tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2017 : BLUTENGEL - Leitbild

BLUTENGEL

Leitbild

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopGothic

[90/100]   

Out Of Line
10/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Leitbild is again new work by Blutengel. Apparently Chris Pohl's inspiration is endless, because we get 16 brandnew songs. Gothic Pop as they describe their own style. You either love it or you hate it, but Blutengel always gets you one way or the other.

It is evident from the first listening, as was already apparent on the collector and re-worked version CD Nemesis, that in many songs guitars are being introduced. Not predominantly, but nicely merged into the pounding and still dominant electronic beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is a grand opening. Bombastic clocks, classical music, but also electronics in this excellent cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is the second song. In this song guitars give a bit more body to a typical but good Blutengel song. Waste My Time proves that pace is allowed. A firm pace even, with a heightened amount of beats per minute. A firm song. And do we love that? Yes we do!

The fourth song on the album is the titelsong Leitbild. It sounds poppy, but it is still solid, it's like a sing along but at the same time it's partially a rocksong. As I mentioned before: the guitars that played a prominent part in some of the songs on Nemesis again get a role here. I think it gives the songs something extra.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is a song about that many used theme: love. At the end there is even space for a good old Hammond organ.

And thus Leitbild gives us songs that are different from before. The Days Of Justice starts and continues as a synthwave song but eventually gets the unique Blutengel-sound. Complete is different because of the variation in pace. As if two songs are woven into one. And Say Something is a gothrocksong that reminds me of the early years of The Sisters Of Mercy. Also Chris' voice is going just a little deeper here.

Closing song Der Himmel Brennt brings a totally different atmosphere. As if Jean Michel Jarre had a part in it... a nicely drawn out synth melody with a real oldschool sound.

Conclusion: this is and remains a Blutengel album in the style we know and expect of them, but it also taps into different wells. The guitars to me are an added value, like the diversity in songs that characterizes this album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


NL

Leitbild is alweer nieuw werk van Blutengel. Blijkbaar is Chris Pohl’s inspiratie eindeloos, want we krijgen 16 gloednieuwe songs. Gothic Pop, zoals hun muziekstijl door henzelf wordt beschreven. You love it or you hate it, Blutengel pakt je toch op één of andere manier bij de strot.

Wat bij een eerste luisterbeurt opvalt, en wat ook op de verzamelaar en herwerkte versie-CD Nemesis al opviel, is dat in heel wat songs gitaren hun intrede doen. Niet op de voorgrond, maar mooi versmolten in de dreunende en nog steeds overheersende elektronische beats.

Welcome To Your New Life is een opener van formaat. Bombastische klokken, klassieke muziek, maar toch ook electronica in een geweldige cocktail. Lebe Deinem Traum is de tweede song. Hierin geven de gitaren meer body aan een voor de rest typische, maar goéde Blutengel-song. Dat er tempo mag zijn, wordt duidelijk met Waste My Time. Stevig tempo zelfs, met een opgedreven aantal beats per minuut. Stevig over gans de lijn. And do we love that? Yes we do!

Titelsong Leitbild is nummer vier van het album. Het klinkt poppy, maar is toch stevig, het lijkt een meezinger, maar is tegelijk een halve rocksong. Zoals ik eerder al liet vallen: de gitaren die op Nemesis in een paar songs een prominente rol speelden, krijgen ook hier een plaats. Ik vind dat dat de nummers iets extra's geeft.

‘Black is my life, black is my soul, black are the things, that I have never told. Black are my thoughts, black is my heart, black is the love that tears us apart… again…’.. Black is een song over een veel bezongen thema, de liefde. Op het einde krijgt zélfs een goed oud Hammond Organ een plaats.

En zo schenkt Leitbild ons nog nummers waar toch iets anders in steekt dan anders. The Days Of Justice start als synthwave song, om toch weer het eigen Blutengel-geluid te krijgen, maar toch blijft het doorheen de song spelen. Complete is qua afwisselend tempo apart. Alsof twee songs in één zijn verweven. En Say Something is een gothrocksong die mij doet denken aan de beginjaren van The Sisters Of Mercy. Ook de stem van Chris gaat hier iets diéper dan anders.

Afsluiter Der Himmel Brennt brengt een totaal andere sfeer. Alsof Jean Michel Jarre er een hand in had… een mooi uitgesponnen synth-melodie, die echt oldschool klinkt.

Conclusie: dit is en blijft een Blutengel-album in de stijl die we van hen kennen, maar boort ook andere bronnen aan. De gitaren zijn voor mij een meerwaarde, net als de diversiteit in songs die dit album typeert.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/06/2017


 

Next reviews
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
WIRE • Silver / Lead
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE • Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
COALESCAREMONIUM

 

Other reviews from BLUTENGEL
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
BLUTENGEL • Black
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
BLUTENGEL • Omen
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
BLUTENGEL • Uber den Horizont EP
BLUTENGEL • Tränenherz

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer