tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny

BLUTENGEL

Fountain of Destiny

MusicCD / Digital
Electro

[70/100]   

Out Of Line
20/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Blutengel does not need any introduction if you are hanging in the scene already. And even for the new souls, mostly it's one of those bands that come on the radar quite fast. This being the most succesful project by Chris Pohl, their well-known Vampiregoth-electro is very recognizable.

2 years after the release of Damokles, Blutengel is back with their typical sound, only now they are doing a special cover (or tribute)-album with some of the biggest hits from the 80's.

It's a nice lineup of tracks, with the Wild Boys (Duran Duran), Forever Young (Alphaville), Hymn (Ultravox), Down in the Park (Gary Numan), Alone (Heart), Silent Running (Mike & The Mechanics), Nobody's Diary (Yazoo), Dr Mabuse (Propaganda), The sun always shines on TV (A-Ha / Pal Waaktaar) and Ship of Fools (Erasure)...

This nice list is topped with 2 'extra' Blutengel-tracks (Unsere Zeit and the instrumental Journey to the edge of the Night).

I must admit, I was quite sceptical when I started listening. It's not always a good idea to touch gems and turn them over. Definitely if you yourself have such an obvious own style. It creates the expectation that all covers will sound the same. But not in this case. Blutengel gives the tracks indeed a clear undeniable Blutengel-twist, but still with the necessary honour for the original. Personal favourites are Forever Young and Hymn, which are marvelous versions.

The 2 'own' songs are for me a bit out of track on this release. They are the typical dancy-tracks we know from other releases of Blutengel, of which I feel they would fit in more on a complete Blutengel-album rather than on this cover-album. Which does not mean I find them bad: I especially like 'Journey', but not on this album...

In all a nice salute to some of their (and also my) heroes!

Peter DOLPHEN
20/04/2021


20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny 20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks