tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/06/2017 : IKON - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

IKON

Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

MusicCD
DarkwaveGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
09/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Australian Ikon's last CD was back in 2014. They released Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in a limited edition in Australia and it was sold out in no time. Now, three years later, there will be a European version of this album, released by Dark Vinyl.

For years Ikon has supported a unique own sound that is immediately recognizable. A combination of darkwave, sometimes even coldwave and more rocky and postpunk songs. A mix of Clan Of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission and Joy Division if you want. But yet a unique sound.

And that is also true for this 16-song CD. Because with the 12 songs we get 4 bonustracks as a gift. The Cruel is crispy and rocking, with a hint of postpunk and with nice overdone guitars. Symbol Of Tomorrow and Once Upon A Time then again are almost the exact opposite: soft acoustic guitars, a hipswinging ballad. And with Misfortune it is easy to bring to mind the image of a quiet crowd, dressed in long black coats, almost constantly walking accross the dancefloor in some dark basement. Rising Sun again is a real rocker with a punchy rhythm, bonedry drums flying past like an express train. And we get a darkwave gem as a gift in the shape of Stolen, where synths get a more prominent role.

A hellishly slow and bone cutting ballad is I Burn For You. A very tender song that walks slowly towards an apotheosis at the end with shoegaze-sounding, dragging guitars. And as if to prolong the trip we also get psychedelic rock in Black Noise.

Decorated with a big ribbon we receive 4 bonus-songs: an invasive The Hunter, a mysterious Predator, Stolen (outtake) and again a quietly babbling Mistaken.

So light your incense, sacrifice to either the gods or the devil, fall to the ground in complete devotion and thank all supernatural powers for finally, 3 long years after the original release, bringing this gem to Europe. Because this is (again) a very good album. And I hope that...Ikon...never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


NL

Het Australische Ikon’s laatste CD-feit situeert zich in 2014. Ze brachten de CD Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in beperkte oplage uit in Autralië, welke in geen tijd uitverkocht was. Nu drie jaar later wordt een Europese versie van het album gereleased door Dark Vinyl.

Ikon heeft al sedert jaar en dag een eigen geluid hetwelke je onmidellijk herkent. Een combinatie van darkwave, soms zelfs coldwave en meer rockende, postpunk songs. Een mix van Clan of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission en Joy Division als je wilt. Maar toch een eigen sound.

En dat is op deze 16 nummers tellende CD niet anders. Want naast de 12 songs krijgen we 4 bonustracks cadeau. The Cruel klinkt crispy, rockend, een postpunk-zweem en mooie overstuurde gitaren. Symbol Of Tomorrow en Once Upon A Time zijn dan weer nagenoeg het tegenovergestelde: zachte akoustische gitaren, een heupwiegende ballade. En bij Misfortune kan je perfect het beeld voor de geest halen van een rustige, in lange zwarte jassen gehulde menigte die bijna constant over een donkere dansvloer schrijdt in één of andere duistere kelder. Rising Sun is dan weer een echte rocker, met een pittig tempo, krukdroge drums die als een sneltrein voorbijraast. En een darkwave-juweeltje wordt ons geschonken in de vorm van Stolen, waar de synths een meer prominente rol krijgen toebedeeld.

Een hels trage en door merg en been snijdende ballade is I Burn For You. Een heel gevoelige song die naar het einde toe naar een apotheose toe wandelt met shoegaze-klinkende, uitgesponnen slepend gitaarwerk. En alsof de trip moet blijven duren krijgen we ook psychedelische rock in Black Noise.

Met een grote strik er rond krijgen we 4 bonus-songs; een bezwerend The Hunter, het mysterieuze Predator, Stolen (outtake) en een opnieuw rustiger voortkabbelend Mistaken.

Steek in brand die wierook, breng offer aan de goden of de duivel, val in complete devotie ter aarde en dank de bovennatuurlijke krachten die, 3 jaar na de release, dit juweeltje ook naar Europa brachten. Want dit is een (alweer) heel goed album. And I hope that.. Ikon.. never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds

 

Other reviews from IKON
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
THE GODSPEED SOCIETY • Killing Tale
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)