tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/06/2017 : IKON - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

IKON

Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

MusicCD
DarkwaveGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
09/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Australian Ikon's last CD was back in 2014. They released Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in a limited edition in Australia and it was sold out in no time. Now, three years later, there will be a European version of this album, released by Dark Vinyl.

For years Ikon has supported a unique own sound that is immediately recognizable. A combination of darkwave, sometimes even coldwave and more rocky and postpunk songs. A mix of Clan Of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission and Joy Division if you want. But yet a unique sound.

And that is also true for this 16-song CD. Because with the 12 songs we get 4 bonustracks as a gift. The Cruel is crispy and rocking, with a hint of postpunk and with nice overdone guitars. Symbol Of Tomorrow and Once Upon A Time then again are almost the exact opposite: soft acoustic guitars, a hipswinging ballad. And with Misfortune it is easy to bring to mind the image of a quiet crowd, dressed in long black coats, almost constantly walking accross the dancefloor in some dark basement. Rising Sun again is a real rocker with a punchy rhythm, bonedry drums flying past like an express train. And we get a darkwave gem as a gift in the shape of Stolen, where synths get a more prominent role.

A hellishly slow and bone cutting ballad is I Burn For You. A very tender song that walks slowly towards an apotheosis at the end with shoegaze-sounding, dragging guitars. And as if to prolong the trip we also get psychedelic rock in Black Noise.

Decorated with a big ribbon we receive 4 bonus-songs: an invasive The Hunter, a mysterious Predator, Stolen (outtake) and again a quietly babbling Mistaken.

So light your incense, sacrifice to either the gods or the devil, fall to the ground in complete devotion and thank all supernatural powers for finally, 3 long years after the original release, bringing this gem to Europe. Because this is (again) a very good album. And I hope that...Ikon...never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


NL

Het Australische Ikon’s laatste CD-feit situeert zich in 2014. Ze brachten de CD Everyone Everything Everywhere Ends in beperkte oplage uit in Autralië, welke in geen tijd uitverkocht was. Nu drie jaar later wordt een Europese versie van het album gereleased door Dark Vinyl.

Ikon heeft al sedert jaar en dag een eigen geluid hetwelke je onmidellijk herkent. Een combinatie van darkwave, soms zelfs coldwave en meer rockende, postpunk songs. Een mix van Clan of Xymox, The Cure, The Mission en Joy Division als je wilt. Maar toch een eigen sound.

En dat is op deze 16 nummers tellende CD niet anders. Want naast de 12 songs krijgen we 4 bonustracks cadeau. The Cruel klinkt crispy, rockend, een postpunk-zweem en mooie overstuurde gitaren. Symbol Of Tomorrow en Once Upon A Time zijn dan weer nagenoeg het tegenovergestelde: zachte akoustische gitaren, een heupwiegende ballade. En bij Misfortune kan je perfect het beeld voor de geest halen van een rustige, in lange zwarte jassen gehulde menigte die bijna constant over een donkere dansvloer schrijdt in één of andere duistere kelder. Rising Sun is dan weer een echte rocker, met een pittig tempo, krukdroge drums die als een sneltrein voorbijraast. En een darkwave-juweeltje wordt ons geschonken in de vorm van Stolen, waar de synths een meer prominente rol krijgen toebedeeld.

Een hels trage en door merg en been snijdende ballade is I Burn For You. Een heel gevoelige song die naar het einde toe naar een apotheose toe wandelt met shoegaze-klinkende, uitgesponnen slepend gitaarwerk. En alsof de trip moet blijven duren krijgen we ook psychedelische rock in Black Noise.

Met een grote strik er rond krijgen we 4 bonus-songs; een bezwerend The Hunter, het mysterieuze Predator, Stolen (outtake) en een opnieuw rustiger voortkabbelend Mistaken.

Steek in brand die wierook, breng offer aan de goden of de duivel, val in complete devotie ter aarde en dank de bovennatuurlijke krachten die, 3 jaar na de release, dit juweeltje ook naar Europa brachten. Want dit is een (alweer) heel goed album. And I hope that.. Ikon.. never ends!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/06/2017


 

Next reviews
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM
WHITE SEA • Tropical Odds

 

Other reviews from IKON
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
THE GODSPEED SOCIETY • Killing Tale
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MALA HERBA • Demo
ELEZORIA • Astray
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One