tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2017 : BLUTENGEL - Leitbild

BLUTENGEL

Leitbild

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopGothic

[90/100]   

Out Of Line
10/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Leitbild is again new work by Blutengel. Apparently Chris Pohl's inspiration is endless, because we get 16 brandnew songs. Gothic Pop as they describe their own style. You either love it or you hate it, but Blutengel always gets you one way or the other.

It is evident from the first listening, as was already apparent on the collector and re-worked version CD Nemesis, that in many songs guitars are being introduced. Not predominantly, but nicely merged into the pounding and still dominant electronic beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is a grand opening. Bombastic clocks, classical music, but also electronics in this excellent cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is the second song. In this song guitars give a bit more body to a typical but good Blutengel song. Waste My Time proves that pace is allowed. A firm pace even, with a heightened amount of beats per minute. A firm song. And do we love that? Yes we do!

The fourth song on the album is the titelsong Leitbild. It sounds poppy, but it is still solid, it's like a sing along but at the same time it's partially a rocksong. As I mentioned before: the guitars that played a prominent part in some of the songs on Nemesis again get a role here. I think it gives the songs something extra.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is a song about that many used theme: love. At the end there is even space for a good old Hammond organ.

And thus Leitbild gives us songs that are different from before. The Days Of Justice starts and continues as a synthwave song but eventually gets the unique Blutengel-sound. Complete is different because of the variation in pace. As if two songs are woven into one. And Say Something is a gothrocksong that reminds me of the early years of The Sisters Of Mercy. Also Chris' voice is going just a little deeper here.

Closing song Der Himmel Brennt brings a totally different atmosphere. As if Jean Michel Jarre had a part in it... a nicely drawn out synth melody with a real oldschool sound.

Conclusion: this is and remains a Blutengel album in the style we know and expect of them, but it also taps into different wells. The guitars to me are an added value, like the diversity in songs that characterizes this album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


NL

Leitbild is alweer nieuw werk van Blutengel. Blijkbaar is Chris Pohl’s inspiratie eindeloos, want we krijgen 16 gloednieuwe songs. Gothic Pop, zoals hun muziekstijl door henzelf wordt beschreven. You love it or you hate it, Blutengel pakt je toch op één of andere manier bij de strot.

Wat bij een eerste luisterbeurt opvalt, en wat ook op de verzamelaar en herwerkte versie-CD Nemesis al opviel, is dat in heel wat songs gitaren hun intrede doen. Niet op de voorgrond, maar mooi versmolten in de dreunende en nog steeds overheersende elektronische beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is een opener van formaat. Bombastische klokken, klassieke muziek, maar toch ook electronica in een geweldige cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is de tweede song. Hierin geven de gitaren meer body aan een voor de rest typische, maar goéde Blutengel-song. Dat er tempo mag zijn, wordt duidelijk met Waste My Time. Stevig tempo zelfs, met een opgedreven aantal beats per minuut. Stevig over gans de lijn. And do we love that? Yes we do!

Titelsong Leitbild is nummer vier van het album. Het klinkt poppy, maar is toch stevig, het lijkt een meezinger, maar is tegelijk een halve rocksong. Zoals ik eerder al liet vallen: de gitaren die op Nemesis in een paar songs een prominente rol speelden, krijgen ook hier een plaats. Ik vind dat dat de nummers iets extra's geeft.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is een song over een veel bezongen thema, de liefde. Op het einde krijgt zélfs een goed oud Hammond Organ een plaats.

En zo schenkt Leitbild ons nog nummers waar toch iets anders in steekt dan anders. The Days Of Justice start als synthwave song, om toch weer het eigen Blutengel-geluid te krijgen, maar toch blijft het doorheen de song spelen. Complete is qua afwisselend tempo apart. Alsof twee songs in één zijn verweven. En Say Something is een gothrocksong die mij doet denken aan de beginjaren van The Sisters Of Mercy. Ook de stem van Chris gaat hier iets diéper dan anders.

Afsluiter Der Himmel Brennt brengt een totaal andere sfeer. Alsof Jean Michel Jarre er een hand in had… een mooi uitgesponnen synth-melodie, die echt oldschool klinkt.

Conclusie: dit is en blijft een Blutengel-album in de stijl die we van hen kennen, maar boort ook andere bronnen aan. De gitaren zijn voor mij een meerwaarde, net als de diversiteit in songs die dit album typeert.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


 

Next reviews
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM

 

Other reviews from BLUTENGEL
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
BLUTENGEL • Black
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
BLUTENGEL • Omen
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
BLUTENGEL • Uber den Horizont EP
BLUTENGEL • Tränenherz

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)