tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2017 : BLUTENGEL - Leitbild

BLUTENGEL

Leitbild

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopGothic

[90/100]   

Out Of Line
10/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Leitbild is again new work by Blutengel. Apparently Chris Pohl's inspiration is endless, because we get 16 brandnew songs. Gothic Pop as they describe their own style. You either love it or you hate it, but Blutengel always gets you one way or the other.

It is evident from the first listening, as was already apparent on the collector and re-worked version CD Nemesis, that in many songs guitars are being introduced. Not predominantly, but nicely merged into the pounding and still dominant electronic beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is a grand opening. Bombastic clocks, classical music, but also electronics in this excellent cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is the second song. In this song guitars give a bit more body to a typical but good Blutengel song. Waste My Time proves that pace is allowed. A firm pace even, with a heightened amount of beats per minute. A firm song. And do we love that? Yes we do!

The fourth song on the album is the titelsong Leitbild. It sounds poppy, but it is still solid, it's like a sing along but at the same time it's partially a rocksong. As I mentioned before: the guitars that played a prominent part in some of the songs on Nemesis again get a role here. I think it gives the songs something extra.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is a song about that many used theme: love. At the end there is even space for a good old Hammond organ.

And thus Leitbild gives us songs that are different from before. The Days Of Justice starts and continues as a synthwave song but eventually gets the unique Blutengel-sound. Complete is different because of the variation in pace. As if two songs are woven into one. And Say Something is a gothrocksong that reminds me of the early years of The Sisters Of Mercy. Also Chris' voice is going just a little deeper here.

Closing song Der Himmel Brennt brings a totally different atmosphere. As if Jean Michel Jarre had a part in it... a nicely drawn out synth melody with a real oldschool sound.

Conclusion: this is and remains a Blutengel album in the style we know and expect of them, but it also taps into different wells. The guitars to me are an added value, like the diversity in songs that characterizes this album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


NL

Leitbild is alweer nieuw werk van Blutengel. Blijkbaar is Chris Pohl’s inspiratie eindeloos, want we krijgen 16 gloednieuwe songs. Gothic Pop, zoals hun muziekstijl door henzelf wordt beschreven. You love it or you hate it, Blutengel pakt je toch op één of andere manier bij de strot.

Wat bij een eerste luisterbeurt opvalt, en wat ook op de verzamelaar en herwerkte versie-CD Nemesis al opviel, is dat in heel wat songs gitaren hun intrede doen. Niet op de voorgrond, maar mooi versmolten in de dreunende en nog steeds overheersende elektronische beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is een opener van formaat. Bombastische klokken, klassieke muziek, maar toch ook electronica in een geweldige cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is de tweede song. Hierin geven de gitaren meer body aan een voor de rest typische, maar goéde Blutengel-song. Dat er tempo mag zijn, wordt duidelijk met Waste My Time. Stevig tempo zelfs, met een opgedreven aantal beats per minuut. Stevig over gans de lijn. And do we love that? Yes we do!

Titelsong Leitbild is nummer vier van het album. Het klinkt poppy, maar is toch stevig, het lijkt een meezinger, maar is tegelijk een halve rocksong. Zoals ik eerder al liet vallen: de gitaren die op Nemesis in een paar songs een prominente rol speelden, krijgen ook hier een plaats. Ik vind dat dat de nummers iets extra's geeft.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is een song over een veel bezongen thema, de liefde. Op het einde krijgt zélfs een goed oud Hammond Organ een plaats.

En zo schenkt Leitbild ons nog nummers waar toch iets anders in steekt dan anders. The Days Of Justice start als synthwave song, om toch weer het eigen Blutengel-geluid te krijgen, maar toch blijft het doorheen de song spelen. Complete is qua afwisselend tempo apart. Alsof twee songs in één zijn verweven. En Say Something is een gothrocksong die mij doet denken aan de beginjaren van The Sisters Of Mercy. Ook de stem van Chris gaat hier iets diéper dan anders.

Afsluiter Der Himmel Brennt brengt een totaal andere sfeer. Alsof Jean Michel Jarre er een hand in had… een mooi uitgesponnen synth-melodie, die echt oldschool klinkt.

Conclusie: dit is en blijft een Blutengel-album in de stijl die we van hen kennen, maar boort ook andere bronnen aan. De gitaren zijn voor mij een meerwaarde, net als de diversiteit in songs die dit album typeert.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


 

Next reviews
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM

 

Other reviews from BLUTENGEL
BLUTENGEL • Black
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
BLUTENGEL • Omen
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
BLUTENGEL • Uber den Horizont EP
BLUTENGEL • Tränenherz

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless