tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/06/2017 : IKON - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

IKON

Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

MusicCD
DarkwaveGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
09/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Australian Ikon's last CD was back in 2014. They released Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in a limited edition in Australia and it was sold out in no time. Now, three years later, there will be a European version of this album, released by Dark Vinyl.

For years Ikon has supported a unique own sound that is immediately recognizable. A combination of darkwave, sometimes even coldwave and more rocky and postpunk songs. A mix of Clan Of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission and Joy Division if you want. But yet a unique sound.

And that is also true for this 16-song CD. Because with the 12 songs we get 4 bonustracks as a gift. The Cruel is crispy and rocking, with a hint of postpunk and with nice overdone guitars. Symbol Of Tomorrow and Once Upon A Time then again are almost the exact opposite: soft acoustic guitars, a hipswinging ballad. And with Misfortune it is easy to bring to mind the image of a quiet crowd, dressed in long black coats, almost constantly walking accross the dancefloor in some dark basement. Rising Sun again is a real rocker with a punchy rhythm, bonedry drums flying past like an express train. And we get a darkwave gem as a gift in the shape of Stolen, where synths get a more prominent role.

A hellishly slow and bone cutting ballad is I Burn For You. A very tender song that walks slowly towards an apotheosis at the end with shoegaze-sounding, dragging guitars. And as if to prolong the trip we also get psychedelic rock in Black Noise.

Decorated with a big ribbon we receive 4 bonus-songs: an invasive The Hunter, a mysterious Predator, Stolen (outtake) and again a quietly babbling Mistaken.

So light your incense, sacrifice to either the gods or the devil, fall to the ground in complete devotion and thank all supernatural powers for finally, 3 long years after the original release, bringing this gem to Europe. Because this is (again) a very good album. And I hope that...Ikon...never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


NL

Het Australische Ikon’s laatste CD-feit situeert zich in 2014. Ze brachten de CD Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in beperkte oplage uit in Autralië, welke in geen tijd uitverkocht was. Nu drie jaar later wordt een Europese versie van het album gereleased door Dark Vinyl.

Ikon heeft al sedert jaar en dag een eigen geluid hetwelke je onmidellijk herkent. Een combinatie van darkwave, soms zelfs coldwave en meer rockende, postpunk songs. Een mix van Clan of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission en Joy Division als je wilt. Maar toch een eigen sound.

En dat is op deze 16 nummers tellende CD niet anders. Want naast de 12 songs krijgen we 4 bonustracks cadeau. The Cruel klinkt crispy, rockend, een postpunk-zweem en mooie overstuurde gitaren. Symbol Of Tomorrow en Once Upon A Time zijn dan weer nagenoeg het tegenovergestelde: zachte akoustische gitaren, een heupwiegende ballade. En bij Misfortune kan je perfect het beeld voor de geest halen van een rustige, in lange zwarte jassen gehulde menigte die bijna constant over een donkere dansvloer schrijdt in één of andere duistere kelder. Rising Sun is dan weer een echte rocker, met een pittig tempo, krukdroge drums die als een sneltrein voorbijraast. En een darkwave-juweeltje wordt ons geschonken in de vorm van Stolen, waar de synths een meer prominente rol krijgen toebedeeld.

Een hels trage en door merg en been snijdende ballade is I Burn For You. Een heel gevoelige song die naar het einde toe naar een apotheose toe wandelt met shoegaze-klinkende, uitgesponnen slepend gitaarwerk. En alsof de trip moet blijven duren krijgen we ook psychedelische rock in Black Noise.

Met een grote strik er rond krijgen we 4 bonus-songs; een bezwerend The Hunter, het mysterieuze Predator, Stolen (outtake) en een opnieuw rustiger voortkabbelend Mistaken.

Steek in brand die wierook, breng offer aan de goden of de duivel, val in complete devotie ter aarde en dank de bovennatuurlijke krachten die, 3 jaar na de release, dit juweeltje ook naar Europa brachten. Want dit is een (alweer) heel goed album. And I hope that.. Ikon.. never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On