tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

14/01/2024 : STAATSEINDE - De Nieuwe Golf

STAATSEINDE

De Nieuwe Golf

MusicVinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[89/100]   

Wave Tension Records
14/01/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Staatseinde, the interstellar cosmonauts, now reduced to a duo, create a theatrical mix of pulsating electro with nostalgic hopebringing synth melodies. All performed absolutely live with synthesizers, a sequencer and stimulating vocals. The hyperkinetic frontman Mr. Take Neorej included! Anyone who has seen the band perform live has experienced a very eccentric, energetic performance with a style mixture from wave to EBM, to NDW, punk and other excesses. Kraftwerk on speed with a pinch of Sex Pistols.

Their new release “De Nieuwe Golf” (=“The New Wave”) is characterised by dystopian prospects and hopeful sounds, which confirms Staatseinde's name as the founder of the “Neue Niederländische Welle”, or the New Dutch Wave.

‘Grauw’ wraps itself in stirring Italo riffs with a bassline that blasts from your speakers so loud your hair will be blown dry in no time. It shakes you up hard. We didn’t shy away from what these gentlemen created before, so we still do not today … we just enjoy.

Dirty basic minimal on ‘Einzelgänger”, also sung in Dutch with very present vocoders. A bassline that will blow your mind. There is something very mesmerizing/hypnotic about it. So thanks for that! The song speaks about those who cannot keep up with the speed of our modern society.

‘Geef me de tijd’ rises quietly from the horizon and goes on for about 4 minutes, to slowly sink back into the horizon. If gives an unfinished feel while endlessly reproducing itself.

Time for some pace, for some EBM vibes with a nod to what is often audible in techno: a very inviting bassline. Also some nice tempo changes in ‘Doembeelden’. Some extra energy drink to keep you going!

You may already be starting to know me a bit by now so you won't be surprised if I call ‘La Haya’ one of the absolute trendsetters on this album De Nieuwe Golf. The taste of old school EBM is bittersweet. Firmly present, stomping away. ‘La Haya’ offers 3 minutes and 49 seconds of dancing enjoyment. And the dark beats don't slacken for a nanosecond on this album. The song is an absolute tribute to the city of The Hague, where everyone goes completely crazy, intoxicated by a few alcoholic drinks.

‘Ruimtevaart Vooruit’ is a song from the past that has been given a different approach here, a walk on the minimal catwalk. And that’s very okay for me!

‘Isla Inutile’ is a psychedelic, chaotically constructed analogue-driven gem. That may sound a bit overwhelming, right? Old school at times, contemporary in style.

‘Alles Is Weg’ is a minimal song par excellence. Bassline, bone dry rhythms and a bleeping analogue synth as an extra ingredient.

Staats Einde, or you like them … or you don’t … I have loved them for years already! They are incomprehensible at times and that means that these Dutch boys always remain surprising. Not in as such in terms of musical style, because that remains rather consistent. But more the lashes and the variety they manage to produce within their the own sound they have established. This album is also one that I fall in love with, more and more after every listen. And as much as I like them on vinyl, I still think they're even better live on stage! So go check them out for yourselves and be seduced because there is no escape.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/01/2024


NL

Het inmiddels tot duo gereduceerde Staatseinde, de interstellaire kosmonauten, creëert een theatrale mix van pulserende electro met nostalgische hoopvolle synthlijnen. Live allemaal absoluut live uitgevoerd met synthesizers, een sequencer en prikkelende zang. Je moet er de hyperkinetische en als menstruerende ballerina dansende frontman Dhr. Neorej bijnemen. Wie de band al live zag, weet dat het een heel excentriek, energiek optreden is met een mix van wave tot EBM, van NDW tot punk en andere uitwassen. Kraftwerk on speed met een snuifje Sex Pistols.

Hun nieuwe release “De Nieuwe Golf” wordt gekenmerkt door dystopische vooruitzichten en hoopvolle geluiden, wat Staatseindes naam bevestigt als grondlegger van de “Neue Niederländische Welle”, oftewel de New Dutch Wave.

Grauw hult zich in opzwepende italo-riffs met een baslijn die uit je boxen schalt waarmee je je haar in een mum van tijd droog krijgt. Het schudt je stevig door elkaar. We deinzen al niet snel meer terug van wat deze heerschappen creëren. Ook nu niet, gewoon genieten.

Groezelige basic minimal met Einzelgänger. Ook in het Nederlands gezongen. Vocoders pertient aanwezig. Een basmelodie die je kierewiet maakt. Ze heeft iets zwaar bezwerends/hypnotisch. Waarvoor dank. De song heeft het ook over zij die de snelheid van de maatschappij niet bijgebeend krijgen.

Geef Me De Tijd rijst rustig op aan de horizon. En kabbelt 4 minuten door. Om dan weer langzaam weg te zakken aan de einder. Onaf. Zo voelt het. Eindeloos zichzelf voortplantend.

Tijd voor wat tempo. Voor wat EBM-vibes met een knipoog naar wat ook in techno vaak hoorbaar is: een baslijn die tot bewegen uitnodigt. Ook leuke tempowissels in deze Doembeelden. Nog wat extra energiedrank om te blijven gaan!

U lezer, u begint me intussen misschien al wat te kennen. Dan zal u niet verbaasd opkijken als ik La Haya als één van de absolute smaakmakers op dit album De Nieuwe Golf bestempel. De smaak van oldschool EBM is bitterzoet. Stevig aanwezig, stampvoetend los gaan. La haya is 3 minuten en 49 seconden dansend genieten. Geen nanoseconde verslapt de darkbeat. De song is een absoluut eerbetoon aan de stad Den Haag, waar iedereen beneveld door enige promilles alcohol compleet los gaat.

Ruimtevaart Vooruit is een nummer van voorheen dat een nieuw kleedje kreeg. Voor een walk over de minimal catwalk. Voor mij mag het!

Isla Inutile is een psychedelisch aandoend chaotisch opgebouwd analoog aangedreven juweeltje. Het mag al eens wat overdonderend klinken toch? Oldschool bij vlagen, hedendaags aangekleed.

Alles Is Weg is een minimal song pur sang. Baslijn, kurkdroog ritme en een bliepende analoge synth als extra ingrediënt.

Staatseinde. Het is je ding of niet. Het mijne is het al jaren. Ze zijn niet te bevatten bij wijlen, en dat maakt dat deze Nederlandse boys immer verrassend blijven. Niet qua muzikale stijl, want die blijft consequent. Maar de uithalen, de afwisseling, de eigen sound die ze intussen hebben. Ook dit album is er weer een waarop ik na verschillende luisterbeurten steeds verliefder word. En hoe goed ik ze op vinyl vind, ik vind ze live nog beter. Ga dat zien. Laat je verleiden. Verlies je. Want er is geen ontsnappen aan….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/01/2024


 

Next reviews
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
BHPL • II
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION • @B52 Music Club Eernegem
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 • A second opinion...

 

Other reviews from STAATSEINDE
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
XTORT • Zwart
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
MOTOR!K • 4
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT • Remixes
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
ELM • Penetrator
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
22
04
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Siouxsie And The Banshees - Candyman (Official Music Video)
21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill