tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny

BLUTENGEL

Fountain of Destiny

MusicCD / Digital
Electro

[70/100]   

Out Of Line
20/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Blutengel does not need any introduction if you are hanging in the scene already. And even for the new souls, mostly it's one of those bands that come on the radar quite fast. This being the most succesful project by Chris Pohl, their well-known Vampiregoth-electro is very recognizable.

2 years after the release of Damokles, Blutengel is back with their typical sound, only now they are doing a special cover (or tribute)-album with some of the biggest hits from the 80's.

It's a nice lineup of tracks, with the Wild Boys (Duran Duran), Forever Young (Alphaville), Hymn (Ultravox), Down in the Park (Gary Numan), Alone (Heart), Silent Running (Mike & The Mechanics), Nobody's Diary (Yazoo), Dr Mabuse (Propaganda), The sun always shines on TV (A-Ha / Pal Waaktaar) and Ship of Fools (Erasure)...

This nice list is topped with 2 'extra' Blutengel-tracks (Unsere Zeit and the instrumental Journey to the edge of the Night).

I must admit, I was quite sceptical when I started listening. It's not always a good idea to touch gems and turn them over. Definitely if you yourself have such an obvious own style. It creates the expectation that all covers will sound the same. But not in this case. Blutengel gives the tracks indeed a clear undeniable Blutengel-twist, but still with the necessary honour for the original. Personal favourites are Forever Young and Hymn, which are marvelous versions.

The 2 'own' songs are for me a bit out of track on this release. They are the typical dancy-tracks we know from other releases of Blutengel, of which I feel they would fit in more on a complete Blutengel-album rather than on this cover-album. Which does not mean I find them bad: I especially like 'Journey', but not on this album...

In all a nice salute to some of their (and also my) heroes!

Peter DOLPHEN
20/04/2021


20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny 20/04/2021 : BLUTENGEL - Fountain of Destiny

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)