tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny

BLUTENGEL

Fountain of Destiny

MusicCD / Digital
Electro

[70/100]   

Out Of Line
20/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Blutengel does not need any introduction if you are hanging in the scene already. And even for the new souls, mostly it's one of those bands that come on the radar quite fast. This being the most succesful project by Chris Pohl, their well-known Vampiregoth-electro is very recognizable.

2 years after the release of Damokles, Blutengel is back with their typical sound, only now they are doing a special cover (or tribute)-album with some of the biggest hits from the 80's.

It's a nice lineup of tracks, with the Wild Boys (Duran Duran), Forever Young (Alphaville), Hymn (Ultravox), Down in the Park (Gary Numan), Alone (Heart), Silent Running (Mike & The Mechanics), Nobody's Diary (Yazoo), Dr Mabuse (Propaganda), The sun always shines on TV (A-Ha / Pal Waaktaar) and Ship of Fools (Erasure)...

This nice list is topped with 2 'extra' Blutengel-tracks (Unsere Zeit and the instrumental Journey to the edge of the Night).

I must admit, I was quite sceptical when I started listening. It's not always a good idea to touch gems and turn them over. Definitely if you yourself have such an obvious own style. It creates the expectation that all covers will sound the same. But not in this case. Blutengel gives the tracks indeed a clear undeniable Blutengel-twist, but still with the necessary honour for the original. Personal favourites are Forever Young and Hymn, which are marvelous versions.

The 2 'own' songs are for me a bit out of track on this release. They are the typical dancy-tracks we know from other releases of Blutengel, of which I feel they would fit in more on a complete Blutengel-album rather than on this cover-album. Which does not mean I find them bad: I especially like 'Journey', but not on this album...

In all a nice salute to some of their (and also my) heroes!

Peter DOLPHEN
20/04/2021


20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny 20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
Various
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
44 years of The Voice Of America by Cabaret Voltaire!
22
07
The Juggernauts are coming, released XXXYEARS years ago!
22
07
On this day, 41 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
20
07
Today, exactly 25 years ago, 'The World Went Away'!
19
07
Dark Electronic Band, ODYSSEY MOTH Drops New Two-Song EP, 'Shattered'
19
07
On this day, 46 years ago, Dead Kennedys played their very first live show!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
07
MORTAL REALM
An Interview With Mortal Realm's Adam Jones
16
07
LOCKJAW
An Interview With Industrial Metal Band, LOCKJAW
15
07
MALICE MACHINE
An Interview With Cyber-Punk Band, Malice Machine
21
06
SCREAMING DEAD
“In a dream of yesterday, off the forest and the glade, I remember yesterday“ They are the Creatures of the Night. The Legion of the Dead. Peek-A-Boo presents … Screaming Dead!
29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois

PHOTOS

19
07
THE MISSION
Live Musik Hall Cologne
17
07
BURN SUPPORT THE MISSION
Live Musik Hall Cologne
14
07
THE MISSION
Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht
21
06
TOOL
Graspop Dessel
19
06
KEBU
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
HYPERKUBE
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS
Man with Bricks
22
07
BRAGOLIN
Into Those Woods
21
07
AMMO
Rose + Crown
20
07
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
19
07
BLANCMANGE
Don`t Tell Me
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
17
07
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)