ter aarde en dank de bovennatuurlijke krachten die, 3 jaar na de release, dit juweeltje ook naar Europa brachten. Want dit is een (alweer) heel goed album. And I hope that.. Ikon.. never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds

 

Other reviews from IKON
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
THE GODSPEED SOCIETY • Killing Tale
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves

Music reviews

20
06
LEIF VOLLEBEKK
Twin Solitude
13
06
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Oceans
12
06
XOSAR
Xymeria
11
06
RULE OF THUMB
Rule Of Thumb
10
06
BLUTENGEL
Leitbild
09
06
IKON
Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
06
Swedish acts ELM and ALVAR complete BIMFEST 2017 line-up!
22
06
Laibach receive the lifetime achievement Golden Whistle award
21
06
NEW SIGNING AND NEW SINGLE/VIDEO - THEN COMES SILENCE - THE DEAD CRY FOR NO ONE
20
06
NATIONAL CRIME HISTORY - A Belgian Industrial Music compilation
20
06
New EP / video and US tour by PIG
17
06
Dark Demons Night 2017 -Tonight!

Concert reviews

09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
04
05
COALESCAREMONIUM
15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’
15
06
REVOLTING COCKS
Big Sexy Land revisited!
14
06
BESTIAL MOUTHS
‘BESTIAL MOUTHS HAS NEVER SOUGHT OUT TO RECREATE A CERTAIN GENRE’
13
06
2ND FACE
‘A FEELING WHICH IS HARD TO PUT INTO WORDS’

PHOTOS

24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ALVAR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
21
06
HYBRYDS WITH SOPHIE DRAKENVLEUGELS
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
24
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
22
06
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
21
06
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
08
06
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
07
06
ALISON MOYET
Reassuring Pinches
06
06
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout