tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2017 : BLUTENGEL - Leitbild

BLUTENGEL

Leitbild

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopGothic

[90/100]   

Out Of Line
10/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Leitbild is again new work by Blutengel. Apparently Chris Pohl's inspiration is endless, because we get 16 brandnew songs. Gothic Pop as they describe their own style. You either love it or you hate it, but Blutengel always gets you one way or the other.

It is evident from the first listening, as was already apparent on the collector and re-worked version CD Nemesis, that in many songs guitars are being introduced. Not predominantly, but nicely merged into the pounding and still dominant electronic beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is a grand opening. Bombastic clocks, classical music, but also electronics in this excellent cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is the second song. In this song guitars give a bit more body to a typical but good Blutengel song. Waste My Time proves that pace is allowed. A firm pace even, with a heightened amount of beats per minute. A firm song. And do we love that? Yes we do!

The fourth song on the album is the titelsong Leitbild. It sounds poppy, but it is still solid, it's like a sing along but at the same time it's partially a rocksong. As I mentioned before: the guitars that played a prominent part in some of the songs on Nemesis again get a role here. I think it gives the songs something extra.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is a song about that many used theme: love. At the end there is even space for a good old Hammond organ.

And thus Leitbild gives us songs that are different from before. The Days Of Justice starts and continues as a synthwave song but eventually gets the unique Blutengel-sound. Complete is different because of the variation in pace. As if two songs are woven into one. And Say Something is a gothrocksong that reminds me of the early years of The Sisters Of Mercy. Also Chris' voice is going just a little deeper here.

Closing song Der Himmel Brennt brings a totally different atmosphere. As if Jean Michel Jarre had a part in it... a nicely drawn out synth melody with a real oldschool sound.

Conclusion: this is and remains a Blutengel album in the style we know and expect of them, but it also taps into different wells. The guitars to me are an added value, like the diversity in songs that characterizes this album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


NL

Leitbild is alweer nieuw werk van Blutengel. Blijkbaar is Chris Pohl’s inspiratie eindeloos, want we krijgen 16 gloednieuwe songs. Gothic Pop, zoals hun muziekstijl door henzelf wordt beschreven. You love it or you hate it, Blutengel pakt je toch op één of andere manier bij de strot.

Wat bij een eerste luisterbeurt opvalt, en wat ook op de verzamelaar en herwerkte versie-CD Nemesis al opviel, is dat in heel wat songs gitaren hun intrede doen. Niet op de voorgrond, maar mooi versmolten in de dreunende en nog steeds overheersende elektronische beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is een opener van formaat. Bombastische klokken, klassieke muziek, maar toch ook electronica in een geweldige cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is de tweede song. Hierin geven de gitaren meer body aan een voor de rest typische, maar goéde Blutengel-song. Dat er tempo mag zijn, wordt duidelijk met Waste My Time. Stevig tempo zelfs, met een opgedreven aantal beats per minuut. Stevig over gans de lijn. And do we love that? Yes we do!

Titelsong Leitbild is nummer vier van het album. Het klinkt poppy, maar is toch stevig, het lijkt een meezinger, maar is tegelijk een halve rocksong. Zoals ik eerder al liet vallen: de gitaren die op Nemesis in een paar songs een prominente rol speelden, krijgen ook hier een plaats. Ik vind dat dat de nummers iets extra's geeft.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is een song over een veel bezongen thema, de liefde. Op het einde krijgt zélfs een goed oud Hammond Organ een plaats.

En zo schenkt Leitbild ons nog nummers waar toch iets anders in steekt dan anders. The Days Of Justice start als synthwave song, om toch weer het eigen Blutengel-geluid te krijgen, maar toch blijft het doorheen de song spelen. Complete is qua afwisselend tempo apart. Alsof twee songs in één zijn verweven. En Say Something is een gothrocksong die mij doet denken aan de beginjaren van The Sisters Of Mercy. Ook de stem van Chris gaat hier iets diéper dan anders.

Afsluiter Der Himmel Brennt brengt een totaal andere sfeer. Alsof Jean Michel Jarre er een hand in had… een mooi uitgesponnen synth-melodie, die echt oldschool klinkt.

Conclusie: dit is en blijft een Blutengel-album in de stijl die we van hen kennen, maar boort ook andere bronnen aan. De gitaren zijn voor mij een meerwaarde, net als de diversiteit in songs die dit album typeert.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


 

Next reviews
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM

 

Other reviews from BLUTENGEL
BLUTENGEL • Black
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
BLUTENGEL • Omen
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
BLUTENGEL • Uber den Horizont EP
BLUTENGEL • Tränenherz

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On